Wedding allegedly cancelled after bride refused to swear not to have extramarital affairs | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 18 December 2016

Wedding allegedly cancelled after bride refused to swear not to have extramarital affairs

Twitter user, Muna shared the story on his timeline. According to him, a wedding was cancelled after the bride refused to swear not to have extramarital affairs. Read the rest of the tweets below...

61 comments:

1. She's a Bride from Hell..
    Can U imagine the shit..
    HHahahahahaha Hoelosho personified

1. The first question you will have to ask is where would she swear. Is it in a shrine? If that is the case, I will refuse to do that. The Bible says let your yes be yes n your no be no

2. Why wasnt the man also made to swear? So man can flirt and woman must not flirt?

What if the man dies? Still she cant sleep with anotha man? The man for swear em own first o

2. Like seriously! Linda take note!

1. **********************better make dey talk true on time..... ******the bobo sef swear iim own....... Ayam sure he won't *******cos our stupid society okays cheating for them but not the woman***********umu aturu...... ******I jus love d lady**********my kjnda woman...... My own go worse sef*********

2. This tradition is very true and dose happen in kogi state alot. They believe wen a woman cheats, her husband and children will die den she will follow. Buh d question is why wud dey wud dey hav punishment for only d woman, why is the man nt included? Buh ofcos, d African mind says a man is king and cn do wotsoeva he wants so he is nt under any rules. Now if a woman is caught, she is made to walk round the street or market naked in order to save her husband n kids, infact dey will force her if she doesn't do so and espercially from her husband pple and this happened real life to one woman who was caught buh d man she was wit, was let go while she was stripped naked n beaten sef. I nearly married a kogi man and a pastor for that matter and he told me I was gonna swear. I was shocked even as a pastor, u wil wnt me to swear? Nna mennn, kogi and delta pple will protect d men rather dan protecting d women.

3. Am sure the bride was a yoruba woman!!!

4. Twitter stories, believe them with a pinch of salt.

5. Thins lik dis discourages us d single individuals

1. Remain single inukwa! You think you are doing anybody? Isorite.

2. Not to get married I guess???? 😂😂😂😂😂 My dear, it's not a good decision you know.. if you want make your spouse swear, nah eam be say you go wait tire be dat oo...Lol

6. Whether swearing is right or wrong is not the issue. Even without such a stringent request, committed lovers swear allegiance and bonds of faithfulness unofficially daily whether or not they live up to it. The bride showed her lack of total commitment I can't fault the groom

1. What about the groom...I can only swear where the groom swears first. If not...lai lai. He's the leader so to say and should lead by example.

2. E go better for u annoy 9.49

7. The prospective husband swear him own?!

8. Joyous babe,Linda ikeji first cousin18 December 2016 at 06:36

Why must she swear?

9. Na lie! Location of where it happened?

10. Yes oh I was present at the wedding, in fact to be precise it happened in warri,and it's not palm oil alone plus kolanut, the guy is from Kogi and it's Dia tradition,but the lady refuse to swear and the guys mum ordered the cancelation of the wedding Dia and then,after the guy spent so much,but I believe it's worth it cus women of nowadays hmm mmm dem strong Oh even the married once no dey joke with D**k outside,those guys doing them can testify.....abi I lie Guysss......Lol

1. ************y was the woman alone subjected to swear*****was she d only one involved in d wedding******??????

2. Nawao...things dey happen o. But this was fair on the lady's side. It was suppose to be two of them swearing the oat to remain faithful to each other not just the woman.

11. I don't blame the woman but that's insecurity on his part. Palm wine over God? Bu shit.

12. I like that girl and i wld do same thing in her shoe..who does that in this age.wld dey also give the guy wine to swear wit it..wat is good for the goose is equally good for d gander..marriage is not a do or die affair.tje man is not for her chikena...me that is married sef for some years cannot come and swear that kind swear..for what naa

1. Okay u that is married hmmmmm. Are u sure u ar not collecting another D++k outside....

2. Same thing i was saying. Kogi guy for that matter. Kogi guys that can flirt for Africa.

13. There's nothing we won't hear bikonu. After they will say men cheat, it looks like women cheat more than men now.

1. Why will they ask the woman to take an oat in this present day and time? I dont intend to cheat on my husband but will definitely not try this nonsense. Kudos to the girl!

14. There's nothing we won't hear bikonu. After they will say men cheat, it looks like women cheat more than men now.

15. Hahahahaha this is sad and hilarious

16. Lol. It's bettr than to opt in and die mistakenly

17. Why should they ask her such question nd as a Christian she is not suppose to answer God forbiid wat if the dies 2moro

18. Will they do the same to the groom? I mean will the groom also swear that he will not sleep with any other woman but his wife?

19. Maybe she's mindful of swearing which the bible forbids Loool

20. Sincerely Sha. Autonomy is a very rare, hard thing and a big commitment

21. She must be a unrepentant serial cheat! #CantDeal

1. And u ve concluded? Why didnt they ask both of them to take the oat? Why would a reasonable family allow their daugter to take such oat in this present day? What of the man die or marry another wife or decided to dump her?

2. It's not good to swear by anything, u cannot produce any hair on your head, u don't know how they grow. Let your yes be yes and your no, no. Iam 11 years in marriage with our ups and downs but I will never swear by anything, life is not that difficult, make it easy and live a longer life, that's why I love Muslims, they don't believe in this nonsense.

22. If the man will swear as well, then that's fine, if not, she did well, evil people. And by the way, her refusal does not mean she would cheat, it's just double standards. Not every lady is desperate to marry!

23. All women are the same!!!

24. She did the right thing! Swearing ain't for christians.

25. Nonsense at its peak.
    1. Is the oath mutual? Or is the man allowed to dump her and have fun when he feels like it?
    2. If they happen to get separated or divorced nko?
    3. What does the Bible say about swearing?

I would do just as the lady did. Y'all can take several seats.

26. what about the groom,was he going to swear too?

27. Ever had of the world no 1 digital currency "bitcoin", if u 're interested in mining bitcoin use the above link to create an account and email me at mridoko@gmail.com so I can train u on the mining process

28. she a HOE.
    Dude dodged a Bullet.

29. Why would she refused huh?is she scared or she has a mind set of cheating huh?gonna make her mad if she cheat at me.

30. hhahaha

31. Why will it be only the lady ,

32. Why will the lady swear alone.

33. People saying she should have sworn are pathetic and useless, this is what I call the poor African mentality, it's a big shame the.

34. I guess is just a topic of discussion sheaa.. & it's not a bad one anyways.... I fit swear oo, if my husband go swear with me. Lol

35. Firstly, was the groom asked to swear too? secondly, my people never swear an oath like that please because oaths sometimes are not till death do us part. What if she swears and he died or left her? what would happen to her then because she swore to never sleep with anyone but him. Thirdly, Nigerians are hypocrites, im sure they do all that and still go to church on Sunday, we love to pick and choose what part of culture we can keep when it suits us. I on the other hand follow no culture because i wasn't brought up that way. Anyhow I wouldn't swear and I don't think I would like to do a traditional marriage because my extended family cannot be present and celebrate what they didnt have a hand in doing, and i will not be sold (bride price) if he wants to give the person that raised me a gift then he should but it will not be a bride price.
    Sorry off topic there but again becareful and think before you swear and oath because you may not know the hidden clauses and implications.

36. somebody talk say d girl go be Yoruba.....u can imagine. always make sure that your medulla oblangata is in order before posting any message

37. Why refuse? what goes around comes around.what a shame.