Photos: Rahma Haruna, the Nigerian teen who lived in a plastic bowl dies aged 19 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 26 December 2016

Photos: Rahma Haruna, the Nigerian teen who lived in a plastic bowl dies aged 19

19-year-old Rahma Haruna, who spent all her life in a plastic bowl has died on Sunday, Dec. 25th.

Rahma’s story went viral earlier this year when freelance photojournalist Sani Maikatanga shared pictures of physically challenged girl carried by her 10-year-old brother in bowl, and LIB reported the story. See here

Her case drew sympathy and attracted a lot of donations in cash, cloth, foodstuff, from individuals and Kano State government.

A family member said Rahma suddenly died after a brief illness. Confirming the sad news hours ago, Sani Maikatanga posted her photo on Instagram and wrote:

"Rahma Haruna a 19 years old girl has pass away on Sunday 25th of December 2016 ... may Almighty grant her Jannatul Firdausi ... ameen"
Born in Lahadin Makole village in Kano, when Rahma was six months, her arms and legs stopped developing.
From six months when she learnt how to sit that was when it began. She didn't learn how to crawl." her mother Fadi said.
"She started with a fever and that was it. Then stomach pains. Then her body parts like hands and legs. She cannot use any if the ache strikes."
For much of her life, Rahma's family would carry her in her bowl, with her brother Fahad taking her into Kano each day to beg for alms. Later, a journalist Ibrahim Jirgi, gave the family a wheelchair.
Despite her severe disability, Rahma had entrepreneurial ambition.
"I want to start a business. A store and anything people buy. That is what I want" she said.
May her soul rest in peace. Amen.

53 comments:

1. I think she's finally found rest.

Long Live LIB

2. ****************nawa ooooo***** may she rest in peace

3. May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

4. May her soul rest in peace

5. It is better she goes. I will rather allow God to call me on time than live a fraustrated live. RIP dear. God knows best

6. It is better she goes. I will rather allow God to call me on time than live a fraustrated life. RIP dear. God knows best

7. It might be something her mother was eating while she was pregnant. Hospitals in the North should learn to teach pregnant mothers what to eat when pregnant. You dont just eat anything you like when pregnant, otherwise the baby will not form well. This is from a doctors point of view. RIP

8. It might be something her mother was eating while she was pregnant. Hospitals in the North should learn to teach pregnant mothers what to eat when pregnant. You dont just eat anything you like when pregnant, otherwise the baby will not form well. This is from a doctors point of view. RIP

9. At livingstone chibuike, did you just type 'k' like dx is some usual story like that of the kardasians. No,someone just died, a girl with a beautiful soul who couldn't explore this life as she could have loved to, I followed the story, I was touched by her story and I began to appreciate the little things life gave me, like walking, sitting and a gift of every day. It not necessary you comment on every post, instead of typing #k, Just pass next time.

10. And what should hospitals in america teach mothers with autistic kids? Is it something they drank?

11. Liberian sweet heart27 December 2016 at 02:06

Let's not talk dam crazy OK her illness wasn't because her mom ate something gezzzzzzz these type of illnesses are in the states on a daily basis! Maybe if she was in the the states,they could've helped her more! Rest in paradise honey

12. Rip to her. Condolences to thd family

13. Spiritual wickedness in high places.

2. Good for her!
    NEXT PLEASE .

1. God punish you
      For saying "good for her "

Oloriburuku somebody

2. This is an innocent life that is lost and this is all you xan say?
      May God in his infinite power visit you with the pain the family is experiencing.

3. Bustard.....senseless he goat...May your life too never see good...

4. Freeborn or whatever ur name is do u have conscience atall,infact u are an animal

5. I used to like u freeborn but after that comment I PITY u.

6. Why do you people keep responding to Freeborn? He passes all those negative comments on purpose so that he will attract traffick. He is a silly jobless attention seeker. Dont dignify him by responding to him no matter how painful what he says is. Just ignore him. When he sees that nobody takes him serious anymore, he will look stupid and stop

7. Honestly FREEBORN is just a disaster waiting to happen. He doesnt have proper home training, i wonder why his mother did not flush him out as menstruation.

8. You are right. He is a moron and should be ignored.

9. Honestly FREEBORN is just a disaster waiting to happen. He doesnt have proper home training, i wonder why his mother did not flush him out as menstruation.

10. Funny enuf I don't even bother reading this guy's comment wen I see it, he and this girl that write in igbo, it's quite irritating I just pass and don't even bother reading. Let learn to ignore their comments

11. Everyone should ignore this being. I have noticed that we all try to which delights me. Let us all try harder he is not worth it

3. May her gentle soul rest in peace
    This is so so sad..

4. Hmmm! May Her Soul Rest in Peace...Amen

5. This is sad indeed.....R.I.P

6. Freeeborn that Word Good for her is not suppose to be use here because we don't understand what you mean by the word

7. May her soul rest in peace(Amen)

8. May her soul rest in peace (Amen)

9. May her soul rest in peace(Amen)

10. Freeborn, I believe there is a good side of you which you are trying very hard to mask, it will come out some day. I strongly believe so.

11. heya RIP

12. God have mercy on us coz dis die matter of a thing is getting too much oo

13. God rest her soul, poor thing, I pray she goes straight to heaven or come back to earth in another life with a complete and beautiful body

14. Linda use your discretion to permanently prevent freeborn's comments, he is a vile toxic human suffering from depression. This young beautiful girl lived a better life than you idiotic creature because she had a soul.

15. May her soul rest in peace.

16. long is the way and hard but out of hardship leads up to light. rip oh sweet one xxx