Photo: Quranic school teacher in Kano planning to marry off 13-year-old daughter to his friend,56 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 26 December 2016

Photo: Quranic school teacher in Kano planning to marry off 13-year-old daughter to his friend,56

A man in Kurna Babban Layi area of Kano has planned to marry off his 13-year-old daughter, Bilkisu to his 56-year-old friend, on Friday, December 30th. The father is a Quranic teacher while his friend already has three wives and many grandchildren.

A relative raised the alarm on Saturday, December 24th, when she took the teenager to Freedom Radio office in Sharada for a media campaign against the marriage.

The teenager, crying, told Daily Nigerian reporter that she does not love the man, saying she always cried whenever the matter was brought up.

The relative, who pleaded anonymity, said she is calling for authorities, especially Kano State governor and Emir of Kano, to intervene and abort the marriage, billed to hold Friday next week. She said she was concerned about the kind of life the girl would live if she married a man who has three wives and many grown up children.
"The groom has three wives, many children and grandchildren. I am appealing to Emir of Kano Muhammadu Sanusi and governor of Kano to help intervene," he said. She also disclosed that the father plans to marry off Bilikisu's sister of almost same age on the same day.
Source: Jaafa Jaafar/Daily Nigerian

22 comments:

1. May God open their eyes to this crazy tradition

1. What's wrong with northerners sef.... Smhhh... just glad, I'm not from dat part of the world

2. Na dem way nah! Linda take note!

3. ***********************Nne happy married life in advance *******biko cherenu lemme pass

4. That may be the end of education for the little girl. That girl could be a future minister or senator if properly educated. Her father just wants to end her destiny by marrying her off to someone old enough to be her grandfather. The girl may even get VVF disease because her cervix is not ripe enough to carry a pregnancy. Maybe it is poverty that is making the man sell off his daughter cheaply. What is wrong with these northerners sef?

5. This girl will just end up becoming an iliterate. What a pity

2. Muslim tuah!Quranic teach u call huh? EVEN MOHAMMED MARRY HIS OWN WIFE@5 TO 6 YEARS SO YOU GUYS SHOULD NOT BE SURPRISE ON ANY THING ABOUT MUSLIMS THESE POEPL ARE CONDEMN.a man marry off 13-year-old daughter to his friend,56 hmmm what of the ones we didn't hear huh? PEDOPHILES AND TERRORISM IS LEGAL OR TEACHING OF ISLAM SO THEY SHOULD CARRY GO.
    Cancer in the name of a religion.

1. The child marriage is not Islamic or Muslin way.It's strikly Northern way or iletrrate way of marriage. Nigeria,let us rise to educate our Northern people.

3. Poor child quite unfoutunate you're born in the mist of pedophiles. #Sad

4. I wonder what kind of mentality will allow a child be married off at 13years. They will say their religion permits it!

Long Live LIB

5. This is not news aunty linda, its their culture and theres notin anybody can do abt it.and to thinks the concerned relative is appealing to the emir, i laugh.

6. This thing baffles me about Muslims.How does an adult male, with a full grown penis,feel,penetrating a child during sex?

7. When will this barbaric behaviour stop. Instead of the pontificating Emir to bring his people into the 21st century, he is busy jumping around like some archaic desert tribal ruler.

8. And u tell me we are thesame.fuck that

9. Appeal yes, but to who? The emir? How old was his last wife when he recently married her?

1. 18years old, if I am right. The Emir has been a campaigner against child marriage. It is time to live up to this expectations.

10. abuse!

11. .Can you believe who she's calling to help ,the EMIR OF KANO ,the grand wizard of CHILD-PREDATOR HIMSELF.What a shame.