'During my first 6 months on air, all I did was say "o'clock" six hours a day' - OAP Freeze | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 28 October 2016

'During my first 6 months on air, all I did was say "o'clock" six hours a day' - OAP Freeze

Freeze recalls his first six months of work at a radio station in the 1990s. Read below.
"Most people don't understand what it takes to be a broadcaster, I have heard "is it not to talk on the radio?" It takes a whole lot more. For my first 6 months on air, all I did was "o'clock" six hours a day, five days a week on an AM station.
When it's 6pm for instance, the main presenter would say 'it's 6' and I would say "o'clock" that was all I was required to say for an hour, then again at 7pm he would say, it's 7 and I will say "o'clock", repeating this every hour, never saying a single word more till my shift for the day ended. Was I sitting idle for the remaining 59 minutes 56 seconds? Of course not!!! I was buying zobo and buns, photocopying stuff and going to and from the news room running office errands, awaiting my next stint on the radio, where my services were needed to say "o'clock". This was all I did for 6 months, in the 1990s before I was considered fit for the radio."

27 comments:

1. *************************oook Oga..... Abeg onwero ozo??????

2. Really a funny experience, got me lol! But that's life, it's a stage thang.

3. So it's your "time o'clock" now.

4. And this one na news huh? Who is this huh?dude no one care to know back off!!HOW MUCH DID THIS CLOWN AND DICK HEAD PAY FOR THIS HUH? only the gods knows how i feel when ever i see this idiot post on social media AS FAR I FREEBORN IS CONCERN THIS DUDE HAS NOTING TO OFFER EXCEPT FIGHTING ON SOCIAL MEDIA WITH BITCHES OR CURSING ANY ONE THAT COME CROSE HIM. PLEASE IS THIS ONE A ROLE MODEL OR A RAUSY MODEL HUH? Mr man go back an complete ur social media fight because bitches are waiting for u.
    Freeborn wept!

5. And this one na news huh? Who is this huh?dude no one care to know back off!!HOW MUCH DID THIS CLOWN AND DICK HEAD PAY FOR THIS HUH? only the gods knows how i feel when ever i see this idiot post on social media AS FAR I FREEBORN IS CONCERN THIS DUDE HAS NOTING TO OFFER EXCEPT FIGHTING ON SOCIAL MEDIA WITH BITCHES OR CURSING ANY ONE THAT COME CROSE HIM. PLEASE IS THIS ONE A ROLE MODEL OR A RAUSY MODEL HUH? Mr man go back an complete ur social media fight because bitches are waiting for u.
    Freeborn wept!

6. Hmmmm.
    He has come a long way.

7. JEMBETE(KEY-POINT)28 October 2016 at 11:52

UR OWN BETER SAY DEM EVEN GIV U CHANCE TO SAY" O'CLOCK"
    NOW ADAYS U NO FIT ENTER D GATE OF D PREMISES.
    SO TANK GOD FOR UR LIFE N UR FAMILY BACKGROUND

8. Hehehe.. Hit it big! Get your super soccer prediction tips for Friday, Saturday & Sunday, 28th, 29th & 30th October 2016 @ www.fortunatusblog.com  

9. GOOD TO SEE

10. Such is life, you must serve to be served.

11. WOW!!! SOUNDS FUNNY BUT IT PAYED OFF RIGHT? LOOK WHERE YOU ARE NOW.....THESE ARE PEOPLE WE SHOULD BE CELEBRATING NOT SOME CROSS DRESSER MANWHORE!

12. True, broadcasting is a difficult career choice

13. LMAO, very funny. You just made my day.

14. I dunno why I find it funny..."o'clock " yhu indeed came along way

15. mtchew

16. Please my friends I need ur assistant, am just a struggling single mother. pls i need financial help to get a good accommodation. God bless you.

17. hmmmmm!...such is life..

18. please tell folks...nothing comes easy in life..we all have to go through a process to become made..even LIJ went fru a process before her blogging site became successful..

Amazing Stretch Marks and Scar removal cream. Call 08101866047
    Remove stubborn stretch marks. 100% Natural, No side effects.
    Call 08101866047. Nationwide delivery.

Magical Teeth whitening device. Call 08101866047
    Whiten your Teeth within 10 minutes. No side effects.
    Call 08101866047. Nationwide delivery.