Photo: 31-year-old mother arrested in Lagos for dumping her day-old baby by the roadside | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 16 September 2016

Photo: 31-year-old mother arrested in Lagos for dumping her day-old baby by the roadside

The Ajangbadi Police Division of the Lagos State Command on Thursday, September 15th, arrested Ifunanya Eme for dumping her newborn baby by the road side around 3am on Tuesday, two hours after delivering the baby by herself.
The 31-year-old single mother claimed she dumped the baby because she couldn't afford to feed her as the father had abandoned her when she became pregnant.

It was gathered that a passerby alerted the police after hearing the pitiful cries of the baby. The police arrived the scene and took the baby to a nearby hospital for check up, before they initiated an investigation to discover the mother.

Their first clue came when some neighbours alerted the Divisional Police Officer, Alim Musa, a Chief Superintendent of Police, about the pool of blood trickling out of a neighbour’s house. When the police got to the residence, the suspect was seen recuperating, while the baby was nowhere to be seen. The police questioned her once they confirmed from the neighbours that she was indeed pregnant. Ms Eme, who works as a sales person in a tricycles shop, admitted to the offence.

The suspect, who was paraded at the police command headquarters in Ikeja, Lagos, said the fut she claimed she had just gotten the job and that the pay wasn’t much.
"I gave up my daughter because I had no help and my mother is dead. I don’t even know the whereabouts of her father. The only thing I know is that he told me he was traveling. Since that day till now, the number he gave me can’t be reached."

Source: Thisday

36 comments:

1. The lady is strong, but abandoning your baby is not an option.

2. Why did you open your legs for someone you don't know very well

3. They shouldn't parade her they should take care of her n reunite her and her baby... She simply needs help! What a country

4. Wicked monster, why didn't you dumb yourself instead of the poor helpless child? #Cruelty

5. Na wao...after all d stress of carrying a pregnancy and the pains of birthing a child you still have the mind of doing away with dat child..... hmmmmm

6. Had it bin ur mama dump u dis way I wonder were u wil b today

7. Replies
    1. ***********************she no want na.... Muna carry d pikin give onye choro ya......

8. What a wicked soul and a very stupid excuse. Because her husband left her and she has no money??? She should take him to the orphanage na is that not a solution even if she doesn't want her child but the roadside? Damn

9. If u r not ready to be a mother. close ur savannah. God will always provide. Dats what some pple don't know.

10. Not enough reason to abandon an innocent child

11. I still don't understand these baby dumpers! Like there are adoption agencies, orphanage's,why dump a child?

12. Thousands of women are looking for a way to conceive but this idiot is dumping her own glory may God forgive her.

13. Is she okay?

14. Wat day lady nid nw is yo b empowerd n d baby give back to her on a watch. Tho her act ws unlawful by d reason behind it should also b considered since she did not kill d baby tho kept..... safely by d roadside.

15. STUPID GIRL

16. @ 31?That could be her only chance of having a baby and yet she decides to dump it..Crazy world we are in!

17. 31 yrs old.... Madam u are useless.. U think u are still a kid.... Thank God they rescued the child alive... This is one the reasons why I support child adoption, call it selling if u like.. .... So people like this can give the child up for adoption....I know of some of the adoption homes runs by nuns from Catholic Church.. Most of the homes has bn closed down.. Because hypocrites tagged them baby factory... Now we have more abandoned babies on the street than before.... The oloshos can dispose their babies properly.. They choose to kill and flush down the toilet, which is bad..... People are dying to have vhiz babies they are wasting and give them good home.... People like me.... I love babies to a fault... Bring them to me.. I will take care of them. . But once they are upto ten years u can come and take them back.. Because I love them when they ar still babies..

........... Liber maniac.........

18. I think they should take the mother and child to hospital for check up, what she needs nw is assistance since she has learnt her lessons....

19. good

20. Why not send it to a motherless home, you are so heartless to throw away your child. May Jah 4gv you.

Ilovemywife

21. U r old enuf to tak care of dat baby n old enuf to know dat anytin cn happen in a relationship and u shod b ready for it. Pple r lookin for children n you've got one. Ur a very selfish mother atleast u got a job. Nw u hav lost d job, baby and stupid boyfriend.

22. So without ur hubby u can't feed ur baby and u are having sex?u don't hv anything doing and u r having sex?and u wantto abandon d innocent baby all by her self u are hartless .pls forgive her it wasn't her intention its the economy,datman u called ur husnabd is not so dulble ur hustle madam

23. She needs help not to be paraded and treated like a criminal

24. Please can i have the baby please i don't have enough but i can take care of the baby with everything in me

25. Mheen dis woman is so stupid. Dats's not an excuse @all, she should just shut up already...she's a very wicked person and am even sure she'd have murdered d baby if she had her way...choii dat innocent baby. A baby u carried in ur womb for 9 months and delivered, even with d labour and everything she went through?? Na waa ooo people really get mind for this life shaa. Ah pray God nurtures and make dat baby a great person
    #MaryannJames

26. See her ugly face!!! If ur not ready to b a mother then use protection, is that too hard for u? I curse u

IG:Tamara_Splash

27. Na waoh! and some people are looking for just one baby...
    God please answer the prayer of every woman TTC

28. I don't care whatever the excuse is, she is a wicked woman and doesn't deserve to be called a mother.

29. Why the judgement? Obviously she felt like theres no option, and in Nigeria there is no help and I am sure now to no one will help her. All she needed was a future to know she can provide. Very sad