PDP insist Edo governorship election must hold on Saturday September 10th | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 8 September 2016

PDP insist Edo governorship election must hold on Saturday September 10th

PDP says it is not in support of INEC's decision to postpone the Edo state governorship election slated for this Saturday. ‎Read the party’s statement below...
Sequel to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)’s Decision this afternoon to go ahead with the Edo State Gubernatorial Election as scheduled; and their immediate reversal of that patriotic stance, the Leadership of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) led by Senator Ahmed Mohammed Makarfi, CON, has re-iterated its earlier position that the Saturday September 10, 2016 Election Date should remain sacrosanct since there is no tangible reason(s) evident to tamper with the Election.

The call for the postponement of the Election by top hierarchy of the security agencies predicated on alleged security threat was a less than ingenious attempt to buy time for the APC which is clearly heading for a major electoral catastrophe on Saturday.

"It is shameful and indeed a major constitutional breach for the security agencies to act in concert with the APC to truncate an Election that had been planned for months. Nigerians were not deceived by the obvious concoctions of the security agencies whose performances during elections have been less than average since the advent of the Buhari Administration. Indeed they have become instruments in the hands of the Ruling Party to harass, intimidate and punish opponents." Prince Adeyeye declared.

The time may be ripe now for President Buhari and the National Assembly to conduct a non-partisan holistic review and investigation of the national security apparatus to save our fledging democracy.

“The postponement of the Election by INEC is illegal, unconstitutional and a breach of the peoples’ trust in the Commission and the security agencies. It is a coup against the people of Edo State in particular and Nigerians in general. Since APC assumed power, virtually all elections conducted by INEC have either been inconclusive or truncated. Saturday’s Election in Edo State must be an exemption. We will not accept anything less than free, fair and transparent election conducted and concluded the same day. INEC must rise to the occasion to restore the confidence of Nigerians in its operations. Edo is a test case. With the way INEC is performing, how are we sure that it would be able to handle the 2019 national elections. Our democracy is under a serious threat from the APC and its Gestapo security agencies.” 

Finally, we call on all stakeholders - The Media, civil society organizations, all political parties and indeed all Nigerians and the international community to rise to defend our hard earned democracy from the assault being unleashed on it by the APC Government. 

Signed:

Prince Dayo Adeyeye
PDP National Publicity Secretary

Sent from my BlackBerry 10 smartphone.

31 comments:

DEFINITELY IT WILL

Na dem sabi! Linda take note!

It must not hold because of security threat by insurgent and extremist elements! So PDP should shut the hell up,cus they have no say over that.

Yes it must hold!
There is noting like terrorizing alert,i is dss and Muslims and apc fabricated story.
Imaging how terrorist buhari is killing Nigeria because of his useless religion.
WHO IS DSS OR SULTAN OF SOKOTO TO STOP A WHOLE ELECTION IN ANOTHER STATE BECAUSE OF THEIR RUBBISH SALLAH IMAGING.
apc has warn inec to rig the election by fire by force but shame shall be their food and water.

Inec confirmed it today..it must hold o non of dere plans(apc) go work

APC chain!!!!! They need to buy more time for rigging just the way they used Jega to rig GEJ out of office.. Party of criminals.

*****************************and after saturday******e go turn inconclusive election *******

it should ooo

Well I remember How DSS made them to postpone 2015 Election by 6 weeks ..what was the outcome??? don't worry about it

I support this election

First inec affirms that elections will hold and then made a U-turn all in one day we all know how this movie will end, Inconclusive

It is very, very, very, very, very obvious that Apc just wants to perfect their rigging plans.. But they will still fail because even God has rejected them

The election ought to hold to avoid much rigging from the opposition party, also considering the upcoming event in Edo state, kole work!

HRM Paul said...

Inec says dey av postponed PDP wants to hold election this is funny pdp don turn to INEC

Davin said...

Omo...men dey vex here o. Everybody just dey vex for APC - looks like there'll be a change of government in Edo state. Our 👀 and 👂 dey on alert.

Bello Kaliel said...

Obvious the APC has lost a grip of Edo State. People should be vigilant. Even Lara Oshiomole is set to rig too

Temple Sammy said...

They should allow the election to take place na
read this world bank set aside 500 million dollars for essential education

Aboki for apc

You should shut ur mouth...go to hell or kill urself if frustration hold u.....a whole President visited d state few days ago to campaign and attend party jamboree,no security challenge was cited..not even a whistle blown ....now they create Just anything..anything they wish to throw in d media like they always do..i can imagine ur mad president sitting on his couch enjoying his cartoon waving his hands carelessly at his media person saying tell them anything..just say something...they r fools...they r bunch of confused assholes who don't even come close to d #change...they don't knw wot it is at all...if this is where our electoral process will resume again in 2016 and maybe we will roll it for another 20-30yrs...then I am sorry for not only d nation but you are your family...Arindin oshi

Sent from blackberry smart..show people in high places knows the best phone with the best operating system...go on bb10

Enter your comment...mike itemaugbor come and pay your guards ooo. security at glo are planning to commit suicide ooo. they are being owed 3month salary in this tough economy.

They sure don't want to have a peaceful election

THE ELECTION MUST HOLD OR PDP DECLARE THE WINNER,
WHO DO THIS PPL THING THEY ARE?
THEY ARE THE FOOLS NOT WE THE GOOD PEOPLE OF EDO STATE.
OSHIO BABA OR WHAT SO EVER THEY CALLED U PLEASE STOP FOOLING UR SELF
AND LET THE ELECTION START FIRST THING MORRO MORNING

Black pearl said...

Earn up to $5,000 monthly by following this link http://Fans2Earn.com/?ref=93794