Mayor of Cannes bans the wearing of burkinis on beaches | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 August 2016

Mayor of Cannes bans the wearing of burkinis on beaches

The Mayor of the French city of Cannes, David Lisnard has banned the wearing of burkinis on the beaches of the French Riviera resort.

A burkini is a full body swimsuit popular with Muslim women. Mayor Lisnard signed off on the ruling that "access to beaches and for swimming is banned to anyone who does not have (bathing apparel) which respects good customs and secularism", which is a founding principle of the French republic.

"Beachwear which ostentatiously displays religious affiliation, when France and places of worship are currently the target of terrorist attacks, is liable to create risks of disrupting public order (crowds, scuffles etc) which it is necessary to prevent," it says.
Head of municipal services for the town, Thierry Migoule sought to allay fears that the ruling was aimed at cracking down on any religion.
"We are not talking about banning the wearing of religious symbols on the beach ... but ostentatious clothing which refers to an allegiance to terrorist movements which are at war with us," he said.

Mr Migoule said that no burkini had been seen on any beach in Cannes since the ruling was signed on July 28 by the mayor.

The issue of Islamic forms of dressing has been an issue in France where the burqa and niqab has been banned in public places since 2004.

There is however no ban on wearing religious symbols or clothing.
Source: TelegraphUK

25 comments:

1. Sweetest linda your spellings these past days been somehow o

2. God bless you mayor. For standing up against evil ideology.

1. Three gbozah to the mayor.

Gbozah!
      Gbozahh!
      Gbozahhhh!

3. **************************whr dix brain washed Muslim women no dey cover up like lagbaja go ??????? Even for pool again ******dem dey wrap up like moi moi **************and na dem dey fuck pass *********dem go jux raise dat dia smelly hijab*****do quicky***********cover am move**************** ndi araa !!!!!!!!

1. On like you that opens Yourbody to the world to see. You This wearing hijab is the problem. FYI even the real Christian cover their hair. All y'all Christians thinking you are worshipping God aren't. Y'all are ceremonial Christians. So before you judge other people's religion, embrace yours first okay.

4. They shoul ban all muslims from entering Cannes

5. Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin12 August 2016 at 13:27

seriously!

6. GOOD TO SEE

7. His choice! Na all those useless brain washed terrorist caused all these...

8. God bless that mayor. This muslims too get wahala.

9. Thank you mayor. That's why I'm voting Donald Trump. Enough of this political Correctness Bull$#it. Say it the way it is. If you in Rome, you got to behave like a Roman. Fuck the BS.

10. BUHARI AND APC ARE KILLING NIGERIA WITH THEIR INCOMPETENCY AND MISMANAGEMENT THEN TURN AROUND TO PUT THE BLAMING ON GEJ AND PAST REGIME.

@BONARIO HAS SUDDENLY LOST HIS VOICE ..... CHANGE INDEED!

1. #buharimuststepdown #buhariisnotqualifiedtobeNIgeria'spresident

11. Anonymous @ 3:34pm, But the person you are referring to didn't say he or she was a Christian. Do you think everybody that doesn't agree with your Muslim religion is automatically a CHRISTIAN? There are so many religions on the face of this earth just as there are other people who neither believe in ALLAH nor any God. In a public medium like this, when your religion is criticized, please don't go thinking the critic MUST BE A CHRISTIAN. He or she could even be an Atheist! Thanks.

1. Exactly!!! Is it not becuase they know Christianity is the right religion cos of Jesus Christ who is the real Lord and Saviour of the world and they're accepting him cos they want to deceive many to join them in he'll that's why all their attacks are on christianity. Misled people.

12. I dont blame him jare! If you want to sear burkini kuku build a swimming pool in the privacy of your house abi? No be by force.

13. hmmm