'I don’t think there is anybody that is more corrupt in this country like Obasanjo' - Ex Speaker Ghali Na'abba says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 8 August 2016

'I don’t think there is anybody that is more corrupt in this country like Obasanjo' - Ex Speaker Ghali Na'abba says

Former Speaker of House of Representatives, Ghali Na’abba says there isn't any Nigerian that is more corrupt than former President Olusegun Obasanjo.‎ According to the Nation, Na'abba said this while reacting to Obasanjo's claim that the National Assembly is filled with rogues and thieves.

Speaking to newsmen in Abuja yesterday August 7th, Na'abba who was speaker during Obasanjo's first tenure, said the former President should explain to Nigerians how he became one of the richest Nigerians after leaving office when he had virtually nothing before he assumed office in 1999.

"I don’t think there is anybody that is more corrupt in this country like the former President. I believe you are talking about the former President Olusegun Obasanjo. As the Speaker, I took Obasanjo on various expenditure offences which he committed, which he could not defend and didn’t show any remorse. In fact, that is why sometimes in 2002, the National Assembly tried to impeach him. So, he has not got the integrity to call anybody corrupt. This is a man who became the president with nothing, today he is one of the richest Nigerians. Let him explain to Nigerians how he acquired all these wealth,”Na’Abba said.
The former speaker also spoke on the alleged sharing of money to national Assembly members during the tenure elongation attempt of Obasanjo
“I am aware that, during the tenure elongation attempt of Obasanjo, money was shared to the members of the National Assembly. It was alleged that, the Senators collected N50million, House of Representatives members collected N40million. But I also know that, it was not all the members that collected this money. Some of them collected, some of them did not. But, I am aware that money was shared”‎he said

32 comments:

1. Point of correction.
    Obasanjo is the manufacture of corruption why terrorist muhammadu buhari is the director and ceo of corruption.FREEBORN WEPT FOR NIGERIANS

2. hmmmmmmm na today. we all know and this muslims want to create more trouble in this country after all majority of the wealth we have are all with top Muslims.

PKE

3. We all know that. The man is the epitome of what most nigerians stand fo- hypocrisy.

4. Bless you Na'abba, Obj is the most corrupt under dog ever recorded in the history of this nation! He's controls power, plays fatherism, indirectly rules the country. How can someone controls virtually everyone that steps in that presidential seat, I think he uses some kind of diabolical means on them.

5. YES! O, SEE OBJ FACE LIKE FATHER CHIMP. HE IS THE ONE THAT BROUGHT THE COUNTRY TO THIS SPOT. HE CLEARED ALL THE WEALTH AFTER THE WAR AND STATRED BORROWING FIRST FROM PARIS CLUB. WICKED MAN

6. Hahaha y'all are corrupt including u Mr speaker

7. We all know that..... Obasanjo is father of corruption in Nigeria..... What he invented in Nigeria as first Democratically elected president is corruption.... Atiku can't stop talking about it, abacha loot is kids play compare to Obasanjo's loot...

......... Liber maniac.......

8. When you were in govt with him why didn't you say you it, thief calling another person criminal

9. Replies
    1. OBJ has been the most corrupt Nigerian since 1960.

10. HAHAHA ABI

11. If people like Obasanjo still lives, Nigeria can never be restored to her blessed position again but PMB still see him as a worthy leader... Omase o

12. JEMBETE(KEY-POINT)8 August 2016 at 09:25

APC UNA DUNG EAR? BCOS FO NIGERIAN NA ANYBODY WEY QUIET D GOVT FLEX MOZUL. GEJ WEY MAKE RICE B 8K, BINS 280, FUEL 87, NA HIM DEM DE ATTACK PASS BUT OBJ WEY COM FRM PRISON WIT ONLY ONE CLOT NOW BCOM RICHEST MAN FO AFRICA BUT APC DE FEAR AM.

13. It's the truth, Obasanjo is the father of corruption, others are learners. He converted the operation feed the Nation lands to his Obasanjo Farms. And where did he get tje money to build a university. He is not in a position to be pointing finger....His reward await him in the great beyond

14. For Nigeria to be a better country, they have to kill Obasanjo, Tinubu and whoever have tasted power!

15. I have said this over and over, that OBJ is the most corrupt Nigerian. I wrote the exact thing Na'aba is saying now. This thieve left prison with only #20 then in his account. It was widely reported, and today he is the richest farmer, has the best Library and chains of oil and gas businesses over the country and beyond, and yet he has the courage to call a section of Nigerians corrupt. He is just a rogue!! Halliburton scandal was dangling in his neck no one said anything about. That case is closed today because OBJ was involved. He tried to bribe his way for third tenure with #50 and #40 million each to house members and yet no one or government tried him. This shameless old fool is our problem in Nigeria. He should be prosecuted.

16. Can't get my head around the fact that such highly placed politicians keep making these serious accusations yet EFCC no wan shake body. If these politicians can publicly disclose these crimes, I think they'll be willing to testify at a trial.

17. He is very correct. Infact OBJ had just 20,000 naira when he left prison in 1999. You can go do your verification if you doubt this.Shame!

18. EFCC get in here ASAP if una get liver o.

19. if only they will stop heating up this polity; is Nabba just waking up from sleep all these years since he leave office?

20. Foolish man,obj paid 30 billion dollars in debt,still kept 67 billion dollars in reserves,gave us cheap telecommunications,efcc,icpc,office of due process,balanced appointment for all ethnicity,He remain the best ever president

21. OBJ is sooooooooo corrupt

22. If obj is not in a position,let your father that's in the position point to the corrupt practice,if he won't be killed,you think it's child's play?when you fight corruption it fights back

23. Imagine Pot calling Kettle Black...

24. At least, someone is finally saying the truth. Thumb up to Naaba