'Why I was invited by EFCC' - Doyin Okupe | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 17 July 2016

'Why I was invited by EFCC' - Doyin Okupe

Former spokesperson to ex President Goodluck Jonathan, Doyin Okupe who was recently invited for questioning by EFFC, took to his Facebook wall to explain his case with the antigraft agency. Below is what he wrote;
The facts of my case with efcc. In my interactions with efcc I have been asked to explain 3 things only so far. 1. Why I received N50m from the Fmr NSA, at the onset of my appointment, and what I used it for. 2. Why I was being paid N10m monthly by the ONSA. 3. Why I received another N50m from the NSA in October 2014.
These are the ONLY subject of interrogation with the commission so far. My explanations. 1. The initial N50m was approved by the President to be paid to me from His Security vote. N10m was to furnish my rented living apartment and another N10m for my office. The balance N30m was approved as take off grant. 2. The N10m I received from the ONSA monthly was to run my office, pay salaries of staffs, including overheads, pay expenses for our numerous press conferences, pay for publications in newspapers, magazines, local and foreign, television programs, bulletins, and media consultants who assist and facilitate our work. I had about 23 staff, 11 were graduates out of which 5 were masters degrees holders. Details were submitted to efcc. 3. The second N50m was approved again by Mr President when I reported to him that the monthly allowance has been cut from N10m to N5m and that I was no longer in position to keep running a 1hr NTA network program called INSIGHT which was aired 9-10am every Friday. We paid NTA about N1.2m monthly for airtime. The lead presenter on Insight earned N400,000 and the second presenter earned N200,000. Total N600,000. We paid for tapes and Editting per program. Besides we also pay honorarium for guests either directly or inform of hotel bills for those outside Abuja, or transportation. This cost averagely N500,000 weekly or about N 2m monthly. All in all we spend about N4m monthly on the program. Mr President promised to help with the expenses. About a few months later when we had incurred some debts the NSA sent me this N50m which was to cover the cost of the program for 12 months(12×N4m=N48m) News paper Trial I saw strange figures like N 162m fraud, 85m fraud etc. Also mention was made of dubious payments of N13m, N65m from contracts supposedly obtained from chachanga LGA in Niger state. The Fact. My company Romix soilfix was one of the over 20 construction companies who were duly awarded contracts for rural roads some 5yrs ago by the Niger state govt. Due to lack of funds contractors were paid irregularly making the job to drag. The job is still on going. The relationship of this to my service as snr special assistant to President is still not clear. My Health status. I confided in the officers of the commission about my health situation for them to understand why where and how I sleep was important to my overall well being. Without clearance or authorisation by me this information was revealed to the media. I woke up to hear it on radio broadcast nationwide and was published in many newspapers. This is a sad development and a definite breach of the confidence I reposed on the commission as an institution of government. I was born with sinus bradycadia, a non disease based slowness of the heart. It precluded me from vigorous exercise from childhood but I have by God's Grace been able to live a normal and active life. With age the slowness grew worse and life threatening. I sought medical help and went through a procedure at the Arrhythmia cardiac Research center in Atlanta, where this defect was corrected. Its just a year ago and I am still under satellite monitor from the USA. This is what I revealed to the efcc and they made it a public issue. I have been in public service in more than 20years, because of my pedigree, I have by deliberate policy avoided anything that will bring shame to me, my name and family. In spite of my high level involvement in politics and government, I have never done directly or indirectly any federal government contracts. In the whole of this world I have only two house. One in Lagos and another in my home town. I have no house elsewhere including Abuja. It us a pity that the situation in the country is so bad that everybody believes that there are no men with honour in politics or government. It is not true. I have submitted all my personal and company accounts to efcc. I have nothing to hide. I am proud of who I am and how far the Lord has taken me. My present travails and trial will become a good testimony for me and my family in Jesus Name.

37 comments:

1. Choi just intimidating people for nothing sake.
    All I know is that diiiaaaarrrrrriiiiisss God ooooo

*NWA 042*

1. So its the office of the NSA that's now the ministry of finance and CBN put together. Na wa o! Okupe you better return those money.......hehehe

2. Why are they all turning overnight G.O.

3. Stand your ground, the end justifies after all...

4. AS IN EEH.

5. In igbo language, this is called 'Isa asisa'. For the non igbos, it is a situation when adult will come out to the village square and publicly starts confessing his or her attrocities.

6. I kinda believe him sha. But hmmmmmm! I no come know who to trust again.

7. Almighty God will disgrace openly PDP oppressors.

8. Don't worry, you'll still sing more.
    You think going to roll on the floor begging Obasanjo will save you.
    SA on Media to the President being paid #10M every month. Not to talk of the one he got when he resumed office. Criminals

9. You are a fool and you think you can fool us with this sweet words now that you been investigated you start talking like a good and responsible person , All that urge amount of money for only you all of you that make this country a hard place to live for us will never know peace. Money for program /editing and stuff is 4m God will punish ur generation.

10. Am impressed with your detailed information, atleast you agreed you got money from dasuki severally. Am not your fan but I think you're smart enough to give details of your transaction, only if others can be accountable like this and stop lying that they never even saw dasuki physically let alone receiving money or even claiming that arms deal doesn't exist. Nice one Doyin.

11. You are a fool...nuel

12. You are a man of integrity and I hope you maintain it that way as you stated. President Buhari should not spare anyone including the people of his own cabinet for no one is an Island.

1. Iwill,jail,buhari,if,i,become,president.18 July 2016 at 03:28

God will see u tru.

2. Doyin Okupe U ar a bastard
      Return ur loot nd hav peace or else u will suffer in penury

3. See his Crappy excuses, Nigerian politicians are bloody CRIMINALS!!!

4. Just negodu! Linda take note!

13. Shut up! You went too far using Jesus name! you are a smart business man and respect you for that nd ur defence is too strong not to be argued by fools, past admin thought u were stupid now I know d stupid side, spend ur hard earned money wisely! , Mr Okupe u just earned my respect with ur defence

14. APC don't understand how to run a state. Imagine ur explanation, efcc and APC led govt are still tensed. They don't understand the English " , including overheads, pay expenses for our numerous press conferences, pay for publications in newspapers, magazines, local and foreign, television programs, bulletins, and media consultants who assist and facilitate our work. I had about 23 staff, 11 were graduates out of which 5 were masters degrees holders. Engr Emy

15. This is how money is going into some useless things.

God help my country...

16. Let those from the south east reading this see it clearly.This man can explain himself.He hasn't screamed witchhunt or mentioned political persecution. He says his hands are CLEAN! he knows STUPID money was shared from the NSA's office & he did not partake in it's sharing.FRESH

17. Hope you're saying the truth

18. @Tito, If you claim that Mr President should not spare anyone, then you re wrong, we are all thieves, So don't claim all APC are Novice.. But the battle has just begun. Nice one Doyin Okupe, You are indeed a man to reckon with..

19. Any money from NSA shouldn't be for the purpose of renting apartment for u sir, ur office should be paid from ministry of information u av anyting to do with security. They av a case against u sir

20. Thinking smart? Was that why you begged Obj to interseced for you.You didn't disappoint me.

21. Ys if after ur verification u ar actualy free u will have ur sleep and care for ur self/family. But others who ate our collective bed and which made us to sleep on a rough ground to complain that Nigeria is not good to sleep in hmmm. The must surely vomit all the ate. Other wise the will not sleep and we will keep on demanding till they follow Alamesia, tompolo, dasuki, ibori etc no hiding place no sleep for all of them by Gods grace. Nigeria will still be moving on nothing will happen.

22. Talk of a man from Aro. Is security votes supposed 2 be shared. Madman

23. I am really amazed to hear all these about you. It is wrong to judge people based on media prints and rumors. Personally , I think you aligned with the wrong party whose gluttonous members looted the treasury of Nigeria.Nigeria is going through a purification process and I think all right thinking Nigerian should support this government.Everyone knows that GMB cannot totally prosecute all looters especially these within his own party, the precedence is now being laid and subsequent government can also go back into the archives and deal with others. Nobody that steals from Nigerian should be allowed to go scot free. I look forward to a day that we can stone and insult people whose living standard does not conform with their earning or office instead of hailing and bowing to them.

24. Ah Oga all nag story.We all know you stole money.Just keep lying to only yourself,but give the money back.

25. The words of Doyin Okukpe:
    “ I confided in the officers of the commission about my health situation for them to understand why where and how I sleep was important to my overall well being”
    “ Its just a year ago and I am still under satellite monitor from the USA”
    “It us a pity that the situation in the country is so bad that everybody believes that there are no men with honour in politics or government”
    Be more explicit about how and what is bad about the country and men in politics.
    So you think you can full all the people all the time?
    Is it right to collect money from Defense?
    Doyin, stop lying and enjoy the benefits of democracy.

26. @Doyin well said I see a bit of sanity in stuffs u have put up up I wan to beyond reasonable doubt that the y were true... now the problem I have with you is that video of the media chat you went viral with stating Buhari is not educated and you said with confident o your comfort former boss that he Buhari will not become President. Have you encounter God at all you talk as If you God spoke person rather as civil person.. anyways there I closer eyes on you guys now

27. Dear Dr. Doyin,
    I'm surprised you occupied a position that was meant for medically sound/fit Nigerian for years when you knew you were unfit right from childhood. Can you now accept you were paid undeservedly for a job you were not fit for? Why didn't you disclose your medical unfitness to Nigerians when you were appointed by former president? Why now?
    You claimed the 1st N50m you got was from former president's security vote, is it right for the security vote of the ex-president to be used in paying the office of the spokesperson to the ex-president?
    Since N20m tax payers money was used to furnish your acclaimed rented apartment and office, now you are no longer in office, have you genuinely returned those properties to the government?
    Dr. Doyin, was your office under ministry of information or ONSA, that the ONSA paid you N10m monthly?
    You claimed you had 23 staff in the office of the spokesperson to the ex-president, is that office the same size as a ministry that you had 23 staff? Just office of a spokesperson? This shows others were doing your job.
    Dr. Doyin, since you served 20 years in public service, does the public service rule allows a public servant to own a company to the point that your company proudly bidded and was awarded road contracts in Niger State?
    I sincerely wish to beg you and your likes to stop disturbing innocent Nigerians on social media, TV, etc when you are being investigated, when you were collecting the monies from different sources - illegally and legally, did you update Nigerians? If you feel you have no case to answer, you are being accused falsely, please seek redress in court.

28. Anonymous july 18 10.42am ,wa gbayi. Right on point. Besides he said the monthly pay to NTA was N1.2M so when did one year payment for that become N48M. All these summations does not add up and points to dipping his hands in the cookie jar.
    Can somebody check the budget to the Ministry of Information and find out how much Okupe's office gets and his salary as well.
    We need to ask the right questions in this country rather than be following stupid trends on social media.