Pregnant Nigerian woman gives birth to baby boy on German naval ship during rescue in the Mediteranean Sea | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 22 July 2016

Pregnant Nigerian woman gives birth to baby boy on German naval ship during rescue in the Mediteranean Sea

A pregnant Nigerian woman, who departed from the Libyan coast on a voyage to Europe ended up giving birth on the German naval ship that rescued her and 654 other migrants.

According to the German Military Chaplaincy, the Nigerian woman named Vivian was one of 655 people who piled onto four flimsy dinghies in order to reach Europe with the hope of a better life.

On July 6, their first day at sea, a German naval ship saw the boats, and, recognizing the precarious condition of the dinghies, described as "un-seaworthy,"  brought them on board.

Immediately after being rescued, Vivian went into labour and delivered a baby boy on board the ship. The military chaplain Fr. Jochen Folz and the medical team immediately offered their support. After only a few minutes Vivan made one wish very clear: she was Catholic, and she wanted her newborn son to be baptized.

So Fr. Folz got to work right away with the help of ship's officers and crew: the radio operator enabled the Internet so the priest could access the English texts needed for the rite of Baptism, while others found a sauceboat, matching tray for a makeshift "baptismal" font and a candle.

A woman named Martina O., who was also rescued from the dinghies, agreed to take on the role of the child's godmother. Fr. Folz asked Vivian:

"What name will you give your child," to which she replied: "Ikpomosa."

After pouring water over the child's head three times with the sauceboat while reciting the ancient biblical formula: "I baptize you in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit," the priest then lit the candle and passed to his godmother.

Fr. Folz draped his white priestly stole over the newborn as a symbol of the divine sonship since there was no white baptismal gown.

As a baptismal gift, baby Ikpomosa was given a medal of  St. Michael the Archangel, while Vivian and Martina were each given a medal of the Virgin Mary. All three had been prepared by a medical soldier, who tied a ribbon on each so they could be hung or tied somewhere safe.

Photo credit:Catholic Military Chaplaincy

31 comments:

1. Making brainzz.. Get your expert soccer prediction tips for Saturday July 23rd, 2016.. visit www.fortunatusblog.com  

1. A baby is always a blessings. Congrats to her

2. Na wa o! Congrats to her sha! Linda take note!

3. Congratulobia.

2. JEMBETE(KEY-POINT)22 July 2016 at 10:41

WHICH YEYE NIGERIAN WOMAN B THAT?

3. Awww...pretty nature couldn't wait

4. So, what citizenship is the baby? Libyan or German?

5. The baby will be Nigerian, even if she made it to Germany the law says you need to have been a resident for 8 years to gain citizenship by birth.

6. Thank God for safe delivery, x

7. Benin girl no dey carry last

8. cONGRATS TO HER...

9. d baby don turn whitey already #naija i hail....

10. She has said it all (ikponwosa) means I thank God

11. THANK GOD FOR THEIR SAFETY O

12. Smilin....smilin.....lovely

1. My tot
      So lovely

Linda don't take note!

13. Esther Dangana22 July 2016 at 14:09

Congratulations.

14. Trust me you really have some extremely very nice white people. Thank God for the mother and baby, may God preserve them always.

15. Is there a war going on in Benin? Why the unnecessary globetrotting. Why such risk with preggo?

Welcome...new born child

16. Thank God its not Islamic State soldiers,their own baptism is beheading. Islam-the cancer of the world.

17. @anonymous 11:20 There is also a law dat says if a child is born in a boat, he automatically bcoms a citizen of d country were d boat is registered. Congrats 2 dat beni woman. Beni ppo no go leave abroad alone.

18. Linda,
    I sent you a mail to publish what usually happens to these migrants that survive and have run out of fares (which is most of them) so can't cross to Europe. I still think you should publish it as a public service to your readers.
    Anyone interested, here is the link.
    https://josdaily.com/2016/07/05/organ-harvesting-sold-butchered-for-body-parts-human-smugglers-sell-migrants-unable-to-pay-for-their-journey-from-africa-to-europe-to-egyptian-black-market-organ-dealers-who-kill-them-and-harvest-or/

These migrants end up being sold for their body parts. Pass the word on. This one is very lucky.

You are all better off striving to survive an make in this beautiful country called Nigeria.

19. heya

20. Baby is a German

21. Ikponwonsa! (I thank God). She is benin. Hehehehe. U know how we roll. Libya things...#lol