Photos: Sky-high bills leave some Nigerian mothers and their newborns trapped in hospitals | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 18 July 2016

Photos: Sky-high bills leave some Nigerian mothers and their newborns trapped in hospitals

Some Nigerians mothers are held for moths in maternity wards, forbidden from leaving until their debts are settled. 23-year-old single mother Amarachi Amadi (pictured) is still in hospital with her baby girl four months after giving birth in Umuahia, Abia State, Reuters Foundation reports. While the mother and her daughter are in good health, they are not allowed to leave the public hospital until Amadi settles the 543,000 naira bill for their care.Amadi, who makes a living selling stones to construction workers for 40 naira per sack, fears she may never be able to clear her debt - leaving her and her baby trapped in the Umuahia Federal Medical Centre (FMC) for the foreseeable future.
"I have really suffered ... and they do not allow me to go out," said Amadi, who relies on her mother to bring food into the hospital and to help her care for her baby, Oluebubechi. New mothers like Amadi are stuck in maternity wards across Nigeria - forbidden from leaving until their debts are settled. Known as Awaiting Bill Settlement (ABS) patients, these women are responsible for looking after and feeding themselves and their newborns.

Whenever the maternity ward at the hospital is full, many ABS patients are forced to sleep on the floor.
"Sometimes, we place all the babies on one bed while the mothers sleep in chairs," said one nurse, who asked not to be named as she was not authorised by the hospital to speak. "Some babies have stayed here until they started crawling," the nurse said, adding that some mothers had managed to escape the hospital with their babies when no one was watching."
Like Amadi, nine other nursing mothers in the FMC's maternity ward are stuck in limbo, having been discharged by the doctors but trapped within the hospital grounds by their debts.

Janet Moses, 19, said the father of her twin boys had stopped visiting or answering her calls over the past month. She believes he has been scared off by the bill. No one visits Moses or brings her food, so she depends on other patients to share their meals with her.

Other patients on the ward, like Adaku Mmaduabuchi (pictured with her husband in the maternity ward of the Umuahia Medical Centre) are slightly more fortunate. The 25-year-old housewife who gave birth to her first child in May, is brought meals daily by her husband but they too have been struggling to pay off their debt.
"I have been phoning my friends and relatives to see if anyone can lend me the money," said her husband, Ihunze, who has so far only paid a third of the 200,000 naira they owe."
There are a large number of ABS patients at the FMC due to the hospital's policy of treating every patient who arrives, regardless of whether they can afford to pay upfront for their treatment, said Chuku Abali, the director of the hospital. Abali said he frequently waives the bills of the hospital's patients, many of whom are nursing mothers, with amounts ranging from 10,000 naira to 1.5 million naira.
"But if we continue to run on charity, we will fold. Things have to be paid for," Abali told the Thomson Reuters Foundation.
Many patients wait in the hope that philanthropists, who sometimes visit during Easter and Christmas holidays, will clear their debts when they next visit, the hospital director said.

"We also conduct investigations to find out if patients have any relatives who can afford to pay, then we write to them."
Other hospitals, like the University College Hospital (UCH) in the southwestern city of Ibadan, are taking a more novel approach when it comes to dealing with their ABS patients. The UCH has set up a fund which allows hospital staff to make voluntary monthly contributions from their salaries towards patients' bills. Abandoned teenage mothers are given priority. Yet these contributions alone are not enough to solve the problem, said Adefemi Afolabi, the UCH's deputy director.
"There is no day I get to my table without seeing letters from people applying for cancellation of bills," Afolabi said.
The health ministry announced plans earlier this year to build 10,000 health clinics across the country, which could provide maternity care at a lower cost, according to Afolabi.
"The government also needs to extend the National Health Insurance Scheme so it goes to the grassroots," he said. "Only government workers and some private workers are entitled to it."
Back at the FMC's maternity ward, the mothers talk about the day when they will finally be free to go home with their babies. But 25-year-old Blessing Godfrey has no such hope. The student was rushed to the hospital after she fell unconscious when her baby was born unexpectedly.

Godfrey woke up on the ward to learn that her baby had died. Two weeks later, the grieving mother is still in hospital, discharged but unable to settle her 19,000 naira bill. Her mother, a widow, makes very little selling vegetables, while her boyfriend, also a student, denies he is the father.
"There is no one to assist me," Godfrey said.

Source: (Reporting By Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani, Editing by Kieran Guilbert and Katie Nguyen for the Thomson Reuters Foundation, the charitable arm of Thomson Reuters, that covers humanitarian news, women's rights, trafficking, corruption and climate change)

30 comments:

1. Sad, sad and sad.

2. Bia E-money take your money spraying gun to this hospital and make it rain. As for our leaders, we have none.

Offside: Woe unto a woman whose husband's third leg is on the loose for she will soon fall sick. Let all men respect their wives and keep that tail private.

3. There is no one to assist me@Godfrey..Really?? Person assist you give woman belle? The level of illiteracy in Nigeria is getting higher by the day...You fail to plan, you are planning to fail..As simple as that....STOP HAVING BABIES YOU CANNOT AFFORD...It is not cheap...Emulate rich folks..How many kids do they have especially in this present day and time...Stupid Nigerian egocentric predicament of go and marry then when are you having a boy is leading ppl to penury..China as a nation at one time for years adopted a one child per family policy....I'm sorry no sympathy... Why poor man dey born pickin in the first place??? SMH OChimo..this one na APC fault too Abu?

*Linda's Future Hubby*

1. Well... lemme just respect myself and keep mute on this one

4. R u kidding me? Is this even real? How can hospitals be allowed to detain mothers and their new borns? Now don't get me wrong I don't think the hospital is a charity responsible for giving free health care but surely the answer isn't acting like a prison especially when ure aware of the state of the country you are! I don't claim to have the solution but seriously this ain't it.... Also how can the woman in the pic her bill be over 500k are u kidding me???? From the pic the state of that hospital is like uhhh nooo plus giving birth is not like having surgery! In most situations no complications the woman does her biz papapa clean up check baby is alright that's it! This story really is just pathetic .... There must be a better solution to this cause what's being practiced now ain't it! Only in Africa shaaaaa sometimes I think we are cursed!

1. Typical igbo people, want to keep giving birth with no money, some are surgery and get more expensive with daily ward bills. That's how my husband insists on having more kids after having the 3 which it's my folks that use to fend for as we live from gand to mouth. Friends of mine that have been married here in lagos are waiting to give birth cause they are saving so they can set hospital bills aside before getting pregnant, but these people believe children that they have sex and give birth to are everyone's responsibility. If they let all of them go free, the medical bills will pile up and make Te hospital fold of which they will now have to go to private which they can't afford at all or they'll give birth at home, anyway private won't even touch them without 75% down payment, witnessed this several times so home birth it is, people do it in civilized countries so what the heck? This medical centers should not touch them if they don't a the 75% shikena so that even if they give birth at the gate, it's none of their business.

2. I don't blame the hospital but I think the state government should step in. Linda take note!

5. Eyea... I pray help to her soonest. #Sad

6. This is serious o. At dis rate, dat baby will celebrate his/her 10th birthday on dat bed. May God send dem a helper asap

7. Chai the suffer in our nation...

8. Linda.... I will say it is good you decided to post this. I wrote you months ago complaining about the crazy bills in this same FMC umuahia but you ignored my mail the same way you have been doing for years.... A government hospital charges N3000 per hour for oxygen... so tell me how can the poor afford to pay this oxygen that is suppose to save their lives.... They are frustrating people with his sky high bills in that FMC Umuahia and honestly EFCC should have a go at them.

1. It's a govt institution, it isn't that expensive, known people that use it. If you think it's expensive, what will you say about private hospitals? Besides don't people have to be in severe conditions to need oxygen? Or u just walk in to give birth and then they give u oxygen? At least I don born, so I'm wondering, well, they should always keep money aside from the first day they sense pregnancy.

9. Linda biko after posting this try Nd settle at least one bill God will bless you for that.These women can also join charity gang

1. Live Linda out of this, do ur own bit or u commit them in ur prayers, yes prayers move mountains, I'm a living witness.

2. Na by force to fuck and born if you no get money? Wonder how they'll pay rent,clothe and feed the babies

10. U don't need to tell her to do that or remind her of how God will bless her. U, do your own bit. She has been doing charity things.

11. This is serious! Government should do something about this. Why are the bills even so high. We need change in this country. A lot of people are suffering

12. The woman above must have had some serious complications for her bill to reach 500k. Datz quite much.

13. Biko Biko cherekwanu! What's this huge sum they are quoting here just for safe delivery? Heeee! Linda lebanye anya nihea ofuma. The hospital is stealing from the poor. It's well. We obviously don't have govt but money sharers.

14. Linda pls pay !!' Shey you are very rich ... This is where you should show some love rather than flatter us with pictures of your house and amassed wealth

15. This country is a big joke. Establishments stealing money from people. Ordinary delivery and one is being charged 19000,200000 and 500000naira. The so called power companies will collect huge amount of money from people every month without giving you light. Corruption is not only when you steal millions or billions.

16. *************************and Fulani cow carried hix Smelly Aboki ear to US to treat Abu nti*******wen we have pressing needs down here **************it will nvr be well with Nija leaders**********all of dem are smooth criminals with PHd********

17. *************************and Fulani cow carried hix Smelly Aboki ear to US to treat Abu nti*******wen we have pressing needs down here **************it will nvr be well with Nija leaders**********all of dem are smooth criminals with PHd********

18. The bill is too expensive and i bet you, even an Abia State civil servant will find it very hard to pay this bill. I suggest the Abia state government should offset the bill, work on reducing the healthcare cost and also educate the abians on family planning.

19. How did the bill get that much for God's sake? Abi no be to born Or SC?