Not all appointments are subject to Federal Character- Femi Adesina | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 18 July 2016

Not all appointments are subject to Federal Character- Femi Adesina

Special Adviser to President Buhari on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, says not all appointments made by President Buhari are expected to be subjected to Federal character policy. Speaking in an interview with Channels TV, Adesina said other factors are to be taken into consideration when making political appointments.
"It is not all appointments that must be subject to Federal character. There are some like Minister for instance the constitution says each state must produce and that has been satisfied and there are some that are not necessarily subject to Federal character.
There is a lot of spread but although it maybe more in some places. Appointments is an ongoing thing. It is a process and it continues One thing you can say about this government is that it listens to feedbacks"he said
When asked why the North has the highest number of security chiefs appointments, Adesina said
“When it is the turn of a person to hold a certain office and you say because he is from a certain region you then bypass him for another person, you have been unfair to that person and also to the system. The security system often times operate on hierarchy and efficiency. So if you have a senior person who is also efficient and because he comes from a certain region, you bypass him, I think you are being unjust and unfair to somebody" he said
Watch the full interview below

34 comments:

1. You're blabbing cos you're still occupying a spec there, Wait until he kicks your butt, truth will sprawl out of your silly mouth!

2. bia nwoke idi very stupid .Yoruba's will always be same .una no fit stand straight

3. Hmm

4. Too good to b true bcos d constitution clearly spell out how appointments should b done.

5. Say no more! Linda take note!

6. I am not disputing the issue about the north having the highest number and security chiefs appointment coz I mean, we all know Borno is the hotbed of bokoharam. It is only logical that people from such areas who knows the terrain very well, who know their people, who knows how to tackle them better are given positions to stop the carnage. If u want to catch a thief, send someone who knows him and his modus operandi. That clearly has paid off Boko Haram wise
    However, the country is evolving and so are crimes and terrorism. While BHs power have drastically been curtailed, Fulani herdsmen and militancy has sprang up. Where are the capable hands from the Niger Delta who can compel their people to stop? Which position has this administration given them? What are the So called northern security chiefs doing to stop the random killings by these Fulani guys?
    That is where my opinion of federal character comes into play. I know technocracy is necessary sometimes like in the above scenario, why not allow other regions to top other sectors of the economy? This may help in balancing the equation.
    Buhari really needs to start considering the unity of this country before things fall apart. It's something that's sacrosanct

1. Are you telling us? Aren't you a supporter of the govt?

7. Esther Dangana18 July 2016 at 10:07

na una sabi, I hope you will not regret your words tomorrow.

8. This Man is a BAD Taste.
    He has NEVER sound convincing when presenting or debating issues.
    Sack Him ASAP.

9. He has lost his usefulness to Nigerians, he was better off an editor at the sun than now he's trying to justify every misdeed of Buhari administration

10. I pity the Yoruba people especially Femi Adeshina because he is really handicapped here or else he would loose his job. But it is better to loose the job now than regretting in future because he is killing himself morally and politically. Odee

11. Femi again ...... This is what too much fried rice with chicken and uninterrupted air conditioner can do to a man's brain.

12. That is why your Principal looked around, couldn't see any other Fulani left, and decided to gift a 40 year old novice NPA. Can't he placate the Ijaws by giving an Ijaw man NPA to handle, since Federal Character doesn't control everything? Must such things go only to Fulani/Hausa? Doesn't he know any other tribe?

13. Ambassadorial list, for example. And the verbal insult that was dished out to some states that they don't have qualified personnel. All northern states have qualified personnel. In Buhari's govt, has any northern state ever been left out because federal character is not a must?

14. So wat happened in the case of the Nigerian customs service please stop dis non sense talk Mr man 2019 on our minds

15. JEMBETE(KEY-POINT)18 July 2016 at 11:47

ANYHOW BUHARI WANT DO, MAKE HIM DO BUT MAKE HIM UNDERSTAND SAY THE REASON Y D COUNTRY IS SUFFERING IN DIS GOVT NA BCOS REAL IGBO MAN NO DE FO D GOVT. NA ONLY IGBO PIPLE KNO HOW TO MOVE THIS CONTRI ECONOMY. OBASENJO PUT IGBO MAN DORA AKUYILI, UNA SI HOW NAFDAC TRANSFORM, HE PUT OKONJO IWELA, UNA SEE HOW OBASENJO FIT MANAGE 1 BILLION DOLLARS RESERVE, WITH MILITARY LOOTING SEF HE STILL PAY OUR DEBT, WITH 720, OOO BARREL PER DAY AT $ 15 PB NIGERIAN GET WORK AND LIV HAPPILY.BUT SI BUHARI, HE CARRY FOOLS PUT FOR THERE N TINK SAY DEM FIT MANAGE D GOVT.

16. Adesina I beg carry your MUMU face common for hia!

17. So people become ministers because it is their turn? I am suspecting an epidemic of mad cow disease in abuja

18. Bypassing senior and competent southerners for mothers is what Buhari has been doing. How come Adesina cannot tell this to his boss?

19. It's his time.Let continue that noise with his bucalcavity.

20. he came to revenge,(buhari) leave him and his short sightedness(femi adesina), with time these(apc maggots) will be flushed out, just time people (9ja) #3rdworldwarimpending, #abolishingislam

21. Femi adeshina. What hierachy do you speak of when some people were retired or over looked to pick lower ranking officers of this tribe?
    What feedbacks do you listen to? If you did, would you have kept on?

22. You have said it all Bonita Islam!

23. I know that America predicted that Nigeria would split. I also know that America supported Buhari during the last presidential elections. I think they know he would tribalize Nigeria and set the tone for disintegration. It is looking very much like a means to an end.

24. Kai! I never knew this guy is a sycophant. So he now agree there is seniority abi,when u retire DIGs and AIG for a Jr AIG dat one no follow baa. We dey watch una. Failed Government.

25. Femi must have been a fool from birth because I can't believe he opened his mouth to gush out this lies from the pit of hell. Which hierarchy does Buhari follow, for instance, many officers were bypassed before this new IGP was picked.Femi you claim to be a bornagain Christian and you lie like it's going out of fashion. Better tell your president to follow the constitution he swore to uphold.......WTF

26. Femi again has taken the path of lies like his Mentors Alhaji Laiand other APC god fathers. How many senior AIGs were retired before the current IG was appointed? How did hierachy contributed to the appointment of Hameed as custom boss? please enough of these lies from APC.

27. Too bad to hear this from him...just like Reuben Abati during GEJ...#onMYway...

28. This mendacious ilk again! Please Buhari's slave, which of those appointments that are subject to Federal Character has your slave-master complied with. Why one earth won't this maggot spare us the agony of listening to his vacuous rantings.