Photos: Four Rapid Response Squad operatives escape death | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 19 June 2016

Photos: Four Rapid Response Squad operatives escape death

4 RRS operatives of the Lagos State Police Command early this morning sustained serious injuries while on operation when an over-speeding KIA RIO belonging to a hired car operator rammed into their vehicle near Ogudu Bus Stop.

The RRS men were on duty point patrolling along Ogudu-Alapere axis, inspecting the Light Up Lagos Project facilities, when the accident occurred at about 12:06 am on Sunday.
According to the information gathered at the scene of accident, RRS men were driving when a KIA Rio with lone occupant on a high speed rammed into them from behind.

An eyewitness who was at the scene of the incident and later conveyed the injured to Lagos State Teaching Hospital (LASUTH), Ikeja for treatment.

"The RRS vehicle was going slowly on the road because they were monitoring the Light Up Lagos Project facilities when the KIA Rio on top speed from Lagos Island towards Alapere rammed into the RRS Ford car with registration number RRS 068 LA, thereby bundling it and the officers into a nearby ditch. Four officers of the RRS were seriously injured including the driver of the car in the accident.

As at the time of writing this report, three of the RRS operatives have been discharged from the hospital, while one along with the driver of the speeding vehicle is expected to be discharge later in the day.

Further investigation into the identity of the KIA Rio driver revealed that he just started the car hire services on Friday after leaving the services of a truck driving firm.

It would be recalled that vandals have been ceaselessly tampering with Light Up Lagos cables before the commissioning of the project in April. One Lucky Udeagwu was arrested with a 35 meter long cable meant for the project in Ogudu.

In May, RRS operatives again arrested another suspect, Obaji Christopher, for cutting the project cable at the Ogudu axis. These informed the constant monitoring of the area by the operatives, particularly at night.

Source: RRS

30 comments:

Thank God for dem

Thank God for their lives

Thank God for their lives.

Thank God for their lives. Linda take note!

Donjazzycrush said...

Well, lets hear from the driver too. Police ppl too d lie.

DON~ JAZZYCRUSH

Quick recovery

Busola said...

Would they say the RRS were on speed b4? Well, thank God no life was lost.$

Thank God for their life

Very Sad and I wish the RRS men and the driver speedy recovery. However, the story is following the same pattern of blaming all accidents on over speeding. Who monitored the speed? The Policemen were on surveillance on the express driving slowly on the expressway at 2 am. What do you expect? Of course an accident. Were they on the slow or fast lane? Was their Hazard light on? At what speed is was their slow speed. Anyone driving on that stretch of road would not expect to see a slow moving vehicle because of the robbery between Ogudu and Alapere.
The Police instead of trying to find fault with the driver of the kia should put the blame where it belongs. They were the cause of the accident. They should pay damages to the car Hire driver. We thank God no life was lost. Thank you.

Very Sad and I wish the RRS men and the driver speedy recovery. However, the story is following the same pattern of blaming all accidents on over speeding. Who monitored the speed? The Policemen were on surveillance on the express driving slowly on the expressway at 2 am. What do you expect? Of course an accident. Were they on the slow or fast lane? Was their Hazard light on? At what speed is was their slow speed. Anyone driving on that stretch of road would not expect to see a slow moving vehicle because of the robbery between Ogudu and Alapere.
The Police instead of trying to find fault with the driver of the kia should put the blame where it belongs. They were the cause of the accident. They should pay damages to the car Hire driver. We thank God no life was lost. Thank you. Funmi

Thank God no life was lost..... Second chance to life..... Use wisely

.............. Jesus is Lord.......

Thank God For their lives

THANK GOD FOR THEIR LIFES

AUNTY LINDA....

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

Quick recovery officers

We give God the glory..!!!

Wish them a quick recovery

ThankGod for his life

Thanks to God, happy survival bros #Saved

ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A SUGAR MUMMY OR DADDY PLEASE CALL THIS LINE 08151626086 PLEASE BE
MATURED

Oden'Igbo said...

I hear.
There were inspecting the project indeed.
Those guys drive and behave anyhow on the road because there are on uniform.
Na so them stop tipper in the middle of the 3rd MLB which led to an accident that claim a chara chara 2016 Avalon and a corrolla. Guess what?
They took off. You can't be inspecting and driving at 20km/h in the middle of a road as busy as Lag-Ib exp road by 12am. That's the only time we have to check the power of our V6 engines.

Omg!!

Thank God for saving his people.

Kay said...

Eeyaa sorry for them. Tnk God for their lives.

NaijaTrace.com said...

For more updates on news and updates in the Nigerian community visit www.naijatrace.com

Omg dis is serious,wish dem Quick recovery

It's 9ja cops, so I lack empathy for them, saw damaged vehicle by 2am, sorry for the Kia driver tho - Bane

jamal cojo said...

Genny's Blog said...

Thank God for them.

Thank you Jesus, wish them quick recovery