Is there anything wrong with Mrs Buhari trying to shake hands with Alaafin of Oyo? (Photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 26 June 2016

Is there anything wrong with Mrs Buhari trying to shake hands with Alaafin of Oyo? (Photos)

The Alaafin's official Facebook page shared these photos of Mrs Buhari trying to shake the hands of the Alaafin of Oyo, Oba Lamidi Olayiwola Adeyemi, during an event at University of Maiduguri last week. As you can see, the Alaafin refused to stretch his hands and accept her handshake. Personally, I don't know what it means, but many suggested it was disrespectful for the wife of the president to greet the Alaafin that way...

Ekiti State Governor Ayo Fayose’s media aide, Lere Olayinka, commenting on the photos on Twitter wrote, “Can Aisha Buhari greet the Emir of Daura with a handshake as she is doing here to the Iku Baba Yeye, Alaafin of Oyo?

Another twitter user @segalink, wrote “Sacrilege; how uncouth can you be, trying to shake the Alaafin? Do you shake your Emirs?”

What do you guys think?

Oh and this is what he eventually did...the Alaafin grabbed both hands of Mrs Buhari, in greeting!

125 comments:

1. She suppose to lye down if I were her. She can shake hand of emir, why won't she do the right thing like bending or bowing?

2. as our expresident said all kings are the same in Nigeria .

3. Ofcos it is. She should know that.
    Signed
    #LibBadBoy

4. NEXT

I am Coonett

5. She is not supposed to just like the way they do to their Emir

6. Hope our oba of ife dey see am,dat guy just dey shake hand anyhow,ode.

7. Of course she won't dare to shake the hand of their Emir. Disrespectful thing, And the man in the second picture standing in between be like " oga werin do u no b d same hand u dey use collect brief case .Lol.

8. I don't know biko! Linda take note!

9. their biz. Natural ways to lower the risk of developing cancer.. Read @ www.fortunatusblog.com

10. YES it's wrong.dont just play that woman empowerment shit.its against the yoruba culture.he will only shake a woman who belong to particular realm.i hope u will understand.

11. But he shouldn't have shunned her like that lol

12. Joyous babe,Linda ikeji first cousin26 June 2016 at 10:49

Is because of her pride,she is priding*jennifa's voice.even we igbo DAT doesn't prostrate to greet elders like Yoruba people dose,when u see a king I mean an igwe u need to kneel and bende ur back neck for him to bless u,not bring a hand for handsake she is wrong.arogant fool.

13. Yes every thing is wrong.
    AISHA IS SHOWING THE BEAST IN HER.
    IMAGING HOW SHE SET HER HAND AS CHIEF OR WHAT so no respect again?
    I THOUGHT THAT SHE IS A MUSLIM?UNA DON SEE THAT MUSLIMS LAW ARE ONLY POOR NOT FOR THE RICH ONES.
    THANKS TO ALAAFIN WHO UNDERSTAND.
    Shame to those fools supporting this scam family.

1. SMH at most of the comments here. All quick to play "Our culture, religion, and tradition" cards. I bet when you all see a video recording of how events that lead to these photos, you will cover your heads in shame.
      NB: It was an official event. Not a cultural festival.
      Well done chief judges of federal high court of Culture, Tradition and Religion. #Hypocrite

2. Anon 7.52 can we please have the video that led to these photos? An Oba is a traditional/cultural symbol. Your first Lady should have known better. Does she shake the Emirs in official events? I don't know where you are from, but please this is Africa.

14. Yes every thing is wrong.
    AISHA IS SHOWING THE BEAST IN HER.
    IMAGING HOW SHE Stretch HER HAND AS CHIEF OR WHAT so no respect again?
    I THOUGHT THAT SHE IS A MUSLIM?UNA DON SEE THAT MUSLIMS LAW ARE ONLY POOR NOT FOR THE RICH ONES.
    THANKS TO ALAAFIN WHO UNDERSTAND.
    Shame to those fools supporting this scam family.

15. Yoruba stupid culture, I wish I were not from these yoruba land at all. What's bad in that? Who is the stupid king looking like gbolin. The only bad thing is that a female try to shake male cos it's wrong Islamic. His this beast call king older than the prophet Muhammad? Yet young kid stretch hand to shake the prophet of Allah. Kabiyesi Aladdin oyo, Ori e to daaru. You don't even resemble human. Atoku makku amona orun malo. You ought to have being inject at Jorge.imbecile.

1. Thank God,u are a Muslim,Alaafin too is a Muslim.you are both serving Allah in a confused religion

2. You no be Yoruba, sink your dirty head in your stinky islam. When you wake up, just call your dad by name. Surajuuuuuu. You will remember your first name straight.

3. You no be Yoruba, sink your dirty head in your stinky islam. When you wake up, just call your dad by name. Surajuuuuuu. You will remember your first name straight.

16. For me I don't see anything wrong .We Nigerians are just funny. But am sure she won't shake Emir of Kano or sultan of sokoto so why is she attempting to shake an Alafin. What is her problem? But having said that I think we can shake anyone there is no issues joor

17. I think its all abt CULTURE if not in civilised society who cares who u r.

18. I lik d style of d Oba placing her where she belongs*wink*

19. It's totally wrong and forbidden in almost all the major tribes in Nigeria.. Aisha buhari got it totally wrong in this one.. It might be down to her inexperience..

20. She should have known better, so not cool.

21. She shud have greeted him with a little bow as a show of respect. Am very sure she would have greeted an emir with a bow, she can't tell me she does not know how royalty works since she's been in da corridors of power for a long time now.

22. She carry fire for head na! U wan shake Oba???... Ehehn u for hug am and then kiss am for both cheeks. Mtchwww

23. Who the fuck is he? He should go back to whatever jungle he crawled out off... hypocrite pack well joor

24. Respect to the Alaafin....Royalty in his veins mbok

25. Mrs Halliburton, you don't have respect abi? Thank God for the humiliation

26. We make life too complicated for us.

27. i dont know what she is feeling like this days. dont forget ur place in line. u re still a woman and nothing has change yet.

he will have been the one to offer his hand and not you,,, respect tradition pls

28. Ewu u don't shake a titled man!! It's not allowed in any tribe..

29. Everything is wrong ...first is she he age mate?? ...second doesn't she knows he is a king??

30. Is that what Fayose Aide should get himself concerned with? Its obvious he is jobless. Like I have said in some other fora, the First Lady's protocol officer should be blamed. Did he or she tell her what and what to do she meet the Alaafin? We cant expect her to know all the cultures of all the ethnic groups in Nigeria. Same goes to whenever any president visit any countries,they always have someone on ground to tell them what to do in a particular place. This is not what a jobless aide should get himself concerned with. Sometimes all this people behave as if they never pass through the gate of a school. What if its allowed in some other areas? Did Alaafin complain? No! So why are people make something out of nothing

31. We are rich in culture in Yoruba land and the fact that she is the wife of the President doesn't mean she should be disrespectful. Thank you Kabiyesi , iku baba yeye for not disappointing Yoruba race.

32. Different strikes for different cultures. People should stop being stupid!

33. She should learn other people's culture..It's a sign of disrespect

34. They should keep quiet,its a mistake and the king himself corrected her

35. SHE THINKS THAT IT'S EVERYBODY THAT GIVES A SHIIT WETHER SHE'S THE WIFE OF THE PRESIDENT.

AUNTY LINDA....

36. Nothing wrong, if he doesn't shake women that's his cup of brukutu

37. Enough of all thus silly kings and emirs and obas and obis

38. Oh I see he quickly saved matters by grabbing her both hands

39. Lere olayinka spoke my mind.let her go and shake emir of kano

40. It's not disrespectful since she ranks higher than him. It's just not customary. You can see the smile on his face, he did not find it offensive, so y'all should just let it slide. No need to make a mountain of a mole.

41. Very disrespectful, this is africa,we are not oyinbos,even if she s hausa,apart from the fact that they may not kneel to greet elders,they have a way of respecting them,the alaafin is elder to her(like a father)not to talk of being a first class oba,she should go and learn somethings.she is supposedly the first lady of this country,she should be able to understand somethings about each tribe especially greetings,and then again in Islam,women don't greet elders/men with handshakes,na waa o.

42. Seriously speakin dis buhari wife has no respect....she doesn't deserve to be our first lady....see her urgly face....she talks rudely to my amiable fayose...nw she wan shake my lovely kabiesi hand...den suppose cut dat her yeye hand....linda if u lik chop m comment oooo....i go arrest u wit awon olode

1. Ohh pls shut dat trap n use hypo to clean ur thoughts...stop being sentimental about Lil things. If u cannot support sth good, don't do @ all

43. She doesn't know anything.

44. Linda will u greet the igwe of ur community with a handshake??

45. Wat dere it doesn't mean anything naa na wa ooo. Bk was here!!

1. Yes o nothing is Dere jare in as much u can also stretch out ur hand to shake ur fada too..moron.

46. Oh! She should roll on the floor? As if, if it was Obama's wife,the Alaafin won't stretch out his hands.Anyway,who brought out this news again? Lere who? Fayose’s what? Mtcheeeew! FRESH

47. Will she attempt to shake the hand of the Queen of England if she met her or would she courtesy? I'm beginning to see through Mrs. Buhari..pride is taking over.

48. Yes firstly it is disrespectful! Nigerian home training dictates that it is the older person who stretches their hand first!!!! Not the younger one. SMH money has spoilt good manners.

49. @M.Buhari, control ur wife!!! Let her learn lessons on the correct etiquette in greeting traditional rulers especially one of such high ranking as the Alaafin of Oyo. How dare she attempt to shake hands with the Alaafin? Will she try that with the Emir of Kano? Afraid no dey catch am? Come to think of it, does her religion permit her to shake another man's hand? Abeg make somebody school that woman on proper conduct in the presence of custodians of our cultures

@babe2mama

50. No mind her, she can't greet d emirs like dat o. Linda observe!

51. Alaafi is a wise man that's why he is the Alaafin. He wisely took both hands of the first lady and smiled, but some people will ignore her.
    Long live Alaafi

52. Hypocrisy can never be hidden. Ofcos she cannot try that with the emir of daura. But this shows that the respect isn't in her, but just hypocrisy. A properly brought up child would behave in such manner where ever. Let's set aside politics, Aisha is no better than Patience because she's beginning to portray the same virtues as her predecessor. Can she put our her hand to shake Buhari? Very soon people eyes go begin clear. And the Yorubas will be first.

53. Evryfin is wrong with it... Firstly, it's a sign of rudeness to elder in Yoruba land let alone to His Royal Majesty. Secondly,is that hw they greet the Emirs? Lastly, take for example, if u try to check Ur in-law in Yoruba or elders, it shows u lack manners nd sign of disrespect of the highest order. Therefore, its rude for her to try to shake the alaafin of Oyo.

54. ****************************yoruba piiiiipo!!!!! una too over do biko ******* timid tribe ******** wox wrong wit a woman giving hand shake to a man ************ okwe n'aka gini emee!?????????? hair gi grow for Tuface head????????????? ndi ara**********

1. No My dear,, u r wrong! Even in igbo land, as a woman, u can't stretch forth ur hands to shake ur elder (man).. Men don't even shake women,, they pat dem on their backs. If an igbo man approaches a gathering (of say 5 men, 2 women), he shakes the men, and pat the women on their shoulder side/back,, or simply wave at them. Pls get ur facts. I'm igbo,,, it's not done!

2. God bless u for this pieces Lambert u earn moi respect.leave that fool alone to sprout nonsense ...no tribe will take that it's just common sense .

55. She should know better
    How many times has d husband shook hands with d opposite sex?
    Let her be forming 1st lady of Africa

56. Very uncouth! Northern Muslim women don't even shake men. Can she stretch out her hands to the Sultan of Sokoto. Buhari is already complaining of her excesses, Cus it's any time he travels shes always gallivanting. Yeye woman.

57. Dis nt hand shake dis is salute

1. Mrs Buhari is an arrogant Bitch, she has no respect for other people's culture. Her Daughter is not cultured at all.

Power intoxicates, they will not rule forever.

58. Nothing joor....muslim mentality

59. Why would she want to shake his hands datz rude.the king is wiser tho

60. Well...

61. Is she that dumb not to know what is right from what is wrong? so disrespectful of her, lets even put royalty aside, is he not old enough to be atleast her uncle or even father? i wonder how Nigerians manage to vote this people in...I reserve rest of my comment

62. This first lady thing has enter this woman head too much sha.and she's pretending she's not firstlady.What is disrespectful is the way she just stretched hand to a ruler Haba.this woman will be worse than patience,at least patience made me laugh.Time will tell.Linda Take Note!!!

63. This first lady thing has enter this
    woman head too much sha.and she's
    pretending she's not firstlady.What
    is disrespectful is the way she just
    stretched hand to a ruler Haba.this
    woman will be worse than patience,at
    least patience made me laugh.Time
    will tell.Linda Take Note!!!

64. This first lady thing has enter this
    woman head too much sha.and she's
    pretending she's not firstlady.What
    is disrespectful is the way she just
    stretched hand to a ruler Haba.this
    woman will be worse than patience,at
    least patience made me laugh.Time
    will tell.Linda Take Note!!!

65. She should sack all ur protocol people. It is their duty to find out before hand what the proper protocol is. Its embarrassing

1. Exactly. Why anyone would think she was trying to be disrespectful...

66. Put her in check real quick! OG Lamidi...

67. I think this attitude should have a penalty,cos it's sacrilegious and Mrs aisha buari must be made to compile. Its ridiculously uncultural and non feminine undemoculture.

68. Iku baba yeye....Eni ti won le bo leyin to le ara iwaju..ko is eni to je gbe ina woju ekun...

69. That's what you will get (disgrace) if you don't follow God's rulings. Why will you shake a man? Could you have greeted him?

70. This woman is one hell of an arrogant being. No respect at all.

71. All those stories going around is shit, this is how it is who is this your Alaafin? Abeg go sit down, the first picture there is this greetings that the northernas do (rangadada) rangadada, means someone who is higher than you in every ways, the woman saying no don't greet me like that sir give me a hand shake , this una Alaafin who is looking for connection from high places na him go turn the first lady hand shake down, where you think they get money to live the lives they living with 30 something wives, after all we all know that he and his people never voted for Buhari, he said so when GEJ went to his palace with bags of $$$ he said he I'm and his town will support GEJ for president, that APC can never get his vote on the national level, so he's trying to make things right by all means, that una mumu so call King

72. She is very arrogant . *hiss*

73. Please some cultures are not meant to kneel or bow for anybody. It does not mean they don't have respect .

74. I thought Muslim women weren't supposed to shake hands with men? Yeye just dey smell anyhow.

75. It was a human error. In Onitsha where I come from, not only the King (Agbogidi) but his top cabinet chiefs do not shake hands with anyone. I think it was an oversight - someone should have instructed Mrs Buhari.

76. There is no English word for "Osuba". The two hands hands clasped together with the hands of the Alaafin wrapped around them. That is an appropriate sign of respect.

77. I think with this attitude she should be tried in there Muslim- SHARIAH court bcus ordinarily a Muslim woman is wrong religiously by extending hands of fellowship to another man in form of greeting or otherwise...

78. God bless Alaafin. Na that Ooni cos make Aisha to try this rubbish !

79. I was raised knowing that women courtesy as a mark of respect and a sign of solid upbringing. I guess the western ways caught up with our First Lady. If only she quickly knelt, it would be stooping to conquer. Let's teach our kids something worth learning.

80. How would she know what to do when she wasn't told? Different culture backgroung.

81. hrm paul ojeih26 June 2016 at 15:57

Her handlers should have told her u don't shake d hand of an oba wat should avdone wasbow herhead and say kabiesi or igwe or eze.then d monarch will lift her up and clasp her hand.hand shake is a foreign culture

82. Hahhahaha She don de get show down... small time now we will prefer Mama Peace. Na the same Naija we de

83. Etiquette zero. Even I know that kneeling down would have been the best option. Let him be the one to stretch his hand for a handshake not the other way round.

84. If na hilary or Michelle e go shake
    Double standard

85. Rubbish. Stupid woman!

86. Rubbish. Stupid woman!

87. Let her go and help her husband to fix the economy and stop the wakawaka.

88. Let her go and help her husband to fix the economy and stop the wakawaka.

89. A Yoruba greeting for the king after kneeling is 'osuba' I.e. bringing you two hands together and twist it in a funny way. Then the king will grab it like the Alaafin did. So he corrected her without all these lash that FB dey give the woman. Like someone said, its her aides who is to let her know the culture of wherever she is visiting................. thank you.

90. What else do you expect from someone who called a serving governor a "mad dog"? she obviously has something missing somehow in her manners!

91. Her protocol officers didn't do a good job here, she should have been tutored on what is acceptable. Besides Mrs. Buhari as an African woman should know this basic diversity in cultures.

92. I think Aisha was in her period and want to shake Oba hands and the Oba dodged it ...Lol

93. You see, JESUS CHRIST will shake hands with any one

94. Lol. Well personally I think she should have just prostrated to greet him. Because he can as well be old enough to be her dad or husband. And truth be told she can't greet their Emir that way. But then civilization has taken over and those kind of respects are no longer there for royalty. So my judgement is. The wife of the president should learn to respect the ruler of other places as she would reaped hers and her aids should be able to tell her in a case of next time. So she won't repeat it. That's my judgement. *shouts LIB*

****LIB JUDGE ****

95. SMH at most of the comments here. All quick to play "Our culture, religion, and tradition" cards. I bet when you all see a video recording of events that lead to these photos, you will cover your heads in shame.
    NB: It was an official event. Not a cultural festival.
    Well done chief judges of federal high court of Culture, Tradition and Religion. #Hypocrite

96. You do not shake or touch a Yoruba or Benin Oba unless he extended a handshake

97. There is nothing wrong if she shake the hands.

98. Nice picture. That is an oba right there...

Hi, nice stuffs you may need

2 bedroom apartment for rent in ibafo. http://ojp.me/-tk46

Mason Natural CQ - 10 - With ... http://ojp.me/klpqw

99. Wrong! is not possible. He is a tittled man.

100. Her protocol team should have known and advised her on the proper way to have greeted the Royal
    Father.

101. its just lack of communication. she shud have asked how to greet an Oba. normally , women dont shake men in this part of the world, where tradition is upheld. just bow and greet chikena. if the man stretches his hand fine.

102. Abeg u people shld stop taking panadol for another person's headache.
    @ Precious Oluchi, 11:26am....u just talked rubbish, smh for you. it is women like you that make men to look down at other women

103. When you marry your ancestor, you lose some manners! Am sure the silly woman would have knelt down if it was during campaign. Her husband needs to curb her excesses. Its getting too much...before she go begin call press conference too. Nonesense!