World Health Organization ranks Onitsha the most polluted city in the world | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 13 May 2016

World Health Organization ranks Onitsha the most polluted city in the world

According to this database released by the World Health Organization today, Onitsha, Anambra state is ranked the most polluted city in the world. Aba and Umuahia also made the list.

85 comments:

1. We now have proof as to which tribe is the dirtiest in Nigeria.

1. Hehehehehehehe. This sounds funny! Why is there no yoruba state there since people always say they are the dirtiest.

2. Igbo kwenu!!!!!! I hear dey dislike washing up after a visit to the loo... they'd rather use toilet paper to wipe off! Okbye

3. Its no surprise. Linda take note!

4. This comment has been removed by the author.

5. I advise that people "understand" the headline b4 globalising their ignorance. There's a a clear diff between polluted and dirty(hence d diff in their spelling).

6. Chai, polluted as in pollution not population nne! And pollution isn't all about filth, there're different types of pollutants, noise, gas emissions etc cause enviromental pollution

2. NA LIE UNA DE TOK

1. What a spurious ranking! It's very unfortunate that WHO is not knowledgeable enough as to the factors that contribute to pollution. Placing Onitsha as the worst city in the world in terms of pollution says a lot about the mental capacity of the people that made up the ranking. How many industries do we have in Onitsha that generate such magnitude of pollution for it to be ranked no 1 in the world? They left out cities in China and India where u cannot see beyond your nose at times to place Onitsha at the top of the ranks. You got to be kidding me. Secondly, what is the population of the people in Onitsha? The city does not even have up to 5 percent of lagos population, yet, it was ranked above lagos. It is my summation that this ranking is fake, but if it's not fake, the person/s that compiled it need to have their heads examined. I'm too educated to be deceived.

Chyke
      City: Unknown

3. My own town, God go punish dem.

1. Wow really . Whr in Osha r u frm . Dats my home town too

4. Huh! Not Kano or Lagos but Onitsha?? They should make a proper research biko.

5. Meanwhile some fools will say yoruba are dirty una don see now.

6. i thought the Igbos love to say that the Yoruba's are the dirtiest

7. This is so true. In Onitcha Rats and humans co-habit!! The Governor has tried but the people are unrepentant.

8. Aside Enugu, other eastern part of Nigeria is a huge mess,lord,abia state has the worstest roads in all of Nigeria.. Yet they're fighting for biafra..funny how people can't see the main problems, they'd rather pursue the wind! Hold your governors responsible!!!

1. Shut up if you don't know what to say. "Worstest roads" and you have the audacity to criticise Biafran agitators! We want Biafra because we want people like you to be properly educated and not use 'expo' which is the hallmark of Nigeria's educational system

2. Awesome reply...

3. U r probably disillusion. Enugu is cool based on past glory. Anambra has d best road network in west Africa. U cn check it out ur sef. Bsides, osha is a damn big city, go to ibadan and try to compare it with osha. Anambra gov is d best gov in naija snc 1999. Find out 4 ur sef.

4. You are agitating for biafra, I hope you didn't post this from Lagos cos you will be kicked out to your village real quick. That's the meaning of what you are fighting for

5. "Anambra has the best road network in West Africa"? You'll never see people from Akwa Ibom,Calabar and Enugu making noise about good roads, its only you chest beaters whose roads is filled with dirt and patches will be making noise about good roads and be hailing ur clueless governor. You should go and argue with WHO and stop ranting here...ana-ako nonsense

6. Is it paining you much? Anambra has the best road network in Nigeria. It means unlike you who rarely go to your village due to bad or non existent roads, Anambra indigenes can easily move about within and outside the state.

9. Wow. That's not a good record.
    #lindaobserve!!!

10. Lolz. In d world?

11. This got me lol! Hope the Governor acts positively #HealthisWealth #CantShout

12. Hahaha.
    I agree!
    Nigeria dirty no be small!

Cleanliness begins with you! Use a bin always!

13. End time world healthy organization.
    If onitsha is the most polluted place what will abia state be?
    Abia is no 1 why Lagos state is no 2 why onitsha is no 3.
    Abia governor is a criminal.

14. That may be true since the coming of the new govt of obiano, onitsha was clean during Peter obi era,

15. Wow, so igbo's r dirty like this. Lmao shame

16. Fantastically lie... Fantastically lie...

If this was 5yrs ago, I would have agreed.
    But Onitsha now is more clean than ever, even more clean than the city of whoever made that statistics

17. WHO isnt far from the truth..

18. They shuld come to Abia
    Onitsha dey learn for Abia

19. WHO must be living in the past. I can confidently tell them that their analysis is wrong
    Signed
    #LibBadBoy

20. You're joking, HAHAHHA!

21. Dem no lie at all

22. Igbo people are so dirty.. We go soon pursue dem comot for Lagos before dem cme dirty am for us..

23. they should visit onitsha before rating (untrue)

24. it is largely particulate matter and all it says it that onitsha is dirtier than lagos. i doubt they have data for opm in more than 6 cities in Nigeria

25. LAGOS IS THE MOST POPULATED.

26. Shows the caliber of governors we have in the states. Bios are dirty i know, lived with them for years and they are all the same.

27. Lol is not true, Lagos is d most populated

28. No Nigeria city is among dirtiest city in the world. WHO is only talking about air pollution and title is "Over Three Million Lives Lost to Air Pollution Annually - WHO"

1. How come it's only u that got d message. Everyother person is just blabbing n hating

29. Though I hv not visited Onitsha bt WHo rated most air polluted cities not dirtiest cities.

30. Ehn... dem no lie na... shey dem dey lie ni?

31. Na aba be number one.I disagree to agree with WHO

32. I took a close look at d list and noticed dat Kaduna comes b4 Aba and Umuahia but u didnt mention it in ur reort. An oversight I guess... but na wa o Nigeria has 4 cities on dat list! I rest my case!!!

33. They are talking about pollution from smoke fumes from machines like generators and cars, which can easily be tracked using satellite images not human untidiness. Nigerians are surprisingly illiterate in many ways!

34. They are talking about pollution from smoke fumes from machines like generators and cars, which can easily be tracked using satellite images not human untidiness. Nigerians are surprisingly illiterate in many ways!

35. They are talking about pollution from smoke fumes from machines like generators and cars, which can easily be tracked using satellite images not human untidiness. Nigerians are surprisingly illiterate in many ways!

36. They are talking about pollution from smoke fumes from machines like generators and cars, which can easily be tracked using satellite images not human untidiness. Nigerians are surprisingly illiterate ion many ways!

37. I tink ders a diff bitwin most "polluted" and most "dirty". Abeg...go skol una go dey jump Window dey go play koroso. It cud b noise pollution wch is d most likely element dt constituted dt research. I min. Two popular Saudi Arabia states r der also, dt sud tel u alot. Lagos is still D dirtiest state in Nigeria, blv it or nt.

38. World health organization. take time

39. For a sec there, I thought it was population,but since its pollution! Then d governor better get it 'acts' togehter!

40. It's a lie if they mean the most polluted cities; but it is fairly true if they mean the most dirtiest cities! Everyone knows that Beijing and Shanghai are the most polluted cities in the world judging from the number of cars and industries that emits carbon monoxide into the atmosphere! Lagos is no doubt the most polluted city in the Nigeria!

Talking about the most dirtiest cities in Nigeria, Lagos and Abeokuta comes first before others such as Aba! The case of Aba is that they dispose their waste in gutters and middle of the road! The waste management board hardly do their job promptly! But saying that Onisha is the most polluted or dirtiest city in the world is really fake! I was at Onisha recently and the place is neat and changed!

I suspect that this list must have been compiled by a yorobber person! You know they always like to be dishonest in everything they do!!!

41. Na wa o...so much illiteracy...pollution doesn't necessarily mean physical dirt

42. CLEMENT OKONTA
    I DONT BELIEVE THAT OOOO LIE LIE

43. Calabar and UYO clean dia

44. WHO is fantastically given us 4yrs ago record..if you speak of Abia I can even try to listen but this is fantastically lie

45. Onitsha may be dirty but not even the dirtiest in Nigeria let alone the world. On what basis is their classification?

1. Lmao Linda this ur blog visitors no go school o, they said polluted not dirtiest😂😂

46. you omitted Kaduna oh, its in the list too oh.

47. Yes, environmental irresponsibility on the part of the government and the masses constitutes to this report. Aba's pollution is not in question considering that the gateways to Aba smacks of decadence. We dont have a good recycling system yet solid waste; bio and nonbiodegradable; combustible and non combustible waste material seem to cover everywhere. The toxicity of Aba has reached its alarming proportion. We live in filth and only God can help us if at all the current government can match words with action. As for Onitsha, the governor is trying hard to fix it. One lamentable thing about this report is that both the cities of Aba and Umuahia are in my state of Abia. I seriously wonder the amount of clean up that will make my Aba clean again. WHO has its calibrated indices or indicator of determining this, it is a major concern as people here die of treatble diseases one can only wonder what effect(s) living in unsanitary conditions can do to the health of rural dwellers and urban settlers.

48. Yoruba pple r so shameless.But y? 1st of all u dnt know d diff btw "Poluted" n "Dirtiest". U come 2 dis Public channel to tell pple abt ibos not using tissue paper 2 cleanup after using d loo,while u pple use water + d same hands u eat wth.U infect pple wth typhoid fever when u cook n dish food 4 dem in ur buka,if u run one.Pple jus dey manage d food to sustain till dey get home,no b say Una sabi cook.Who does dat? Na so oyibo teach una? Every1 in naija knows u pple r d dirtiest tribe.So make una no come dey run una mouth here. *still hissing*

1. Lmao Abeg thank you o, imagine this illiterates don't know the difference between polluted and dirtest😂😂😂

2. Really illiterates...you're so ignorant y'all...of course Chinese cities are the most polluted and they are not up there...

49. Pollution is an ambiguous word,so dear writer,be specific

50. hey are talking about pollution from smoke fumes from machines like generators and cars, which can easily be tracked using satellite images not human untidiness. Nigerians are surprisingly illiterate ion many ways!

51. Yorubas are the dirtiest, very un-hygienic people !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Now we know that Yorubas are the dirtiest for real. ONITSHA, ABA & UMUAHIA are cities in Yorubaland lol... The funny thing is that these people got explanation and excuse for everything. One knucklehead is even trying to differentiate between Pollution and dirtiness. China which is one of the most industrial nation is there, but Onitsha got the award. You better tell your people to stop living the piggy lifestyle.