At age 61, I can’t marry a poor man- Former Nigerian top model, Yemi Fawaz says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 15 May 2016

At age 61, I can’t marry a poor man- Former Nigerian top model, Yemi Fawaz says

Former Nigerian top fashion and photography model, Yemi Fawaz, who made headlines in the 90s, says at 61, she can't get married to a man who is not financially buoyant. In a recent interview with The Sun, Yemi, who ended her career as a model in 1997 after relocating to the US with her daughter Tobi, says she was never married to a billionaire as was speculated after her relocation.

"There was a rumour that I was married to a white billionaire, but I won’t marry out of Christ. If I don’t meet a born again Christian, I don’t think I will marry. Don’t forget that age doesn’t really count before God, before God there is no age. The bible says a thou­sand years before God is like a year. That means God doesn’t work with age. Sarah had a baby at 70+ and at that time Sarah had reached menopause but God gave her a baby. There is nothing God cannot do if God really says I’m going to be married. If I’m going to be married, the man must be a free-hearted man like me, who loves people, who is ready to use his money to help people. I give God all the glory that I have never been married and I have never been divorced. But now, I’m married to Jesus. If the man comes, if he’s a good-hearted man, he must be rich too. At age 61 I can’t marry a poor man and I’m not a gold digger. I’ll tell him sweet­heart, can I have $5,000 and then he starts to ruffle through his pockets saying “No, I can afford that money”. A man can’t live off me. For me to marry a man and he’s living off me? No way. I’m not one of those women. The man will marry me. Not me to marry the man. But women of today they marry the man. That’s why women are not respected any longer. I won’t marry a man. The man will marry me, you will marry me with your money and with your love. Before I had my baby, maybe Tobi wouldn’t have come. If God converted me the way He converted me now, I would not have had a baby out of wedlock. But at that time, I was in the world, I didn’t know the difference. I was an unbeliever, I was a con­venient Christian in Africa where we have 2, 3 or 4, boyfriends at a time. If I was a Chris­tian then, it couldn’t have happened"she said

61 comments:

Issokay,wsh her de best

I wish her all d best

I love you ma! You are of a sound mind and have value. God bless for speaking the valuable truth.

Adaobi said...

Mummy biko don't kill me with laughter

Chika said...

Linda your headline connotes the wrong perception. Pls be clear and cut and stop sensitising words to get people to read your blog. She said it yes but the circumstance surrounding her saying it, isn't how you have portrayed it to me. This is my own personal opinion.

Dee Tee said...

She's making wise decisions though,i dont blame her at all.

At 61years old you are still giving options. Sorry is your last name. This means that you are not seeking for love but wealth.
This article was just a waste of my time.

Do u tink a buoyant man can come ur way wit ur age,61 years is nt 61 days,moreover every man wit a means needs fresh baby! Lol

All d best!

Who even see her, mcheeeeeeeew! Linda take note!

With the sanctimonious way she's talking, where did she get her daughter from since she's not a divorcee and has never been married?

cutestlove said...

You are right ma.

I have hear.

Rich man at 61yrs? May God help u

This woman nai noise maker,sixty yrs still with gibberish talk

Good for her.

Shut up woman!! Even a poor man wouldn't marry ur old ass..

no one wants ur old hag ass anyways...

She should wait till Christ come nah

Final said...

This attitude of covering questionable acts with the born again tag is getting old. Just say you like the finer or worldly thing and leave Jesus out of it.

Don K said...

Make she dey like that, At 61 You still dey dream of getting married to rich man, You dey fool yourself..

Oh oh

KWEEN said...

Oh wow. Thank Jesus you are born again. But mummy, just get a boy toy like Kris Jenner and forget about marriage o.

Then, get ready to die single.

GLOWREEYAH said...

If at 61 u haven't gotten a rich man Yemi u get bad head jst to to osun river and wash of those Jerry curls lol

nawtibae said...

Who go marry you sef

Who will marry u at 61?they there they encourage ur self.

Lolly said...

What an incoherent talk...

A vagina now qualifies females to be treated specially but they wouldn't/can't do this first. Beware of pride!

This isn't love as it doesn't do to others as it expects others to do to them. Change for better woman and all others that think this way...

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Hmmmmmmm. All is well m'aam.

I'm loving this Mama and her philosophy.

Buchi said...

I think her story should be big lesson to every single women out there, if you don't want to be alone for the rest of your life better start treating your guys right. However I don't think any normal thinking man would marry a 61yrs old woman not when his mother is alive.

Ollie 78 said...

God bless you darling. Just stay the way you are and love yourself because you don't need the wahala of these undone babies running around in the so called name of men.

u are so right @chika imidietle I saw that post I was lk imagine these old woman but after reading all she said I now understand her, not only linda all bloggers does that. they capture d part that attracts readers, stelledimokokus is the highest,lk d last time she said funky akindele got married just to attract attention and after reading d post i realise it was in her new movie, linda don't even do it as often as other bloggers.

are u sure u read or u just follow d headlines? nonsense stern. when will u even shave?

valushi said...

Is Linda begging you to read her blog? What with all these envy of Linda everywhere, even in her blog.

Musingsofjudgejudyjudy..... said...

I love her already! Calling the shots, plus, she is quite a catch for 61!

Those encouraging you at 61 are your true follower. Maybe u need a twitter handle Bcos birds like you needs to follow your pencil dreams. Anything can happen though. At 61, u are pleasant joker

Mr or mrs anonymous havnt u ever heard of pepple having kids out of wedlock? Lol u r funny

I met this lady personally, she is a sweet loving person, and she is truly born again christian. Well she said what she wants, so whom so ever will come to her, should respect her wishes. Why settle at dat age.

Lol the koko is to get u to read the news and she did it job well done.

I guess she doesn't know that she is fully depreciated, and her market fair value is valueless to most men. She might and i mean might get someone to marry her if she refurbish her face and look

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!! This is too much. But just incase you don't get it let me quickly break it down for you....madam your time has passed. Hope this clarifies. Bless

Yetty k said...

Pretty woman.linda aw u take knw dis woman sef

beautiful woman, looks younger than 61

"At age 61 I can’t marry a poor man and I’m not a gold digger."

Linda uses sensational headlines at times, but not in this case. The woman clearly said she can't marry a poor man, but she had her reasons. So its left for you to read and find out what her reasons are.

Mama it is wel wit ur soul, even my 70 yr old moda can stil marry

Bertoli said...

Funny womsn. She rly sounds luke sm1 who hasnt been married b4.
If i was her daughter i eont find dis article funny, so she means d gal was a mistake child naa. Imagine.
As 4 marrying rich man, its like she thinks we are still in the 90s. Wake up woman..
Sexy young ladies like lynda neva marry yet its now u. Dreamer oshi

Not all who call me, Lord, Lord are my true children...by their actions you shall know my real followers, says the Risen Christ.

Dominic Ohanaka said...

Madam u sound like u are still one leg in the world. At 61 u are still talking about husband and with specifications too. I like u sha, don't worry before u are 90 your victim will come.

I remember her from waysback. Cool!

Fcvk

oluchi said...

Let's her keep on waiting

Lol... nothing surprise me again!
grandma... at age 61, should you be thinking of marrying anyone??

SCARFACE

Adongerrit... Is she still thinking of getting married at 61?
Madam, please just live for CHRIST and forget about the desires of the flesh. Period!

Hehehe.. LWKMD. ..old mama..continuing with the same attitude that brought her here.. girls who never quit chasing after rich men and fail to realize that you can build wealth together with a man, end up like her at 61..d funny part is they never change and never learn too..soon she will be looking for rich hubby for her daughter.

Hehehe.. LWKMD. ..old mama..continuing with the same attitude that brought her here.. girls who never quit chasing after rich men and fail to realize you can build wealth together with a man end up like her at 61..d funny part is they never change and never learn too..soon she will be looking for rich hubby for her daughter.

she should wait and marry jesus now!after 61yrs she is still loking for man to marry so that she will enjoy what she has been missing.

No market for your shop again....Pls go sit don when catch dem young yapa ni igboro