The students started demonstrating after a list of suspected rapists on campus was leaked on social media on Sunday.
Many students, who were raped on campus said they have reported rapes to the university as well as police, but that their complaints have been ignored by campus authorities, the BBC reported.

On Tuesday afternoon female students danced topless with some writing 'this is mine' on their breasts to show only they can decide to do with their bodies.
On Wednesday, more than 200 students were attacked with rubber bullets and pepper spray and stun grenades by police officers who were trying to disperse the crowd even after the vice chancellor of the University had begged the police to stop attacking his students.
Eastern Cape police arrested five students during the protest . They were later released without bail and are due to re-appear on charges of public violence in July.
According to Naledi Mashishi of the Students Representative Council, five students were arrested and one hospitalised after police fired stun grenades and rubber bullets at them.
Members of the Students Representative Council said they will only stop if they are assured "no protester will face disciplinary action or be penalised for participating in the protests”.
University lecturers have also joined in the demonstration.
National Education, Health and Allied Workers’ Union told Eyewitness News : “We decided to join the strike of the students because of the brutality of the police.
"We can’t watch our children being treated the way they were yesterday; so we took a decision that it’s too much now."The protests are now being wound down as university staff agree to set up a task force to research the allegations.
Lectures are due to resume nextbMonday.
According to statistics released, South Africa has the highest number of rapes in the world.

Only south Africans can do this
ReplyDeleteThat's terrible... Those guys are simply devilish #Sic
DeleteLol. But they're attracting them more with this nakedness now
Delete#LIB ADDICT#
Nawaoo yokozunas....jisinu ike
ReplyDeleteRape is a horrible thing.
ReplyDeleteYour comment will be visible after approval.
Godtakeover
ReplyDeleteAre they not attracting them the more with their nakedness? Indirectly telling the rapist to be prepared for this. Nemesis ll catch up on dis ppl soon. LINDA TAKE NOTE II
ReplyDeleteLet them protest naked then I will know they are serious.
ReplyDeleteThey should stop indecent dressing.
Nelly from portharcourt want to show you her clean pussy
Alright
ReplyDeleteSigned
#LibBadBoy
I see no reason why the police should be arresting and charging the angry protesters to court whereas they didn't do their job by arresting the wicked rapists beforehand..
ReplyDelete#Sorry_Scene. I hope the protesters gets justice
Long Live LIb!!!
I hope something urgent will be done by the approrpiate authorities to stop this ugly trend going on in the school.
ReplyDelete. ~BONARIO~says so via NOKIA LUMIA
Highest number of rape in the world? Na so e dey do sa men for body ni? Lol
ReplyDeleteToo bad na...
ReplyDeleteEyahhhh! Is sad
ReplyDeletePpl always looking 4 a slight chance 2b nude
ReplyDelete-D great anonymous now as Vivian Reginalds
Ok. Rape everywhere.
ReplyDeleteLIB ADDICT#just passing#
Is it by posting topless that d rape will stop? Nigerian babes can't do this lol.
ReplyDeleteVery sad how a man born of a woman and has sisters also can be do cruel to rape a female. Wicked world.
Some men are animals
Rape is bad and should be condemned in its totality
ReplyDeleteSouth Africans and rape.....
ReplyDeleteHmmm!#Lindangwanu#
ReplyDeleteAll the best to dem. Linda take note!
ReplyDeleteThis rape thing Ehen but this girls try sha.
ReplyDeleteSouth African men are beast. Why rape wen u can easily get a girlfriend
ReplyDeleteBecause South African men are lazy and drunkard who can't do nothing for themselves!!!
DeleteHmm.
ReplyDeleteSee How often you should have Sex and how to last longer
When you speak out, the world listens and you get help....SayNoToAbuse
ReplyDeleteThe rate at which rapist and rape is spreading like wide fire is alarming, the Government, public and private sector need to arrest and attack this epidemic before us
ReplyDeleteRape is one very traumatic experience a lady can go through. And the aftermath is usually irreparable. My heart bleeds when no justice is rendered for such heinous crime. Girls its good y'all stood up to this evil, but y'all didn't need to go topless tho.
ReplyDeleteNice move.
ReplyDeleteSee video of how this man f*cked his daughters very hard
Pls, can't women protest without going nude? Can't they make their point without stripping? This is so so wrong!
ReplyDeleteHian! Dat far?
ReplyDelete...merited happiness
How can protesting top less help their cause now
ReplyDeleteHmmmmm
ReplyDeleteNawa ooooo
Highest in the whole world
In south Africa,I'm not surprise at all
ReplyDeleteSA ladies sha.
ReplyDeleteAnyone caught raping should be sentenced to death! No jail term! Death!
ReplyDeleteFor Nigerian histories, cultures, current affairs and lifestyle, visit www.oldnaija.wordpress.com
Top less? And the guys would see the most amazing of them boobs and rape them the more? Can't they protest with clothes on?
ReplyDelete#Lindas bae
Some women use every little opportunity to go topless and advertise their bundles.
ReplyDeleteOpportunity for indecency...let d rape stop anyway
ReplyDeleterap is not good oh
ReplyDeleterap is not gud oh
ReplyDeletesome men are animal and they never seize to display it
ReplyDeleteI doubt that analysis that South Africa has the highest rape cases in the world. What happened to India which is the rape capital of the world.
ReplyDeleteY dis now? My God 4give them
ReplyDeleteLinda approve me oooo
ReplyDeleteY dis now? My God 4give them
ReplyDeleteYes South Africa...the capital of Africa's whoredom
ReplyDeleteHMMMMMMMMMM
ReplyDeleteIn south Africa,I'm not surprise at all
ReplyDeleteas much as I hate rape i also advice ladies to please dress well. As human beings our level of self control is different
ReplyDeleteSo now this is the answer?
ReplyDeleteRubbish
ReplyDeleteViberTechs NIG PLC
Just reading cases of rape makes my stomach turn!those involved should be given a death sentence !how dare U treat a woman like that!if you can't control Ur stupid urge y not go home and violate Ur mother if U truly av no respect for women!if U can't do that to Ur mothers,leave those innocent girls alone!pathetic dogs!