With the increasing rate of kidnapping, Betty Irabor advises parents to rethink posting photos of their children online | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 10 March 2016

With the increasing rate of kidnapping, Betty Irabor advises parents to rethink posting photos of their children online

Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of Genevieve Magazine, Betty Irabor has advised parents to be cautious and to think twice before posting their children's photos online, as they could unknowingly be putting their children at risk. Below is what she wrote:
"With all the kidnapping going on, parents may need to think twice before posting pictures of their kids on social media.
I once saw a picture posted by an actor of himself and daughter in school uniform. I knew the school uniform because my daughter attended the same school. Imagine if someone wanted to kidnap that child; they know where to lay siege. Let's exercise restraint when posting family pictures as well as the information we inadvertently provide to those who may be predators"

68 comments:

1. All dis ogun, osun kidnappers n rituals..
    Dat pyton wil swallow una all

Foolish fools

2. I go with her, it gives the kidnappers clearer link for their mission, parents be wise!

3. Hmmm I have some reservations about her suggestion, we can't allow criminals and evil elements determine how we live our lives for us.

4. WOW! SO BRILLIANT! THIS IS A VERY USEFUL PIECE OF INFORMATION!

5. She's so right..... Ima ife nwanyi oma. Dalu....

LIB Celebrity

6. You are right dear...we have heartless people in this country so parents rethink.

7. Nice one from her. Linda take note!

8. I wonder why people post all their life info on line + pics to back up,it doesn't make sense

9. This advice make sense

PEPSI ADDICT

10. True true talk my dear how will they stop when social media has taking over them when some useless parents don't do without social media this is just the begining.
    Only God will stop this end time project the devil invent in the name of social media that has cause harm more than good.
    I hope all yoruba bitches are reading this.

1. Is your mother mad??? Why don't you think before you make comments?? Anuofia!

11. Beautiful mama, sane advise

12. I don't quite agree with you on dis ma'am....

13. People are more concerned aboit showing up and keeping up appearances than they are of their safety.

14. Thank u mama for that point

15. Replies
    1. Tell them if they will listen.. Every parents especially our so called celebrity parents now want their children on social media.. They have no privacy anymore..

16. Well said...Kudos to u Betty

17. No ma! kidnapping will happen whether you post pictures or not! OK, so because boko haram is in the north we shouldn't go to market anymore because they will throw bomb there?

18. We are coming for you Mrs iraboh

19. Nice one. Thank u ma

20. Good message Ma please tell them o

21. True talk sis. Those that have ear, let them hear.

22. Madam Betty,your plastic surgeon is good oh!

23. Even our own selfies. That is why I don't post of myself on ig, fb and other places.

24. Linda's goddaughter10 March 2016 at 22:53

Adao'bi please pretend that you are literate. She is just advising and suggesting a way to curb the high rate of kidnapping. Yes they may come up wit other means, which we pray not to happen. But do this first. Period!

1. Madam! @ Lindas goddaughter, good advice alright but this is Nig. Kidnappers do not use your info gotten online. They are most likely your neighbour, or contracted by them. So please already. Madam literate!

25. That's the right thing to do, nice one

miimi's diary  

26. There's a lady, her job everyday is to post her son's photos on instagram so that people will be praising her son and that makes her day. People should desist from that, it might affect the child growing up, because you've exposed them a lot, shared their bathing pictures, feeding pictures everything about them is on the internet. By the time they find out that they're internet and instagram child stars, they might not have a normal child hood.Check out most of the child stars like Miley Cyrus, Lindsay Lohan, Brittany stars. Again some people are very envious and wicked, they might not like that your child is better than theirs and look for spiritual means of hurting the innocent child. Please all these instagram stay at home moms, look for something else to keep yourselves busy,protect these kids.
    Linda try and post this, it's important.

27. There's a lady, her job everyday is to post her son's photos on instagram so that people will be praising her son and that makes her day. People should desist from that, it might affect the child growing up, because you've exposed them a lot, shared their bathing pictures, feeding pictures everything about them is on the internet. By the time they find out that they're internet and instagram child stars, they might not have a normal child hood.Check out most of the child stars like Miley Cyrus, Lindsay Lohan, Brittany stars. Again some people are very envious and wicked, they might not like that your child is better than theirs and look for spiritual means of hurting the innocent child. Please all these instagram stay at home moms, look for something else to keep yourselves busy,protect these kids.
    Linda try and post this, it's important.

28. Noooo ah why? Continue posting haba. Mschewwwww!

29. Oh please. She needs to shut up. That is a dummy statement. If you allow people dictate how you live your life, you have automatically made them your god. They have crippled you and you are living according to their standards and instructions. They are not God and should not have you fashion your own life and way of thinking to match theirs. We should not be imprisoned by evil minded folks

30. Nice 1, abeg tell dem. Linda observe!

31. My dear I had to call my husband to order last year. He's a Facebook addict. Anyway thank God he saw reason with me

32. Oh! why disturb urself sister Betty? Allow them. They should keep doing that.

33. Nice one Betty,
    But all the same, we might have been guilty at one point of posting family pictures online, My thinking is, this will imply removing all your family pictures from our walls, pages,sites, profile, etc, because whoever deems you as a potential target will NOT only look at your current picture, they will study your entire profile even up to the level of your wealthy friends if they want to. Most of us don't even know how to secure our profiles, talk less of deleting family and friends pics from our profiles.
    Social media has come to be part of our generation, we need to harken to how we use the whole system, but our personalities and egos must be checked.

So bottom line, posting a sinlge pic is NOT the real threat, because we MAY need to delete all our pics (these days of profile hacking!!!....una know na) but our lifestyle and how we treat people nevertheless could be very important on ourselves being a particular target.......Just my thoughts!!!

34. I've always advocated the learning of using social media to pple. It's cons outweighs it's pros. Don talk my own o

35. Betterdayz Ahead11 March 2016 at 11:13

I see nothing wrong with posting kids photos on social media.