Taraba gov election: Aisha Alhassan loses out as Supreme court upholds election of Ishaku | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 February 2016

Taraba gov election: Aisha Alhassan loses out as Supreme court upholds election of Ishaku

The Minister of Women Affairs, Aisha Al-Hassan, has lost her bid to govern Taraba state as the Supreme court this afternoon, upheld the election of the state governor, Darius Ishaku.

Al-Hassan had approached the Apex court to set aside the Court of Appeal Abuja's ruling on Dec. 31st 2015 that upheld the election of Ishaku.

The Supreme Court in its ruling today, said the state election tribunal had no power to nullify Ishaku's election because he was not validly nominated by the PDP.

The apex court stressed that the issue of nomination of a candidate by a political party “is clearly a pre-election matter which no tribunal has the jurisdiction to entertain”.

The court ruled that neither APC nor its candidate, Alhassan, had the requisite locus-standi to query the outcome of the PDP governorship primary election that produced Ishaku. The appellate court said contention on whether the PDP rightly or wrongly conducted its governorship primary election, did not fall within matters that could be entertained by an election petition tribunal.

70 comments:

1. She is already a minister of the federal republic of Nigeria. So make them leave matter.

2. Have you seen sextape btw 2 ikorodu sec. Schl students on schl premises? click here

3. Its all good....after she has being made a minister already

4. Nsogbu dikwa! Linda take note!

5. PRAISE THE LORD! one by one shall they begin to fall. The fall of APC is near. It's high time you knew PDP is the backbone of this country

1. Gbam! Thank God for Supreme Court Justices, APC ndi ala for turn dis country to one party state,they don't want opposition at all,win at all cost mentality

2. Sorry PDP looters and thieves cannot be the backbone of our country. We need leaders who will see their role as a calling from God instead of an opportunity to amass wealth. So please put party sentiments aside biko.

3. The woman still got minister position. She is already a minister. So to hell with any court decision that has probably been bribed by PDP looters

6. EEYAH

SHE SLD JUST MANAGE HER MINISTERIAL POSITION AND MAKE AN IMPACT THERE..

MEENAH_WAKIL ON INSTAGRAM

7. EEYAH

SHE SLD JUST MANAGE HER MINISTERIAL POSITION AND MAKE AN IMPACT THERE..

MEENAH_WAKIL ON INSTAGRAM

8. Thank God they made the right decision. I don't know what's APC business with how PDP organised their primary

Ubanagum

1. I wonder too o what of Imo state that Okorocha ddnt even buy governership ticket? He took his son inlaws ticket after he failed presidential primary

9. Go and prepare for thanksgiving....nuel

10. It's a woman but why am I happy?

11. Saw that coming, she had little or no case.
    Now wailers will no longer claim Buhari is influencing the judiciary.

12. Awww! I would have really loved for the woman to Govern the state. I mean, a female Governor in the North...That would have been a great development.

There Is No Such Thing As Luck- The Linda Ikeji Story

13. Heheheheheheehhe

PEPSI ADDICT

14. Seems baba GO-Slow is not able to influence the judiciary afterall!PDP's landslide victory in all their supreme court cases has so far proven that!no wonder the man called them his major problem!JEGA couldnt be compromised by PDP but accepted the counting of votes of cattle hoofs,pregnancies and those yet to be concieved from the North!now,the Judiciary may just be the normadic general's achilles heel!

1. He is not corrupt like others..nuel

15. Great judgement. These judges are very resilient, paving the way for consolidation on our democratic values. #seperation of powers.

16. Congratulations to Ishaku and pdp

17. Linda abeg post my comment ooooooo. Am not a robot oooooooooo, am Ngozi Ebere. Your verification code is not helping matter at all

18. Stupid woman...
    Shame on APC and its cohorts

19. sad day for propaganda politics!mama Taraba,take heart.you will never become governor.

20. It's all over.....
    Softly softly catchee monkey

21. Enter your comment...fair enough to allow peace reign, win win for them both.

22. Its all good...after all madam aisha na minister now

23. She's a minister already, abeg focus on ur portfolio n forget abt dis gubernatorial case jare.

1. Muslims will never rule taraba

2. ...at last justice is served. Good to our judiciary

24. SEEN SHA

25. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Oky seen.....

26. Shebi, in a see am?! Jonathan for go court go contest this election o
    Fear na bag thing gaaan!!

27. This woman has got no shame at all.

28. Correct judgment, make mama taraba face women affairs ministry.

29. Big congratulations to him, I hope APC won't criticize this judgement again, this I must get all style of them must stop

30. Omg the coolest news this year so far. Wow I'm so happy

31. APC Apc Apc how many time did I call u pls don't drag this country to the disrepute

32. CONGRATULATIONS sir. There's need to have confidence in Supreme. Mama Taraba, report to Almighty God as supreme court is d last bus-stop on earth.

33. From all accounts a very lousy, corrupt and rude woman. How did she and her husband make their money. The entire FCT knows. Buhari your associates are all very corrupt! And we wonder why you keep them close!

34. Democracy hardly thrives without a strong opposition spurring the govt on...Better for our dear Naija

35. R.E.S.P.E.C.T Supreme Court!

36. Why is she pressing on after they have giving her minsterial post Afee ce power mongers

37. The nonsense tribunal knows that they can disqualify him based on pre-election claims. If they wan do ojoro, dem go shift the tribunal to abuja. Same with Rivers, same with akwa ibom. Supreme court just restored the dignity of the judiciary.

38. PDP...........
    POWER FOR THE PEOPLE....

39. She should no that even before the ruling...

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

40. Good

41. Nonsense . We don't want her. Let her take her confusion else where.