PHCN official trying to rescue his colleague also electrocuted (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 10 February 2016

PHCN official trying to rescue his colleague also electrocuted (photos)

Yes, unfortunately both men died according to a LIB source at the scene who sent in the pics. The first one climbed the pole to fix the light and got electrocuted (read here). And his colleague climbed up to see if he could bring the dead man down, but he was also electrocuted. How unfortunate!

214 comments:

1. Eyah.may their souls rest in peace in Jesus name.amen!
    #nothankyoui'dratherbeselfmade

2. Sorry o... If only the current administration will provide electricity 24hrs will all these happen?

3. Oh my God. Diz is disheartening. May their souls rest in peace...

4. This is so so sad,their wives,kids,families... Occupational hazards such as this shouldn't even happen!! Fashola!!

5. This is so so sad,their wives,kids,families... Occupational hazards such as this shouldn't even happen!! Fashola!!

6. nawaa oh.. what a tragedy!

Don~ jazzycrush

7. nawaa oh.. what a tragedy!

Don~ jazzycrush

8. Can our government help us on this issues, there's some Street u will enter and there transformer will be open and the children will be playing around it. At least let the government or the power holdings use blocks to fence it. Rip, this is too painful.

9. freshpresh says, may their soul RIP

10. Hey what a world,the other guy must be hausa at his age he must understand that you don't save an electrocuted with bail hands.
    Another signs of terrorist buharis bad scam lie government.

11. How could he when the same power is still on? Very unfortunate.

12. Sad. Especially with the second guy. Weren't they professionals?

13. My God,what kind of tragedy is this,two people oh no!!!

14. This is so disheartening....

15. How would they make the mistake of allowing current to flow while the rescue operation was ongoing. I do not think that they will be that stupid.

God is great.

16. I don't know why they don't wear gloves. So sad .RIP

17. God have mercy on them.Such is life....nuel

18. Whaattt??? So sad! This area will not hv light again till after a long while. May the souls of the dead RIP, Amen

19. Dis is terrible dey culd hv off d power frm d station dan workin on 11 KVA line. RIP

20. Lord help and save us frm untimely deaths and tragic accidents. RIP to them.

21. Oh my God. So the two guys are dead. Terrible

22. Joyous babe,Linda ikeji first cousin10 February 2016 at 17:56

Blood of Jesus,so sad,may their souls rip.

23. Joyous babe,Linda ikeji first cousin10 February 2016 at 17:56

Blood of Jesus,so sad,may their souls rip.

24. Chai! May their souls RIP

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
    #iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

25. May their souls rest in peace! Why all these unfortunate incident since today

26. May their souls rest in peace! Why all these unfortunate incident since today

27. So unfortunate!!! Jesus christ have mercy.

28. Hmm What A World. May Their Soul Rest In Peace Amen

29. Wetin naa? What's this kind of unfortunate tale?

30. Ouch! How does one start to explain dis?

31. olamide ybnl's baby mama10 February 2016 at 18:12

2 down more to go!!!! Oya shoki!!!!

32. Oh God..this is terrible issue,gvt must do investigate on this matter

33. Dis is really sad!

Lord pls help and save us frm tragic accidents and untimely deaths.

34. What a sad news.R.I.P plus aunty Linda is a very stingy person

35. do these people even know the correct protocol to follow in cases like this? and why was only one person sent to rescue? why were there no medical officials there? were they properly trained to avoid situations like this? my questions plenty cos this makes no sense!! the electric is powerful enough to fry 2 humans but not strong enough o carry a house??? na wa for nail oh!!!

36. Jesus Christ! What kind of unfortunate tale is dis bikonu??? May their souls rest in peace. Linda take note!

37. This is completely insane.
    No safety measures for very high tension.
    2 fatalities on same incident.
    Is there no safety management system for the electrical body?
    Fashola has to probe this case, this is completely unimaginable.
    Mein Mitleid an die betroffene Familien des Opfers!

38. Do they teach these people safety measures in school and at work? Rip guys smh

39. What kind of stupidity is this one? Can't they call for light to be cut off at least in that area

40. Omg! So 2 men just lost dia lives just like dat. Dey wud have made sure there was no current bfr climbing

41. Oh no! too bad

42. what kind of sad news is this?

43. OMG!!! How come? How on earth will they not use their gloves? Hmmm! Mistakes! This is sad. Very sad. #badmoodactivated# may their soul rest in perfect peace.

44. Ehyaaa.. So bad.. I hate dis kinda stories i swear

45. Oh my gudness...
    Dis guys need to undergo proper job orientation nd safety courses.
    How on earth can u climb to rescue an electrocuted fellow with bare hands.
    Gud save deir soul nd condolences to deir loved ones

#my2k

46. woow. dis is really creepy. What a shame

47. Rip brothers jenny said so

48. This is just egregious! Who will compensate their families now? No one.

49. Nawa ooo I dn't even know what to say sef...chaiii really pathetic

50. Wat is this?they suppose to off the light before climbin there?!God hav Mercy

51. What!!!

No No No... RIP to them

There must be some foul spirits hanging around that building

52. Na wa ooo, they were meant to disconnect all lights before the rescue. May there Soul rest in peace

53. May their souls rest in peace.

54. Olorun oooooo

55. Olorun oooooo

56. God..this is terrible! Rip sirs...

57. Enter your comment...So sad
    Lord pls show them mercy & accept their souls into your kingdom in Jesus name-Amen!

58. Enter your comment...So sad
    Lord pls show them mercy & accept their souls into your kingdom in Jesus name-Amen!

59. Enter your comment...So sad

60. What a sad story .... Rest in peace power siezer of Nigeria

61. Enter your comment...rip to the dead

62. Linda there is no entity like PHCN anymore, it has been unbundled, from their uniform i think they are IKEDC officials...#Uromi

63. they are very quick to increase electricity tariffs but can't give basic training to their workers that they use to make all the money.
    Who on earth works in the industry that doesn't know that one can not carry an electrocuted man with bare hands?
    This again is change

64. Okay make i try understand this....is it that the second man no understand wetin happen to the first man before him climb pole or him wan form votron forgetting to take proper measure and safety first before him climb the pole....quite unfortunate but na one chance...

65. Kia,bad news.jumbo

66. Chai...God av mercy

For we dust n unto dust we shall return !

67. I shall not die on my duty post, amen....!!! awwwww....!!!

68. Which kind country be ds?one should know what is required of him or her before exposing oneself to high tension anyways R.I.P

69. So sad. May they Rest in peace

70. Nawa ooh RIP to them sad one.linda huz gal.

71. Witch hurting or inexperience..so terrible..Linda observe carefully

72. You don't say
    This is unprofessional. The first died so what stops them from putting off the power before taking him off the grid?

Nawa

73. Omigosh what the heck... This is so sad

74. Eiyaaa may dia soul rest in peace

75. Tragedy! May their souls rest in peace, amen.

76. Death death everyday, what is happening o, rest in peace to the dead

77. Hmmm! The street they r working on na witch full there ooo#lol#Lindangwanu#

78. May their souls rest in peace.BT this their death is suspicious bicos they put off d light from their office so why will their colleague put the light on knowing fully well that some people re working at high tension

79. Wow may there soul rest in peace in Jesus name. PEACE OUT LINDA!!!

80. May their souls rest in peace.BT this their death is suspicious bicos they put off d light from their office so why will their colleague put the light on knowing fully well that some people re working at high tension

81. May God have mercy on their souls...so sad.

82. How unreasonable

83. Why go up to see if you can bring him down when there is still electricity. Hmmmm, would that be ignorance or someone murdered them? One can only insinuate in Nigeria....

84. 2 bad a way to die
    Dey should have known beta bcos dat pole looks lyk death trap

My view not urs!!!!

85. 2 bad a way to die
    Dey should have known beta bcos dat pole looks lyk death trap

My view not urs!!!!

86. It's a pity..may God give their families fortitude to bear the loss

87. Nawa ooo...how can d second man even climb up to bring down an electrocuted man immediately??? Doea he not know d dangers and that electricity conducts abi na transfer sef.Is he stupid or what??? Is this a case of death calling someone's name??? The first man was an accident and a tragedy. The second man was just foolish. May their souls rest in peace!!!

88. Now who is going to bring them down??

89. Unfortunate. This is a recurring unfortunate incident. PHCN should have switched off electric supply before the second victim attempted to rescue the first victim. We must prevent this unfortunate incident in future. Does PHCN not have protocol on fixing faulty cables on their poles? Life is precious and once lost, it is gone for ever! May their souls rest in peace.

90. I don't believe this. NEPA officials NEVER go up a pole without switching the current off first.

91. So sad, don't like this, two men with great future just gone like that...

92. Omg that's a sad news.

Money is everything!!!

93. Chai. The devil is at work o.

94. 'Devil's Remote Control' at work..It sounds foolish that d 2nd guy could go up d pole to try rescue d electrocuted one..Well,may their souls RIP.

95. So sad! May their souls rest in peace.Amen

96. Their village people are very wicked..

97. Things dey happen@!! Didn't they disconnect light before climbing up there? Safety precautions need to be observed in whatever we are doing.

Sipping my hennessy

98. Chai!!! Rest in peace!!! More Instagram followers for you

99. What a tragedy. No health and safety check? Why do people do things ignorantly in nigeria?

100. So so sad... In the line of duty...

101. I don't think these men are trained for this job. For God seek they are standard proceeds when you are working on an 11kva transmission line. I pray proper investigation is carried out to know who caused the dead of this young men. God bless Nigeria.

102. Firstly Linda there is no Institution known as PHCN as the Company had been metamorphosed into 11 distribution, 6 generating and 1 transmission Companies. Secondly these new companies do not seem to observe the necessary safety rules. Electricity you know is a good servant but a bad master. Life does not have duplicate, may their souls rest in perfect peace.@mikemezue

103. Really sad! May thier soul rest in peace..

104. Nooo this can't be happening; its quite very unfortunate. RIP to them.
    Linda mee k'anyi fu anya! @uchemacj

105. This is the result of hiring inexperienced staff and not training them properly cos they're trying to save costs.
    My dad was just talking about this problem two days ago. May the souls of these ones rip, I'm sorry to say, butif these guys are not properly trained FAST, this will be a regular occurence.

106. I don't think these men are trained for this job. For God seek they are standard proceeds when you are working on an 11kva transmission line. I pray proper investigation is carried out to know who caused the dead of this young men. God bless Nigeria.

107. I don't think these men are trained for this job. For God seek they are standard proceeds when you are working on an 11kva transmission line. I pray proper investigation is carried out to know who caused the dead of this young men. God bless Nigeria.

108. I don't think these men are trained for this job. For God seek they are standard proceeds when you are working on an 11kva transmission line. I pray proper investigation is carried out to know who caused the dead of this young men. God bless Nigeria.

109. I don't think these men are trained for this job. For God seek they are standard proceeds when you are working on an 11kva transmission line. I pray proper investigation is carried out to know who caused the dead of this young men. God bless Nigeria.

110. It is so sad to hear that electricians are still being electrocuted all the time in Nigeria. This is a time the foolish government should invest more in the training of these electricians cos they are endangering thier lives daily while they seek to bring comfort to others.....@@@@Bia Bia 😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡

111. It is so sad to hear that electricians are still being electrocuted all the time in Nigeria. This is a time the foolish government should invest more in the training of these electricians cos they are endangering thier lives daily while they seek to bring comfort to others.....@@@@Bia Bia 😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡

112. died in active service. may their souls rest in peace

113. RIP but when will Nigerians learn??
    What happen to dry stick or wood?
    Why climb without strong preventive measures

114. Bring him down with bare hands? That's suicide,RIP to them both

115. He shud av used a dry wood eh....Rip to dem

116. My heart goes, to their individual families...hope there is life insurance 4 them, what a risky job. Pls do LFI(learn from incident).

117. owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin)10 February 2016 at 22:00

DAMN

118. Oooh God... How unfortunate indeed. I actually thought about this rescue wahala this afternoon immediately I saw the previous report.. I never knew that his colleague wud rescue him and freeze there too... Yoruba go say "alakoba olorun maje ri"... If am correct I dunno.

119. So unfortunate!God please grant them peace.

120. acid man(linda's husband)10 February 2016 at 22:59

JESUS!

121. Enter your comment...chai!made me remember a family frnd dh died same way years ago.....May Jah gv dia family d fortitude to near d loss

122. Enter your comment... That's really terrible

123. Enter your comment...Oooh! That's really terrible, RIP

124. How sad. RIP

POPULAR LIB READER!

125. Where did this happen? Ibadan?

126. What happened to the safety rules? What happened to ur mobile radios to contact the substation immediately to turn off power? Mehn this is sad. May their souls rest in peace.

-LIB PIKIN-

127. Jesus wept..witch handwork rip

128. This should be investigated. PHCN now like Dasuki gate where workers has no equipments, no proper training. smh

129. Oh may the dead RIP

I think some of these electricians and what have u r the architects of their own misfortune. You'll see some of them touching live wire without gloves or proper protective clothing without fear. It's a pity!