Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala reacts to alleged investigation by EFCC | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 9 February 2016

Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala reacts to alleged investigation by EFCC

Former Minister of Finance Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala has reacted to reports that she's allegedly being investigated by the EFCC for embezzlement, calling media headlines misleading and untrue. Her statement below..
We want to clarify that some of the media reports alleging that the EFCC is investigating former Minister of Finance, Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, are misleading and untrue. This is clear from eye witness accounts of the Budget 2016 presentation by the EFCC at the House of Representatives and gaps in the reported stories.
The headlines are a misrepresentation of what the EFCC Chairman actually said during the event. While the headlines claimed that the EFCC Chairman, in response to a question by an APC, member Hon Razak Atunwa, stated that Dr Okonjo-Iweala is under investigation, the actual words quoted in the same reports told a very different story.
His words: “Very soon we will go into the petroleum industry. Such investigation requires that we have to build capacity, we have to bring in experts to enable us tackle what we are doing properly and the investigation must be conducted properly. We have internal lawyers and external lawyers. We have to pay insurance…”
The words said to have been spoken by the EFCC Chairman cannot support the lurid headlines that Dr Okonjo-Iweala is under investigation by the EFCC. The Nigerian media plays an important role in our democracy and we urge them to be fair, balanced and factual in their reports.
Paul C Nwabuikwu Media Adviser to Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala

58 comments:

1. hmmmmmmmmmmm

meenah_wakil on instagram

2. hmmmmmmmmmmm

meenah_wakil on instagram

3. Mummy fire them. More Instagram followers for you

4. Hmmmmmmm,na who we go believe na

5. Arrant nonsense

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

6. Innocent until proven guilty...

EFCC....Agip has been in Kwale, Delta State for over 60 years but NO LIGHT... Kwale powers 40% of the nation's electricity ... pls investigate.

7. If you have nothing to fear,you wouldn't b shaking when efcc wanna investigate you

8. The Nigeria media and their false publication.jumbo

9. ALRIGHT

10. My woman don't mind the thugs call efcc they are empty hall with many noise.
    Don't mind the fools that are going around just to stern peoples names to please terrorist buhari all you said here is true.
    Any attempt to hurt ngozi will lead to the fall of nigeria.

11. This woman and her team don't waste time clapping back at whoever fires shots at her.

Research Shows That Most Women are Either Lesbians or Bisexual

12. I think some people in her office needed to be investigate and ask how the economic of this nation is on the brink of down seizing

13. So everyone under gej's administration is a thief Abi ? Buhari chukwu bukwaa GI onu

14. We shall soon find out

15. Nke ahu gbasara ha

#iT wiLL oNLy GeT better
    #it MuSt ENd In PrAisE

16. ma'am always document her activities, so she is not scared if such case comes up.

17. Time shall tell! Linda take note!

18. why do we keep looking 4 experts 2 handle certain issues in our beloved country? who are these experts? wat difference are they 4rm our brainy, talented Nigerians?

19. The APC zombies should free iweala.

20. Worefa! Being probed or under investigation doesn't mean she or anybody has been indicted or proven guilty. Since proper investigations shall be carried out by d anti-corruption agency,then we'll wait n see! Aside this,Okonjo knows how to defend herself 'smartly' b4 d media..but time shall tell!

21. Madam what are you afraid of please open up and tell Nigerians before is too late biko...nuel

22. Madam Abeg no mind them. It is only because your name sells their papers. God pass them.

23. The South west media and twisting words to move the agenda of evil people against this woman.

24. Whom God is with cannot be defeated. OkonjoIweala soar on like the Eagle you are.

25. Nigerian journalists sha can write nonsense.

26. The type of journalists we have in Nigeria these days is an embarrassment. Why twist the EFCC boos's words. I'm sure the EFCC boss sef I surprised by the words they credited to him. Na wah for Naija.

27. Tinubu and El Rufai and their foot soldiers will die trying to pull this woman down.

28. Tinubu and El Rufai and their foot soldiers will die trying to pull this woman down. The U.S. and international agencies are busy wanting her expertise ( she is aging international league) and these low lives are doing the lowest of the local league.

29. Tinubu and El Rufai and their foot soldiers will die trying to pull this woman down. The U.S. and international agencies are busy wanting her expertise ( she is aging international league) and these low lives are doing the lowest of the local league.

30. OkonjoIweala na name wey men like Falana hear and he begin dey shake. Just loving strong women who know God.

31. Ok nah. Don't you know Nigerian journalists before?

32. I just am loving OkonjoIweala and this her spokesperson Paul Nwabiukwu. Talk about loyalty! This is scarce in Nigeria these days. Madam God get your back.

33. No matter what they say OkonjoIweala remains a shining light. Look at how she is celebrated internationally. God Abeg bless me like you blessed this woman.

34. Haters can't get this woman. All this media slander will end soon and only substance will speak.

35. Na wah. Is this what happens when someone serves her country? God Abeg protect this woman. This is too much and evil.

36. What kind of evil attacks is this? The woman has not stopped them from probing her record but no they are instead doing slandering in the papers.

37. I tire for Nigerian journalists. Attimes I think they don't go to any journalism school.

38. For window blinds, wallpaper and curtain please call 08160856785.

39. Wetn you the clarify...abeg make we hear joor

40. OK. but she will still b investigated.

41. Replies
    1. Y all this vehement denials when it is suggested that she is,might be or should be investigated by th e EFCC? Does she have something to be afraid of?

42. Ooooooooooleeeeeeeeeeeree!!!!!!!!!!!!

43. Stupid woman. You were supposed to be the finance minister yet you gave out money without any knowledge of how it was going to be utilized. What Exactly is your job description madam?????? You will all pay for your sins against this country. Fucking bastards.

1. Heheheh. Na your mama and all the women in you family that you have just called stupid. You and all of them women in your family lineage can never clean talkless of entering through the doors through which OkonjoIweala passes. Let your envy kill you. When it comes to Okonjo Iweala God pass una.

44. They should leave this woman oo, before she will use figures destroy una their head#Lindan

45. they r all thieves even d so call EFCC