LIB reader shares his experience with diarrhea with his twins | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 February 2016

LIB reader shares his experience with diarrhea with his twins

The LIB reader writes below...
I am the guy who sent in the my photo backing one twin and carrying the other. To my story, we noticed twin A had signs of stooling on Wednesday night ... He pooed about 3 times till dawn...no sleeping for me and wifey... So by morning , we got ORT from the pharmacy....and prepared the solution for him to drink ...he drinks it like every 20mins or thereabout. At the same time, we give zinc tablet that comes with the pack of Tue ORT.... Usually sold together....and the zinc should be given, 1 tablet everyday for 10days

That's the dosage, while the ORT should be prepared with boild cooled water (I use Eva water)...water quantity should be as directed....about 1 litre  to 1  sachet of so....
The ORT is replaced every 24hrs even if not finished.

My twins A(boy) kept stooling through till Friday .... Then we got a family doctor who prescribed flagil for kids ... This still did not work...twin A kept stooling through Saturday...... At this point we decided its time to go to our Lagos state health center for kids...... But its a Saturday.... So we kept giving the ORT...it became a part of him...he was never dehydrated but has loosed weight visibly....  We got a yeast antibiotic on Sunday....and started using for him...hoping to go to the health center on Monday.... Suddenly Twin B started having same symptoms like Twin A... We started same treatment.... Tuesday 9th February, we went to General hospital Ikorodu to see a doctor...that's where they were born... Told the doctor my boy (twin a) has been stooling since 1week now....and its still on...he said we shouldn't have waited that long before coming.....ok.. Told him all what we have give. Him...

Plus the ORT.... So we told him twin b has also started 2days ago....same stooling.... Now hear this Linda.... He refused to treat twin B's case as urgent....but was blaming me for not bringing Twin A 2 days after.... In all, he ask us to go run some tests for them both....(surprisingly, these test cost about 3,500 naira for each twin, but lol,! ITS FREE LINDA...FREE... blood test was done....stool test was pending.... Took blood test back to Doctor, but he refused to even look at it....cos he wants both tests.... Stool test would be the next morning....on getting there early in the morning, the Lab people said the stool test would take 3days.... wow... Was this doctor aware....,? I guess not.... So we went home to go back in 3 days.... But our family doctor saw the blood result and lamented we should go back as soon as we can so the doctor would see the blood test....
Anyways, I really want to commend the government for the beautiful children hospitals all around Lagos.... But can they please recruit beautiful minded people to work in these hospitals,? Otherwise, teach them how to be beautiful... Lives are at stake here.... Stooling for one whole week  and they let us go just like that.....  Infact, the receptionist to get our file was so so reluctant to attend to us... She was eating her snacks when we came in....
See this...
Me: Good evening ma.. Pls we wanna see the doctor..for my son. This is my card..
The  Hospital Clerk woman: DROP YOUR CARD. And go and sit down...(Eating meat pie)
Me:... Knowing how slugish they are... Looking at her like lol..
The Hospital clerk woman:.. As you can see, theres no LIGHT (ELECTRICITY). To bring out your file..
ME: can you pls use my mobile phone touchlight?
The Hospital clerk woman: what is the problem ...shay be its not an emergency...
ME: IT IS...PLS TREAT IT AS ONE.....lol
I think these hospital workers need extra training apart from handling injectionsnand files....

104 comments:

1. Chai diarrhea almost killed me last week, I even had to do a lassa virus test, but thank God it was negative

2. just for foto

meenah_wakil on instagram

3. just for foto

meenah_wakil on instagram

4. That's what one experiences everyday in government hospitals. But like seriously, there are still a few good medical practitioners not all as nonchalant and inconsiderate as is usually potrayed. It's just that the few bad ones tend to ruin the effort of the good ones.

5. I feel your pain but I was expecting more from the story.The headline has a ring of suspense, I thought I'd read something like "Twin A was stooling,& while you were @ it,Twin B started on the rug or something".Something dramatic lolxxxx
    I think Govt workers are naturally sluggish.

6. Your twins are beautiful!!! And government hospital workers are.known to be annoyingly non chalant

7. Papa twins don't play with the life of your twin. Those general hospital don't care at all.

Sipping my hennessy

8. That how they do. Especially government hospital. They need to be trained on how to be nice to patients.

9. @father of twins I don't know toour name but forgive me for calling u dat still u b baba ibeji we bess d lord. Well I got 4kids and I might say am a vetran in being a father and I also am in d health care line.lets get real here, fashola did well in health infrastructure but d atitude of the individuals running these establishment is nothing to write home about some are good but the bad ones has taken the shine off the good ones.still general hospital is the best when it comes to mother and child and maternity.when it comes to child birth I recommend General hospital bvut in emergency use private hospital for the bureaucracy in government hospital and time delay might cost a life. Now when a child stools for 3days non stop forget your ORT take that child to the hospital infection is a major factor that prolongs stooling.If the child is not teething and temping why wait for a week that's child endangerment.well thank God they are okay and I hope you are done with child birth.

1. You have 4 and selfish to tell him to stop at 2. Hmmm

2. LOL...av stopped

3. He should forget the general hospital and head for private bcos you doctors internationally act the way u do so that they will patronise you in your private hospitals. God is watching all of u

-LIB PIKIN-

10. They don't know the meaning of saving life but yet they work in the hospital.Its a pity...

11. I really don't get this story! Is it about the sick kids or the work ethics of doctors? I think u should have channeled your complaints to lagos state government or the necessary organization to make your complaint.

12. Hope they get well..speedy recovery

13. U no lie ohhh. That's d attitude most of dem influence n corrupt d good ones with. I think we should b nice to pple n b smart with our job

14. Nobe today e star. But too bad. Life is xo precious

POPULAR LIB READER!

15. I swear, Na God dey safe us. If it were to be left in the hands of man ehn! Linda take note!

16. Admin staff at most govt hospitals are like that. Very sluggish and wicked. Heartless ppl

17. Dart true, fg need to train dem well

18. ok oh me no read am....

Don~ jazzycrush

1. They are just too relaxed thinking because is govt work they can do as they like... Wake up call needed

19. Is like this man thinks he is catching fun with his children health. Carry on with your lol. Na God give you the children, next time attend to issues like this promptly,to avoid stories that touch.

20. Mr you are very correct on this issue,nigeria needs to employ people with a kind hearted human being to work in the hospital bcos those one we have now are after 'have you seen alert,why this people never pay us'which is very bad.Abi linda!

21. lol............Linda take note

22. Seriously, I agree with the man. They are always so unprofessional nd stupid. A doctors error led to the death of my father, since then I've been extremely vigilant nd I research everything myself rather than put my life in the hands of a stupid doctor who only crammed to pass.

23. That's so true, like they don't pay them salary..bunch of sadist

24. So how are the twins careless man? You left your child stool for 1 week? You are careless

25. Nice story but u shld ve gone straight to d point

26. Sorry for that and hope they are ok now ,but......

27. I sincerely don't appreciate anytin Government , mostly in the health sector ; The system has Been Destroyed . I pray it get better !!! Smh

I hope ur wonderful twins are doing well now ?

Damolia.DEW

28. What's with the lol everywhere smh.

29. how are the children doing now. hope their responding.

30. Oga I want work wen one is finally given they misused de opportunity..dont worry man nothing will happen to ur God gift children.

31. Summary of d story: My kids were sick (stooling), we gav dem drugs & tried oda drugs but no relief, we den tuk dem 2 a govt children hospital & this conversant ensued btw us & d receptionist......WHY d LONG STORY??????

32. Mtew,See free advert for Oral drip oh! Attention seeker,this man has alot of time sha...And Lin,when did you start posting these kind rubbish story sef,na waoh! If the case is as serious as he claimed ,he wouldn't be lol up and down.

33. You are very correct oo. Doctors have lost the humane passion behind the profession.... similar thing happened to me. the most annoying thing is dat, there is no body check mating this lackadaisical attitude

34. Not funny at all this is what happens daily at these hospitals the staff don't value human life one must commend LSG the hospitals are beautiful much better than most private hospitals around but the staff are terrible.

35. lol..why did u disturb someone that was eating..lol.
    Some people are just crazy tho so she expected you to wait till she finished eating her pie.

#XENO-FABIAN

36. A clear case of blood infection ( the white blood cells are very high)
    Their systems need to be cleansed and also hydrated. They should be on drips

1. well, the doctor said how can i say these children playing like this need emergency treatment....lol

37. i think the ministry of health should take this as a priority, same thing YABA tech and unilag students are fighting for. the question is its not cos they are student, several people experience irrational behaviors of health workers in hospitals in this country. life seems not to worth anything to them anymore. infact its so bad.

38. My brother thank God your kids are ok I presume! That is the attitude of most government hospital 🏥 workers in NIGERIA

39. Ode. This guy is so senseless. What's all this about? He should have come as a woman. I feel ashamed reading this as a man. U are very stupid. Get a life Pls.shameless he goat. U should be onyx friend.fool

1. What is your grouse with him? The fact that he looks after his kids or that he wrote and published this piece? He is more of a man that you are right now. You need revelation on what it is to be man? A d*** does not make you a real man!

2. Haaaa ha ha ha. lol.

40. Please you all should give your kids the vaccine to avoid purge n vomit. It's the best though it's expensive.

41. God will help us in this country,,,Secondly,my experience with kids especially twins and kids with a year difference between them,once one is ill the next one follows....So anytime u notice the first one is showing symptoms,also get ready to treat the other...May God keep our kids Amen!

42. What's with the twin A and twin B? Don't they have names?

43. I am happy with the parents of this child for acting prompt to give the children ORS and Zinc, that singular act did safe your children. The fastest killer of children with diarrhoea is dehydration. However, the child should have been presented in the hospital after 2 days without any improvement. Please never give a child flagyl for diarrhoea, it will only cause more problem, flagyl isn't a broad spectrum antibiotics especially if the stool test didn't specify the use of this drug. I will take up your complain about these healthcare workers and report to the right authorities, names will be very helpful as well. I am not a political but we need to commend the efforts of the lagos state government to improve health care in the state. It isn't perfect but it is getting better.God bless Lagos.

1. Hello, We used Flagil just once (one dose). we later continued with Flora Norm, which seemed to work as the doctor recommended. The doctors there really dont care about treatment...all the care about is work (he he he)... he dint even bother to look at the blood test i came to show him... he said both the stool test must also be ready.. they are not kind at all.... not caring.

44. May the lird save us all from the hands of evil peoole we may meet on our journey to life

45. Please the vaccine is called ROTAVIRUS. please n please get it for kids, don't mind d price cos life is wealth.

46. Pathetic!!!!!!!!!!! Mtcheeeeeew

47. They are all useless miserable set of people, ill mannered and frustrated fellow who nothing good will happen to them. And most of them will go to church and raise holy hands. Rubbish

48. owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin)11 February 2016 at 09:53

OK

49. Your children are simply beautiful, God will preserve their lives for you. I can personally attest to that same experience at Ikorodu General Hospital, even had the same "No light to get file for my then 9month old son" conversation. Had to volunteer my phone's torch light. There is no strict system in place to ensure efficient dispensation of health care services at those General hospitals hence the attitude of the staff.

1. Thank you and yes its the same Ikorodu G H.. that woman was so annoying. During the birth of my twins, i know how many of them i fought with.... they are so lazy and un-caring..

50. Thank God for your kids and that they are better now. if there's ever another time with such presentation in the kids, pls dont wait at all. In cases like that i use our private hospital.
    I had a similar incident last week with my son. I was called to come pick him up from school on Monday 1st Feb. He was 2 yrs old last week too. he was at home and we were going to a nearby hosp. where he was treated for malaria and given antibiotics. No test was carried out. by Thursday, he was still very weak, lacked stamina, throwing up medicine, having temp and stooling.
    we took him to our other hospital which is bigger and a medical center. He was immediately given some injections for the temperature while we were told to come back for the Widal, PCV and other test result.
    By evening when the results were out, he was admitted into the hosp because he was throwing up everything. His treatment started with a 12hrs fast to help his stomach stabilise. by friday after, he started eating well again. by evening we were out of the hospital.
    Thank God for preserving my boy because i was so scared.

51. From my little experience, all mums should have ORT. Even when my baby vomits often or poops more than expected, I give him ORT. Also my advise is we all should have multivitamin for our baby. It helps replenish missing vitamins on a daily basis. No one wants to see their child in pain. Pls lets be proactive when it has to do with babys.

Regards,

52. Okay, am not sure I get the point??

53. So true... some hospital are as bad as.... complete it for me

54. Enter your comment...thank God your children survived next time pls use a private hospital to attend to the kids faster. Our general hospitals are not efficient. Though they may have qualified doctors but they are so lackadaisical to responding to sick patients. God help Nigeria

55. #Sure.
    You couldn't have said it better. They really deserve intense training. Tnx for sharing.

56. I think mothers should always be well informed and give babies the proper vaccination instead of waiting for the dying minutes... Please read up about rotavirus vaccination and give to your babies its expensive true (btw 7 - 8K) but its life saving

Rotavirus is the most common cause of severe diarrheal disease in children worldwide and accounts for approximately one-third of the nearly 600,000 global child deaths attributable to diarrhea. Ninety-five percent of these deaths occur in developing countries. Rotavirus disease cannot be treated with antibiotics or other drugs, and most children are at risk of infection regardless of hygiene practices or access to clean water. Vaccination is the best way to protect children from rotavirus and the deadly dehydrating diarrhea that it can cause. In 2009, the World Health Organization recommended that all countries include rotavirus vaccines in their national immunization programs. Currently, two vaccines against the disease are globally available and several more are in development.

57. Rotavirus is the most common cause of severe diarrheal disease in children worldwide and accounts for approximately one-third of the nearly 600,000 global child deaths attributable to diarrhea. Ninety-five percent of these deaths occur in developing countries. Rotavirus disease cannot be treated with antibiotics or other drugs, and most children are at risk of infection regardless of hygiene practices or access to clean water. Vaccination is the best way to protect children from rotavirus and the deadly dehydrating diarrhea that it can cause. In 2009, the World Health Organization recommended that all countries include rotavirus vaccines in their national immunization programs. Currently, two vaccines against the disease are globally available and several more are in development.

Mothers please give your babies this vaccination at the right time, its expensive(abt 6-8k) but its life saving. ask your hospital about it and lets end this death by diarrhea thing

58. Put a child on your back when your wife is around and not dead are the rudiments of madness

59. I noticed that it is only the girl twin that always smile in pictures, they boy twin just kala him face as if him no send

60. This is exactly how all government owned hospitals/centers are.
    They do not attend to people in time,they are too slow,it's crazy.
    The health sector in Nigeria is in shreds,it's nothing to write home about.
    The private hospitals are just a tad better,but then,what percentage of nigerians can afford that.
    You still have to move from one hospital to another inorder to get the best care for yourself and child especially.
    It's just God that's been taking care of his people.
    The government needs to get off their ass and fix each sector. We need change.

61. Yes I agree with this man,hospitals need to start employing professionals as their clerk/customer care not just Nurses
    D.R.I.M.R.S

62. you are the careless one here, you left your child to stool for up to a week at home and was giving ORL and flagyl, first you should not use ORL for more than 3days, you visit a hospital fast if it doesn’t resolve , secondly for children and pregnant women dont ever take prescriptions again over the phone, is better to visit a clinic early and you are told its nothing serious than narrating stories that touch

63. @rosamaria to even cram to become a doctor is not easy, please dont ever go to hospital to see any stupid doctor again, ask google all your questions jare, sharp person
    instead of you to register in a certified good hospital is cheap and free services you would be looking for like Toke Makinwa,
    you too go and cram to be a doctor and treat yourself and your family members

64. This pple could be really rude and careless at times that was how my baby was overdosed with quinine injection Infact God alone stood for us, immediately after the overdose she started to stool for 10 whole days no drugs or anything was able to control it. Please parents be observant wen at the hospital

65. This pple could be really rude and careless at times that was how my baby was overdosed with quinine injection Infact God alone stood for us, immediately after the overdose she started to stool for 10 whole days no drugs or anything was able to control it. Please parents be observant wen at the hospital

66. next time give flagyl to stop d stooling dont wait for those useless doctors

67. Vry true, dy ar a bunch of useless pple, Vry rude n mannerless!! But Oga biko no wait 1wk b4 u go to d doc next time!

68. Negligence on your part too baba ibeji! Stooping for a whole week haba

69. Pls next time, try to take your kids to another doctor or health centre so that the carelessness of one doctor does not cost you a life....then you can report that doctor to the appropriate body later on. Hopefully your kids are doing well now!

70. I concur. General hosp badagry shld also b looked into. Nurse shld know d meaning of dier title, they shld "nurse" pple. The receptionist shld b nice, if sm1 isn't sick dey won't b in d hosp, so all cases are shld b treated as serious and require immediate attention. I get sick when I think of dier hostility. Too bad.

71. This is getting serious in our hospitals this days, most of this health workers don't value life anymore, they don't abide by their Hippocratic oath anymore. Last year august I heard issue with my ear, I was feeling creaking movement & pain in my ear. I went to 2 different general hospitals b4 I was eventually refer to lagos state teaching hospital, after taking the whole day @ d hospital, I submitted my card only for them to schedule my next appointment 3-4month after to see the doctor. I was dumbfounded.

1. So from all you have said where did the Hippocratic oath get broken ?drs r d ones who swear to d oath .from what u r saying d receptionists and admin kept u waiting cos of overflow of patients.how many ent surgeons did govt employ? In my center uuth there is just one dr ette.rest are residents.even in USA u just don't stroll into a specialist office o,either u pay extra for urgent care or u are scheduled for an appointment on a later date.if na emergency,u go to emergency room where a consult will be sent to d dr.no dr will tell u to wait dat he's eating meat pie.d admin ppl would even stop retrieving folders in govt hospitals by 12pm so that Drs will not see too many patients and waste their time cos they have to record and reshelve folders.the Drs see all and any folders brought to their table.d dr had probably examined and found d baby to be well hydrated hence no use for iv fluids....na still ors.esp if baby is eating .d only thing left is to investigate d cause or see if the infection is in d blood(sepsis).hence his insistence on lab tests.i must commend d baby daddy for giving ors diligently cos dat sustained d baby but next time don't wait.

72. Same thing happened to me in Maitama General Hospital and National Hospital some years back. Very obnoxious female doctor berating me for coming to ask her to read a test result on Saturday instead of on Monday. I thought to myself, shebi this woman has a child or hopes to have one? How would she like it if her toddler was stooling continuously and crying that his bum was paining him and you have already done the test but you must wait till Monday because that is the working day? Normally I don't stomach that kind of nonsense because it is my money they are using to pay her, but I chose to shut up my mouth for the sake of my innocent sick boy, so that he could get the treatment he needed. My husband had to call the Matron before that doctor could deign to look at that test. Madam Maitama General Hospital doctor, if you are reading this, I have forgiven you. As for the National Hospital people, una know una selves. Your turn is coming, there's no escaping it.

73. I remember attending a Mass in Jabi those days and the white Reverend Father who was the Parish Priest literally wept for the average Nigerian. He said with the kind of hospitals we have, the man-in-the-street should not get sick.

74. I have sickle cell anemia so I attend hospitals regularly. The beyond rude attendants and clerks, the impatient, aloof and sometimes careless doctors, are not things I would wish even my worst enemy.

75. I was on admission in the hospital and I was supposed to get a dose of antibiotic at certain intervals. The nurse could not bring it at the scheduled time. I sent my husband to go and ask her about it. My husband came back with the message that she said "what do I know is antibiotic?" Her exact words. I could go on and on about the idiocy and sometimes outright wickedness of these people.

76. FOR COMPLETE ATTENTION AND PROPER MEDICAL ATTENTION,IT'S BETTER TO VISIT A STANDARD REGISTERED PRIVATE HOSPITAL.
    PUBLIC HEALTHCARE SYSTEM HAS FAILED IN NIGERIA,OUR GOVT IS TRYING BUT THOSE MEDICAL PERSONNEL ARE FRUSTRATED AND HEARTLESS.
    THE POOR DIE FOR NOTHING DUE TO NEGLECT.
    MEDICAL PRACTITIONERS, LEARN TO SHOW SOME LOVE AND COMPASSION,IT COULD HAVE BEEN U!

77. U r as guilty as what u accuse the doctors of. How can u keep a sick.child in self medication for.more than one week

78. I had my two kids at Ifako Ijaiye general hospital and what i noticed is the nurses are better professionals than the doctors. A doctor comes in at 9am already with a look like someone perpetually smelly mess. The gist first then decide when they will start seeing patients who have been waiting from 5am. In anycase there is this doctor, a female, wears no earings, always on plaited hair, she is God sent and most of the pregnant women at the hospital lobby to have her rather than the others especially one rude, utterly unprofessional, Doctor Akpan or is it Bassey who prefers to check his facebook page and show pix to his other colleagues while pregnant women are waiting.

79. Hard luck man.
    "NeVeR SaY NeVeR"

80. That's how they toy with lives, useless people