11 contractors collected N4bn from FG without going to site - Senate | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 February 2016

11 contractors collected N4bn from FG without going to site - Senate

The Senate Committee on Works yesterday said 11 road contractors collected N4 billion last year from the federal ministry of Works and did not mobilize to sites.

The Chairman of the Committee, Senator Kabiru Gaya disclosed this when the Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola appeared before the house committee for the defence of his ministries 2016 budget.

Gaya said some contractors collected N500 million while one of the contractors collected N1 billion. He gave an instance of the dualisation of Otukpo township road, in Benue State where the contractor was paid N1 billion and up till now has not mobilized to site. He called on Fashola to check the details of such contracts and report back in the next meeting noting that there is no point giving a contractor mobilization fee when he cannot perform.

Source: Daily Trust

63 comments:

1. That's what buhari wants. Regret voting for that beast of a man

1. Please what are you saying did you read the article well before mentioning name mumu... Nuel

2. Ewu. There are refering to Jonathan's past administration. Read well before you comment senselessly and stupidly

3. This ify lady comments a lot.....and I haven't read one sensible comment from her.....sweetie....Are you educated?

4. Dis IFY girl is insane.....that how u continuously fail English language in waec...simple Article uno understand.

2. Why am I not related to any of them mtchewww

3. Noce that the Senators r sitting up...GEJ almost buried Nigeria...

4. Na wa o...(adekaff59@gmail.com)

5. Hmmm...hearing otukpo I know david mark is definitely involved...smh

6. Why am I not part of the contractors. See money

7. Lmao.. Linda they arrest these folks o. But they won't learn11 February 2016 at 10:24

They are simply thieves. Period. If they don't perform arrest and throw them in jail

8. Corruption in nigeria is causing decay to every sector of the economy

9. Enter your comment...God dey

10. Greedy politicians and contractors, they don't care about the poor masses.

11. gbam. Such issues shouldn't be taken lightly. Those found guilty of diverting funds for rehabilitation of roads should be jailed. Its wickedness.

12. Film show

13. How do they get away with this kind of crime? Nigeria!!

14. The looting that pervaded the last administration & the way the govt embraced looters like suitors is very irksome every time a new scandalous revelation comes up.They promised us fresh air but what kinda fresh air is that when our money was being suffocated in the bank accounts of privileged thieves? When the hungry & toiling masses breathe the air of penury?
    My God will punish em all

15. I am expecting Uncle/Senator Bruce to twit on this.

16. For God's sake, why don't you (Senate Committee) publish the names of these companies and those who own them?! If we know and shame them, perhaps that might make a tiny difference. I tire for una o

1. My thought too. Since you are sure it happened, lets name and shame the contractors and the companies. Then stop all contract they have currently or ensure they complete them . Too much talk and no action is not moving the country forward. Others caught will know their punishment and be guided. That's what obtains when you know people in corrupt govt.

17. can dis nation ever move forward? cos d rate at which money is been wasted it really beats me

18. Wahala dey big time! Linda take note!

19. Nah wa ooo, see corruption every where. And am so sure these same contractors will also be saying the government's are corrupt

20. Joyous babe,Linda ikeji first cousin11 February 2016 at 11:01

Nawa o.

21. Joyous babe,Linda ikeji first cousin11 February 2016 at 11:01

Nawa o.

22. I hope @murray Bruce will. Remeber to make common sense out of dis one

23. Corruption still lingering.
    Prosecute all corrupt officials and get them behind bars asap.
    No one should be exempted.

24. 1 billion yet he didn't perform? Nigeria is finished!

25. God will punish Ebele Jonathan and his entire generation including his cohorts and his supporter in Linda blogs.omooba

26. Hmmmm #1billion without even moving to the site; people get mind oo.
    Linda mee k'anyi fu anya! @uchemacj

27. Under who? Now they should not blame GEJ abi? Lol.

1. Shut ur mouth u dumb idiot! Can't you read and understand? Is GEJ the contractors? The contractors should be held responsible and called for questioning. Pls use ur brain next time Dominic Okeke (dommy)!

28. That's a good one. I hope we get a feedback on that, and that contractor jailed as well. Because that's obviously a criminal offence.

29. Ben Bruce will not tweet about this one now because it happened under his brother's administration. Hypocrite.

30. God save us from all this karachika ministry and people

31. Under GEJ govt or APC?

32. Well, there is a system in place that ensures that all Federal expenses are audited before and after payment. It is audited to ensure the authenticity of the contract and audited after payment to ensure payment was actually made in accordance to guidelines. These same auditors also ensure the contract is being carried out. These audits go as far through the system to the Auditor-general of the federation to the Accountant General to to Minister of Finance and guess who the Minister reports to... the president. so in all this, everyone in the system involved with the process of the contract should be held responsible along with the contractor. So, the president as at that time, knows about this. The contractor should also be blacklisted from being given any other contract. Bless

33. Is Ify calling the president a beast,...you should know that the man who did the mess is GEJ

34. Waiting for Ben Bruce twitt for now no comment

35. They must pay....God purnish them

36. All should understand that most of these allegations are not true. some of our Legislators doest investigate before going to press. if money is paid out, the need to ascertain for what purposes. in road contract, the first payment was never for construction but establishing site, carrying out tests including soil test and mapping out right of way. you need to find out if full mobilisation was even paid which i doubt. it is a bad system thats why contractors abandone sites as soon as there is change of govt

37. Are they also going to blame or say it's Buhari's fault now? This is the problem I have with this motherfucking Ben Murray Bruce, he kept his mouth shut during Jonathan's administration and watched them misuse and abuse power, coupled with failed administration of his good friend Jonathan. But all of a sudden, as soon as a new president is elected,he has become "common sense" senator and you have these well paid bloggers promoting his foolishness. I guess money trumps the need to do the right thing, otherwise, someone would have told Ben Bruce to shove his money where the sun don't shine, shut his fucking mouth and kill himself!

38. Odiegwu ooh nija I dey hail una o.linda huz gal