The Government needs to focus on Agriculture for a minute (Photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 8 January 2016

The Government needs to focus on Agriculture for a minute (Photos)

What Writer Rotimi Olawale shared on his Twitter Page. The Govt needs to start concentrating more on Agriculture ...see more after the cut...

111 comments:

1. Did he say 120..nawa ooo. Their guys at farmers market do make a lot of profit

2. like seriously some one has to look in that direction for a minute

3. D government really need to focus on agriculture n food security

4. Sad situation of the country

1. you can say that again...instead of thm killin themselfs bcs of crude oil thy ar othr better ways to make money nd develop d country...

#Al sah-him

5. I THOUGHT GEJ INVESTED ALOT ON THE AGRICULTURE INDUSTRY. MECHANIZED FARMING. HE DIDN'T ENABLE GOOD MARKET DEMAND FOR IT? PMB FIX IT

6. For real?

#iT wiLL oNLy gET beTTer
    #iT mUst eNd iN prAise

7. Chaiiii like serus,OMG I wish I get better money nah I 4 strt producing smtin wey dey my mind asap

8. No mind them..hope it's not too late b4 theyrealize the importance of Agric..

9. that's true the last time i travelled to Benue and i got a full bucket of orange for #150 i was dem shocked.

10. They are using dasukigate and others to distract Nigerians leaving all the important issues.

11. He's very correct

12. See how dumb our govt reason. silly people

13. hmmmmmm....tell our government oo

#XENO-FABIAN

14. yes T.B Joshua said it last year and this year.

Don~ jazzycrush

15. Buhari needs to set his priorities right and fast too.

16. i guess they are too busy focusing on the dwindling oil sector trying to revive it

17. WE ARE SURELY A WASTEFUL NATION, IF YOU TRAVEL TO BENUE STATE AND BEYOND AND SEE THE FRUITS THAT WASTING AWAY THE ROADSIDES AND THE ABANDONED FRUIT FARMS YOU WILL SURELY WEEP FOR US.

18. WE ARE SURELY A WASTEFUL NATION, IF YOU TRAVEL TO BENUE STATE AND BEYOND AND SEE THE FRUITS THAT WASTING AWAY THE ROADSIDES AND THE ABANDONED FRUIT FARMS YOU WILL SURELY WEEP FOR US.

19. Yeah.....,and sadly all dis exportable commodities that cud generate revenues for the country on the daily are put to waste by the hour in naija

20. .... Making good sense. Goverment should pay rapt attention to agriculture, and develop factors that will aid it eg TRANSPORTATION. That's the way forward for our Economy.

21. WE ARE SURELY A WASTEFUL NATION, IF YOU TRAVEL TO BENUE STATE AND BEYOND AND SEE THE FRUITS THAT WASTING AWAY THE ROADSIDES AND THE ABANDONED FRUIT FARMS YOU WILL SURELY WEEP FOR US.

22. WE ARE SURELY A WASTEFUL NATION, IF YOU TRAVEL TO BENUE STATE AND BEYOND AND SEE THE FRUITS THAT WASTING AWAY THE ROADSIDES AND THE ABANDONED FRUIT FARMS YOU WILL SURELY WEEP FOR US.

23. Tru talk, our president and minister of agric need put eye their cos Dem go rake in better revenue from agricultural produce. And Dem need provide confirm storage system to take dey preserve all our agricultural chocolate.

AJ MAIN BOY...

24. Farmers are forgotten in our nation

25. They have been making noise about Agriculture in Nigeria, we will do this we will do that. Instead of doing that they are playing snake in the monkey shadow.

26. Chivita and co needs the oranges. Dangote and co need the tomatoes. Unemployed youths...,can you see the opportunities in Nigeria yet?

27. Hope it will come to pass.#Abi linda#

28. If our railways were fully functional, transportation of these items should not be a problem. It is well sha.

29. Enter your comment...
    It not on only agriculture dat dy shld concertrate buh also on it marketing, processing storage and rural development cos dy all constitute agric development.

30. Hahahahahahahaha e don dey pain dem,wen I first talk dis tin no body wan listen to me
    Strolling away wit my Fayrouz drink....

Edobabe#replinda#

31. we really need it and let's stop depending on crude oil alone.

32. When its evn scarce in lagos.
    Nawa ooo

#Hajia Mufliat

33. While some places na gold b food stuff

34. You will even get it at N80 per bucket....come and see how foods are wasting in Benue state due to lack of investment on agricultural products

35. They cheat am sef. A bucket of oranges sells 4 #100

36. They cheat am sef. A bucket of oranges sell 4 #100

37. BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE.. ok orange tins Hmmm anyway me am Justsayingmaownohh via ma LATEST TECNO f7.
    @lindaikeji d lindus am still waiting ohh

38. Ir is well..'Linda observe carefully

39. For real! The govt shd do well by encouraging peasant farmers and agriculture as a whole so as to conserve our agric. products and also promote exports.

40. Can u imagine.. Orange N50, transport N80.....only in nigeria.

41. Well said.

#Somebody must to love me tonight.

42. True that! I served in Benue State between 2012-13, oranges waste their, especially around the Tiv areas. A big bucket of mango is also sold for 1h. Government should focus on Agriculture to help the oil based economy.

43. My brother @RotimiLawale please help me tell them. The next thing now you will hear it's Goodluck Jonathan's fault. It is well with our souls.

44. Even a baby knows dat only dat our leaders are xo myopic all they think of is oil oil oil

My view not urs!!!!

45. N exports from agricultural produce yields a whole lot
    Nigeria has alot of agricultural produce we can export

Miss Freeborn!!

46. Wow.. Criously.. Sai baba, Agriculture na the other way o

47. by the time it get to Lagos, the price will be about N600 while all the verious taxes will make it reach N1k. Nigeria is a big to it own self. pple want to make money by all means.

48. Concentrating more on agriculture will for sure yield good results. May God open the heart and eyes of our leaders.

#LindaThumbsUp

49. True Linda, things are awefully cheap over there....(whatever "Awefully" means)

50. If only they can see

The gods are watching

51. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Nna we are suffering in this country.....

52. We need actions not words or comments posted on social networks
    ....from Romans

53. Order for premium quality wears(Male and Female).
    Delivery at your doorstep Nation wide.

BBM: 2754B912, Call: 08130373753
    Whatsapp: 08034334692

Items available:

Raulph Lauren Polo T shirts, Office Shirts, Denim Shirts, Jeans Trousers,Chinos, Pant Trousers, Round/ V neck, Suits, Shoes, Ties, etc.

54. They will leave the important things to be done and be doing other things.....mstwwwwwwwwww.

#GLORY2GLORY#

55. They will leave the important things to be done and be doing other things.....mstwwwwwwwwww.

#GLORY2GLORY#

56. na wa oh...and we buy just one for 50 naira in lagos while a whole bucket goes for as low as 120...the major challenge we have like he said is storage and converting orange to other uses like the juice etc.
    stanli

57. We have the lands,fertile soil and the manpower yet we are neck deep in poverty and debt cause of misplacement of priority and resources. We need to go back to what we were originally known for ie Agriculture

anaekwe.ucheslimj@gmail.com

58. True

59. owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin)8 January 2016 at 16:27

yes dey really need to...

60. D government need to not jus crude oil alone

61. Aboki won't do jack!...Dem believe in oil die!...Dats why we have One Nigeria

62. Seriously. Where's the president that was busy talking about improving agriculture and all... Buhari and his goons think we a stupid

63. are you serious...angelmakiz@yahoo.com

64. Corruption is destroying us as it stands. We need to be very creative with our human capital development. we have more resources than japan, yet we are very far behind. May God save Africa

65. these are the kind of things our govt should be paying attention to, in terms of agriculture, and our so called fruit juice company too

66. Africans need to get back to sense

67. funkecrown05@gmail.com8 January 2016 at 18:46

Honestly

68. Ochichi buhari bu nke ndi uno ha na agba oku ana achu oke...

69. It's obviously not just agriculture that needs to be focused on here, but food processing and food preservation. the whole value chain. Orange juice, orange jam, dried oranges, orange peel for aroma production Etc.

70. This is so so true. Serving in vandeikya LG in Benue and we buy a bucket of orange for 100naira, excess potatoes and yams. I think its time we invest in agriculture, oil isn't all we are blessed with in Nigeria

71. Same thing in Uwajalaiye in Ondo state.

72. wer is native doctor

73. hoboy how ur oga now, u no come show area again ur igbo dey inside that yellow block dey wait u oh lighter dey for d usual place

74. He's so right. Same as Anyiin the village of Former Benue state gov. They have 7 different types of Mango and they got name for every and yes u heard me right

75. I'M FROM BENUE STATE OUR GOVERNOR SHOULD ALSO DO SOMETHING FEDERAL GOV CANT DO ALL FOR US...WHAT HAPPENED TO OUR TOMATOES FACTORY?AND THE JUICE FACTORY IN BENUE STATE?I WISH MY GOV CAN OPEN HIS EYES AND FACE CHALLENGES EVERY STATE NEED TO CREATE A WAY TO GENERATE MORE REVENUE TO THE STATE...WE ARE BLESSED WITH AGRICULTURAL PRODUCT YET BENUE STATE LOOK LIKE SHIT..BENUE STATE GOVERNMENT SHOULD WAKE UP..

76. I must concur they need to look @ agriculture forever! They keep focusing on crude oil that is failing us right now...

77. And this is not just some mere talk, it is so true, not just in Tarka Local Government.

78. Yes ooo, they really need to