Press Release From The producers Of The 93 Days Movie | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 10 January 2016

Press Release From The producers Of The 93 Days Movie

We hereby categorically and strongly deny all the allegations contained in the recent press statement released by one Dr Ama Adadevoh, who claims to be acting on behalf of the Cardoso and Adadevoh families. The said allegations are not only untrue they are malicious and scurrilous and a calculated attempt to sabotage our feature film, “93 Days”. 93 Days is not the biopic of any one individual and has never claimed to be the story of Doctor Stella Adadevoh.
Whilst that in itself is a strong story, we found it more compelling to tell a story that celebrates many of the heroes of the fight against Ebola. These include the doctors, nurses and staff of First Consultant’s Hospital, the employees of the Lagos and Federal Ministries of Health, corporate and individual Nigerians who rose to the challenge of fighting the scourge as well as the WHO team that came in to help at the risk of personal injury and even death. For us, this presented a more universal story of human courage, dedication and sacrifice that may inspire our great country and its people. Ours is a pride story that shows Nigeria at one of its finest hours and casts our country in a positive light around the world.
To ensure the universal appeal of the film we enlisted, at great cost, Nigerian and International actors to feature in the film. Amongst these were Danny Glover, Keppy Ekpeyong and Bimbo Akintola. We want to state plainly that we do not require anyone’s consent to make the film as we have a constitutionally guaranteed right to freedom of speech and expression. Besides, the matters portrayed in the film were derived from facts that are well within the public domain and those facts which were not already publicly known were provided to us by those privy to the said facts.

For instance, we obtained additional information from interviews with the survivors of those who lost loved ones, volunteer doctors and nurses as well as officials of the Lagos State Ministry of Health. To honor those protagonists of the Ebola story it was essential for us that the film be, as much as possible, an accurate, genuine and sincere record of the facts relating to the country’s efforts to fight the disease.

In fact, that was the only way of doing justice to those brave individuals (and foreigners) who had given so much in the service of the country. To this end and contrary to the allegations contained in the press statement released by Dr Ama Adadevoh, we enlisted the help of the Adadevoh and Cardoso families from day one.

They gave their comments on the script and their amendments were incorporated into the final script. Further, the late Stella Adadevoh’s son, Bankole Cardoso, consented to the making of the film and to being portrayed in the film. Not only did he consent, he was kind enough to provide us with information concerning his late mother’s actions during those trying times.

The facts provided by him proved useful in the development of the script and we have his interview on film should anyone require further proof. In essence, the story of Dr Stella Adadevoh depicted in the film was obtained partly from facts provided to us by the Adadevoh and Cardoso families and more importantly by her son, Bankole Cardoso.

We are aware that Dr Ama Adadevoh and certain elements within the family are involved in another film project on the Ebola story and are attempting to derail our film in the misguided belief that to do so would ensure the success of their film. It is plainly wrong for these people to try and monopolize the Ebola story exclusively for themselves by trying to prevent the making and release of a film that so many of the people concerned have supported and contributed to.

Our film features many of the people who were in the vanguard of the fight against the terrible disease. Many of these people lost loved ones and made other sacrifices still unknown to a majority of Nigerians. They have supported the film and want their story told and it is only fair that their stories are told.

In light of this, we fully intend to tell their story! In doing so we refuse to be bullied or cowed by empty, petty and ridiculous threats based on false and trumped up allegations.

74 comments:

1. Hmmm! Don't know what to say. They should sort themselves out. Ebola case wasn't just about Dr Adadevoh, so dey shouldn't "monopolize" it.

Linda I hv arrived, post my comment.

2. It all narrows down to one thing, if the family were well compensated, we probably wouldn't have heard a word of this!

3. Nice.. should be a good movie. Looking forward to its release...#udo

4. Ok,i am so waiting fr dis movie

5. 419

Meenah_wakil in instagram

6. Abeg Linda, pls read it and summarize it for me thank you... *Strolls away*

7. 419

Meenah_wakil in instagram

1. Meenah, are You not ugly enough? Why torture us wit ur instagran handle? Even with the heavy make up, ur face be like horror film.

8. Ok seen

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
    #iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

9. Abeg Linda, pls read it and summarize it for me thank you... *Strolls away*

10. Pls tell PMB to give us the jobs he promised #unemployed graduate

11. Just hoping this version is true.....

12. Ok seen

Tosisochukwu! Marry me

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

13. PARENTAL ADVISORY
    ^^^Adult Content^^^

The movie is gonna be hyped rubbish as usual

14. Why on earth lately ppl can't talk without mentioning TRUMP(ED) inside..........anyway if what u said is thru then go ahead....every1 has his own stories to tell abt d Ebola.

15. Waiting make I talk hmmmm.#Abi linda#

16. Issokay seen, thanks for sharing. Linda take note!

17. They've categorically made their statement. Let's see what will happen.

18. They've categorically made their statement. Let's see what will happen.

19. Isn't that a poster for the movie with Dr. Adadevoh's name boldly spelt and they claim it's not a biopic! Lol. They should luck their wounds and count their losses abeg.

20. funkecrown05@gmail.com10 January 2016 at 18:29

We've heard

21. funkecrown05@gmail.com10 January 2016 at 18:30

We've heard

22. Ok oooooo

(Linda d Kim K's fan)

23. Wow
    Love bimbo, one of the best actress Yoruba has ever had. She is a genius, my second all time nollywood actress after oge okoye.

Linda's last son

24. Wow
    Love bimbo, one of the best actress Yoruba has ever had. She is a genius, my second all time nollywood actress after oge okoye.

Linda's last son

25. who is lying and who is telling the truth???? Everyone is playing the victim. well, make any of the film cum out make I watch Jor!!!!!!!!!

26. Now the movie is getting some hype. Whether intended or sincere, i like this tactics. I only hope the movie lives up to expectation.

27. But you producers kinda of implied that the movie was about Adedevo when you made her the centre of your production. I have been following this story because Biimbo Akintola is on my Facebook and she constantly posted about this and talked about the costumes and how much she looked like the late doctor after they applied her make up and special effects on the set of the movie. So why the hell are y'all denying it now? Only because the family spoke out, right?! SMH

28. These producers are suffering from delusion of grandeur. how can you claim the title is not about dr. Adedevbo when the its her name on the title of your movie. Y'all producers are crazy as hell! Lol

29. Well any situation can give a nice story line 4 a nice movie 2 motivate pple in contributing meaning fully 2 d society. The Adadevoh's family shd pls let go of ds dramer. RIP 2 d brave & selfless Dr stella Adadevoh,she ll always be in our mind.

30. u people should forget your press releases and bring film make watch jor.

31. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Lord knws am watching that movie and thats fact...... So all this wahala is just waste of tym nothing else......

32. Buratai must hear this.

#GeneralFortune

33. There's no way a professional Lawyer wrote this. LMAO!

34. it all boils down to the Naira and Kobo from the films. they should all agree and let it be.

35. Change the name or [Pay the family some royalties. You should get sued to your last penny

36. we shall see when we see the movie

37. my people how una dey?

LINDA SO YOU DON'T WANNA SHOW US YOUR BF.

SHOW US NA, ABEG

38. Hmmmm we shall see

39. After all dis grammar,you guys are still gonna release a wack visual and story

40. The profucers of this film needs to be more respectful of the Adadevoh and Cardoso families. Sidelining one family will backfire on the film-we all know the central focus is Dr. Stella Adadevoh herself(The film cover says it all). Seeking Dr. Adadevoh's son's consent alone is not morally sufficient.

41. Their cup of coffee mtewwww!!!

42. every body wants to make money..lol

43. So who we go blv?

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
    Reporting from Delsu.

44. Okay...story for the gods

MZ EUEU

45. Ok ooooo #HopingToGet100kThisYear

46. seen....angelmakiz@yahoo.com

47. YOU GUYS SHOULD SHUT IT. OOPORTUNISTS. STOP TAKING ADVANTAGE OF PPLE'S PAINS