Photos: See this amazing ice hotel made entirely out of ice and snow that opens only in winter | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 8 January 2016

Photos: See this amazing ice hotel made entirely out of ice and snow that opens only in winter

The Hotel de Glace in Quebec Canada is an amazing edifice made out of ice and snow and attracts millions of visitors yearly. The hotel made of 30,000 tones of ice churned together has beds made out of ice, has 44 rooms and suites and has been open since 2001. See more amazing pics after the cut...

A team of 50 people begin construction of the hotel every December when temperatures fall below zero degrees centigrade and after building the hotel for six weeks, open its doors to tourists from all over the world.

Jacques Desbois, CEO of the ice hotel, was inspired to build it after reading an article about Sweden's Ice Hotel, famously stating: "If they can do it in Sweden, we can do it here in Quebec." He packed his bags and flew to JukkasjÀrvi, Sweden, to meet the creators of the structure with its touristic potential.

142 comments:

1. Alright, noted.

Wild flowers!

1. Oyinbo ehn can we ever meet up with them

2. The day it will melt ehn!!!

3. would be nice to ve my wedding here

4. Now that's creativity, not drinking liquor by turning plastic water bottle to cup. But wait o, what if the ice melts? Guess checks and balances are already in place.

5. God forbid, I can't subject myself to severe punishment in the name of tourism. Abuja was cold December I sleep in double duvet, so how can I sleep in an ice room I be fish?

6. Uwa amaka ma ijide ego

Life is sweet gbagam

7. Speechless

LINDA NOTIFY DBANJ

8. Mehn! The heat inside will be so unbearable for me

9. Cold no go kill person for there. Linda take note!

10. Cold no go kill person fr dis kain hotel?

11. Creativity at its best....am planning of making something like this in nigeria but with ice block...e go work die

#XENO-FABIAN

2. The heater inside would be out of this world

1. Omo , no be small pneumonia incubator be this... But very creative..

3. Whoahhhh!!!!beautiful hope it's not dat cold ooo

1. Common sense. It's made of ice n snow. asap

2. I won't try myself..... And if I must try myself I would use it for my wedding to get beautiful pics that's abt it after that I won't play that kind of rough play

3. Very creative..

Lindaz in-law(my brother's wife)

4. Canada for life...... Let's go Linda

5. Linda take note,your honeymoon will be here..

6. Absolutely amazing.

***ECHOMASS***

7. Biko pardon my ignorance but how do they stay warm in these kinda hotel? A building whose walls are totally made of ice?

8. See you all there........ Let's go Linda

9. Creativity at its best

10. Nice, white 2much jare #sneh

11. Enter your comment...ahah Aunty Linda that place will be suitable for people like
    YOU!

Long live the queen
    (Linda Ikeji)

12. wow,so wat happens during summer

1. I kept scrolling down to see if I'd see a comment or question of this nature. If I didn't, I'd have known there's a problem on this blog. Walahi. It's still sad that it's just us asking.

2. Its written there that the hotel is rebuilt every december which happens to be the winter period. So yes it obviously melts buh gets rebuilt

3. Did u not read d news?? Dats why ppl didnt ask. The hotel only operates during winter. Plsss read d msg b4 looking at d pix. It gives u a clearer view.

13. Lovely; creative people everywhere.

14. looks beautiful

Stern's crush

15. Der is nothing person no go see for dz world..ice hotel kwa?

#linda give me 1bo#

16. Der is nothing person no go see for dz world..ice hotel kwa?

#linda give me 1bo#

17. creativity at its height. Nice one

18. So they rebuild it every winter??? Its pretty but not safe...and it'll be cold in there...no thanks!

19. This is not new na Linda, ,maybe its new for all those who depend on LIB for daily news

1. Na bad belle dey worry you

20. I'll b dere during winter

Edobabe#replinda#

21. Trust it to be freezing in there.
    love the ingenuity put to work here.

22. Linda our honeymoon is going to b der o!

#let's get prepared #

23. Linda our honeymoon is going to b der o!

#let's get prepared #

24. Heavenly, bu d place will b damn cold

25. This is so lovely..seeing myself there already

26. All I can say is "Waow"

27. Innovation at its peak tho

28. Reminds me of 007 - Die another day. Me favorite bond movie ever

29. LINDAIKEJIWANNABE8 January 2016 at 17:36

Nawoo,wetin person no go seeoo

Comment by a naija model

30. A-mazing!!

anaekwe.ucheslimj@gmail.com

31. Why would i want to send myself to an early grace in a place like this?

32. I will visit when I travel to Canada next winter

33. I will visit when I travel to Canada next winter

34. wow!! dis is awesome

35. Linda this is where we'll spend our honeymoon. 😠

36. During winter wen errywhr wil trust xtremely cold, person go com tok sey na inside ice hotel him one sleep? And hw do the burners in there not melt the ice mbok? Biko al pass, na too much moni dey cos this kind thinking!!

37. Wow dis is beautiful, lovely & awesome. Would love to visit someday.

38. No be this one dem use for James Bond movie

39. E make sense. But how Dem wan take preserve during hot weather? LindaGatti help me ask Dem, u dey wait for fees back

AJ MAIN BOY...

40. Pneumonia is sure....Jesus is Coming soon tho

41. funkecrown05@gmail.com8 January 2016 at 18:14

Scary

42. Creativity at its peak...reminds me of frozen

43. Oyibo wan kill person,my country dey fuck up

44. Ehen, will storm d hotel next winter

45. It's nice and creative. Bt after winter, wat happens to it? Hope it won't melt away?

46. GETAWAY IN THE FREEZER!issorai

*LINDA'S ROOMMATE

47. GETAWAY IN THE FREEZER!issorai

*LINDA'S ROOMMATE

48. Looks kool. But wouldn't it be very cold in there

49. omo cold go kill person

#Al sah-him

50. omg adorable. I am so gonna visit there someday

51. THERE'S NO WAY I'M STAYING IN THIS HOTEL. ITS NOT SAFE!

52. Shebi person go go use e money buy sickness say na enjoyment?

53. You can achieve whatever ......dream big

54. See brain God give person. I marvel at this jorr

#commonsense

55. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    This is just amazing though no doubt....

56. Cold go just kill this people

57. abeg I want to knw won't somebody freeze in it.

58. Chap!
    What will make me enter there

59. Nice creative work!!! % Linda Your Greatest Fan %

60. There must be a way of warming up the place I guess. Really creative!

61. This is confirm madness! Hotel made of ice. Instead of them to reduce unemployment and reduction of tax,they are building a hotel made of ice. Foolish country

62. Definitely not for Africans!! Tupu oyi atugbuo umu mmadu!

63. Wonder how the heating system work without getting the ice melted.

64. Whites no go kill us wit creativity

65. Oh how I love creativity....dis is magnificient

66. Amazing..... Beautiful but cold go finish person ooooo

67. Wow. Creative begins from the mind

68. Wow beautiful I love this LIB note

69. Wow! Indeed we are gods. There's ni limit to what a human van achieve.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN.

70. Amazingly beautiful and creative

#Bye