Lassa fever kills nursing mother and her two weeks old baby in Port Harcourt | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 6 January 2016

Lassa fever kills nursing mother and her two weeks old baby in Port Harcourt

The outbreak of Lassa fever in Nigeria has spread to Port Harcourt, the Rivers state capital where a nursing mother and her two-week-old baby have been confirmed to have died of the deadly viral disease. This comes after the Taraba state government last week confirmed the outbreak of the disease in their state.

Rivers State Commissioner for Health, Dr. Theophilus Odagme, while confirming the death of the mother and child said
“First incident happened between December 30, 2015, and January 1, to a mother and later to her two weeks old child. Yesterday, at about 10:00 pm, I received a call that a mother and child died in a hospital following similar and serious fever which killed them and was suspected to be Lassa fever. After series of test conducted on them, it was confirmed they died of the disease.”.
He said that contact tracing had begun and sensitisation of health care providers was ongoing to address the disease. Lassa fever is a deadly viral disease that is transmitted by infected rodents. The virus is usually transmitted after exposure to infected rodents and also through direct contact with a person that has been infected with the virus.

Precautionary measures to avert being infected include ensuring a clean, rodent-free environment, putting food in rodent proof containers and wearing protections such as masks, gloves, gowns among others.

90 comments:

1. Eyah. Plz dey shud try nd curb dis before it spreads

2. Which one be this one again? And school is resuming next week?? AAABEEEG OOO, HA!!

3. God help us from another looming epidemic..

4. So sad! May their souls rest in peace. Linda take note!

5. Lord Jesus pls hav mercy.may their beautiful souls rest in thy Lord in Jesus name.amen!oh Lord pls we plead for ur mercy dt by ur grace this disease n its type shall d leave d surface of dis earth in Jesus name.amen!
      #nothankyoui'dratherbeselfmade

2. Is this the disease that man of God was talking about?. What is his name again?....

1. Why always PH

2. Pastor Adeboye. Lord have mercy on us.

3. I must grow in Jesus Name Amen6 January 2016 at 10:13

End time disease!!! God help us all

4. It came before and was tackled..... Its gonna be tackled again #ItsWell

Also Check Vabadon's Blog

5. God protect ur children

#Al sah-him

3. The heAlth organisation shuld take imidiate action on how 2 clear it away b4 it turn 2 sumtin else

Tosisochukwu! Marry me

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

4. Omg... please be safe out there

5. God help us...

6. Lassa outbreak? God forbid o

#LibGotMeUpAllNight

7. So unfortunate

8. May their souls Rest in Peace (Amen)

Linda's Boo

9. Is this the new year sickness?

10. God forbid bad thing.
    It will not be our portion in Jesus name.

PROPHECY: I saw more new, unknown disease being manifested in this year. Let us be praying against any deadly disease.

11. Aw! This is horrible, may God give her loved once the heart to bear the lost.

12. Damn it! May their souls rest in peace

13. God save us.
    New discoveries of viruses everyday.

14. It is well. Avoid rodents in your house. Lassa fever is very deadly.

15. Jesu!! Dts ebola younger brother na..God help any rat I see in Ma houz...it's gona wake up dead....God save us!

16. May their soul rest in peace..hope the government is handling this situation with utmost urgency..#my2cents

17. Am sure is not the prophecy of adeboye.
    Sad indee.This is mall Judas rotimi amechi badluck.
    Say no to Judas amechi say not to Egyptians plagues.

18. its a pity. so sorry

19. Awww spreading so fast,hope it dosnt gets to lagos...Believe

20. government shud plz b serious with dis Lassa fever b4 it get out of hands o

21. God save us oooo from all this. you have done it before in time of so called EBOLA.

22. Hehehehehe so d disease can kill,God forbid bad tin I just heard abt it yesterday from TVC

23. Too early for such outbreak jare. Pretty sure we'll contain this just like that of Ebola.

24. God help us,its been death for a while now,sickness of the Egyptians shall not be our portion.

25. Abeg oooo u people shud do somefin abt dis ooo

My view not urs!!!!

26. Nawao! May their souls rest in peace.

27. kingsareborn2rule6 January 2016 at 08:47

Enter your comment...Oh lord! into ur hands I commit my country from disease of any kind.

#Haveyouprayedfornigeriatoday

28. Ohh Lord,please help u'r children.

29. Nawaooo...shortly after recovering from the shock of ebola,now is larsa fever...its time to drink salt and hot water again, my fellow Nigerians

30. This 2016, no disease fashioned against me and my household shall prosper...it is well with us

31. so sad... i hope the govt intervenes bfore it spreads... and yet the so called pastors (all Fake) did not see this one coming.. but they can see what is going to happen in america... mtshewww

32. Even our own Port Harcourt kwa?

33. Dr. Theophilus Odagme should provide us with clear picture of the Location were the incident happened.Not just trying to create tension in the State.

34. God pls save us frm lassa fever

35. In my portharcourt kwaa .

....just saying...

36. SubhanAllah!!! Spread Fast Govt please Ooo Contain this Disease.

#Salam_Alaykum

37. Hiaaaaa ha si no Lassa Fever kwa??? Oburo zi Ebola. Oh Chineke umu gi no gi na aka

Toni'Fresh West

38. Something needs to be done about this epidemic o

PEPSI ADDICT

39. God Plz protect your children...Linda much love/Long Live LIB

40. Ebola virus no 2. Linda my first choice$

41. So sad..Govt please do something fast

42. Hmmmm rats bikonu

43. Which one is lassa again. RIP

44. Hmmmmm, anywhere you see rat now abeg run ooooooooooo, this one is equal to Ebola

45. One week one trouble...from Ebola to this.God save your people.

Okbye.

46. Evrry day tings de happen,mk God help us

47. This is called for proper sanitation habit in order stay safe..

48. God pls prove ursef once again.

...EniolaTeju

49. owakah (A.KA. Innosometin)6 January 2016 at 10:29

Its well

50. May God help us...however, the govt. shd pls act fast o

51. Witchie witchie rats. May their souls RIP.....Amen

#GLORY2GLORY#

52. Witchie witchie rats. May their souls RIP.....Amen

#GLORY2GLORY#

53. God help us. @ Liindaijeji No. 1 FAN

54. Ebola the second. Na wa oooooo. My God when i dey serve go kill am asap.

55. Which kind disease be this again .after ebola?? Hmm.save us oh Lord

56. God abeg o nah beg we beg o. Help us.

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
    Reporting from Delsu.

57. lassar fever....angelmakiz@yahoo.com

58. Lord have mercy on ur children

59. Lord have mercy on ur children