Facebook blocks a photo of iconic little Mermaid statue, says it has 'sexual undertones' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 5 January 2016

Facebook blocks a photo of iconic little Mermaid statue, says it has 'sexual undertones'

A Danish member of parliament tried to share a photo of Copenhagen’s iconic Little Mermaid statue on Facebook but received a rejection notification saying it could not be published because of rules on nudity. The rejection message shared by MP Mette Gjerskov on Facebook, which has now gone viral, says, "The image contained too much bare skin or sexual undertones".

Facebook also added that the rules applied for images which have ‘artistic or educational’ purpose. However, it later relented and approved the image.

The social media giant had clarified its stand on nudity and its community standards in general on March 15, 2015.

"We remove photographs of people displaying genitals or focusing in on fully exposed buttocks. We also restrict some images of female breasts if they include the nipple, but we always allow photos of women actively engaged in breastfeeding or showing breasts with post-mastectomy scarring. We also allow photographs of paintings, sculptures and other art that depicts nude figures," it said.

Facebook said that its harsh stand "can sometimes be more blunt than we would like and restrict content shared for legitimate purposes". But from time to time it has encountered problems over legitimate posts.

90 comments:

Na them sabi...!!

Funny

Na wao

Very good.

Wild flowers!

Still trying to see what will turn any sane person on in the pictures....

I DON'T C ANY SEXUAL OBJECT HERE. WHAT ABT THE GIRLS GOING NAKED ON FB? HIPPOCRITICAL FB

Chai! Wetin person no go hear bikonu. Linda take note!

BOKO said...

nice statue

#leavetrashforlawma

Okay o

omidan abby said...

Which one b sexual undertone again? Abeg leave matter for mathias..

Uzosafetyblog said...

Good news. #IRepLIB

Odiegwu o!!! I will comment later

Beauty Zone said...

Atleast there should be a measure of control over what is posted on fb.

Babylawyer. said...

Whatever. It's not close to the nudity all over fb na.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

Their wahala.

Linda my sister.

Cherry girl said...

i like the restriction

waffymercyjohnson said...

Their business
Not mine

None of my business

sexy Cha Cha said...

Ok noted

Mtchewwwwww....

I have seen enough naked pictures of bad girls on facebook and non has been taken down...what's bad in that stature!!??

Don jazzy driver hahahahahahahahahahahaha.

Funny indeed

ok...godd for them

#XENO-FABIAN

Enter your comment...visibly seen .ok.

Whatever jhor... dee

Seriously?

sir flawless said...

really

Hian

GHOSTFACE said...

na only dem knw

OK we hear

Facebook be acting like most Islamic countries. #sideeye

imagine! Nothing person no go see, biko leave trash for lawma. @Linda well done

I hear whr dem dey wen all this fuck girl and boyz be uploading their naked. Pics and video on facebook...guess their security office 4 naijja don shut down...

SHORTEST DUDE said...

End time things!

Imagine fuel is 86.50 naira also!

SHORTEST DUDE said...

Ah ah!

Mufliat said...

Na them sabi

#Hajia Mufliat

Really?

Aunty Linda Enter your comment...

Even if there is any tin 2 turn pple on....u wil stil be OFF cos the tin no get longthing(PRICK)....@onyx

I can't see any sexual undertones here

I love it #2016dbestisherealready #singinavemaria

I forgot to comment

Una think say Facebook na IG Abi?

Okogba said...

Hallright

it's ok
Noted

that's their biznez

Na der cup of Alomo

E gud 4 dem

Benedict emeka said...

The pics is racy thou

princess Stella said...

Hmmmm. To me no sexual undertone nothing in d picture.

Ruby Owanate said...

How na???

Victor Emeka Isaac said...

Nawa for Facebook oh

Also Check Vabadon's Blog

It's ok
Noted,will look into my pics, on facebook

Their headache

Na wa it is even beta than some pic girls upload

My view not urs!!!!

i don't see anything wrong with that...angelmakiz@yahoo.com

Wetin concern me?

Notin person wey dem no dey see

Seyi said...

Rubbish

chyyy said...

That's nice. I don't kwn whether this rule s applicable 2 naija posts. I saw a friend request one day in my facebook with a disgusting pic. I opened the guys pictures , behold his naked pics even d one his penis is erected. Nawaoooo

Is ok

ok o...

*yawns*
#needanalibitojoinmetastethenewgeishasardine

The one to block wuna no go block...ajayi no pay

Na wa o, u copied Juliet or whatever,add ur email join too becos of give away that will occur in another 360days to come..

YET THEY ALLOW NUDE PICTURES OF KIM KARDASHIAN.DOUBLE STANDARDS

Notin person no go hear dis year

new girl said...

Serious one
For Female Bodycon dress, Ankara, chiffon at affordable price. Add 51667BE6.

owakah (A.KA. Innosometin) said...

nice blocking.....

Na Wa 4 dem though

kudos said...

This status creates no picture in any bodies mind compared to the pure nude I see every on FB...Believe

Ok.. Nice info

#WhoshouldItell

I thought as much

Ok!!!

Na dem sabi

Dia pbalaba bt I tink I av seen ws worse dan dis on fb

That's their cup of tea

Their wahala.
"NeVeR SaY NeVeR"

Eddy ogbunambala said...

Na dem sabi

In fact over funny sef mcheeeeew

D guy won enta headline

Dammmmn Lawd av mercy ur forehead tho

mama said...

Pls stop this bully, it's called cyber bully. Let this guy be biko,what is it sef? Jeez!!!. Everyone of u mocking onyx should be ashamed of yourselves,he is obviously stronger and more confident in himself that all of u put together.

barrister said...

Commentin 4d 1st tym, hope it will b approved.

I don't see anything sexy about the pic sef, anywayz na dem sabi

#LibGotMeUpAllNight

Jik$pecialist. said...

how then are there many pictures displaying nudity on facebook if they claim to have such stand

Pesin Pikin said...

How ridiculous!!!

cork and bull... Double your hustle

wizkid saviours said...

Hmmmmmm