Court grants former PDP Chairman Haliru Bello & son N600m bail | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 7 January 2016

Court grants former PDP Chairman Haliru Bello & son N600m bail

The Federal High Court in Abuja has granted a N600 million bail to the former National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Dr. Haliru Bello and his son, Abba. The two are facing a 4-count criminal charge‎ bordering on alleged N300 million fraud‎.

Delivering judgement on their bail application, the presiding judge, Justice Ahmed Mohammed ordered the duo to pay N300million each as well as produce two sureties each, in like sum.

One of the persons to stand surety for the former PDP chairman must be a Director under the employment of the federal government or any of its agencies while the the son was asked to produce someone not below grade level 12 to stand surety for him.

Justice Mohammed ordered that the second surety must be an owner of landed property in Abuja the value of which must not be below N300m, adding that the title deed of such property must be verified and surrendered to the court registrar throughout the duration of the trial.

The accused persons were also asked to surrender their international passports to the court. Pending the perfection of the bail terms, the court ordered that Abba should be remanded in prison custody, saying the ex-PDP boss should remain in hospital but placed under police watch. Hearing on the fraud charges begins on February 16.

58 comments:

1. #Change is here already! EFCC should arrest them all! Nd jail terms await u all the politicians criminals who looted Nigeria public funds.

2. All these hundreds of millions all these politicians are sharing.... Dia ris God ooo

3. Buhari be collecting our money small small from this people..600m for bail ??? Chai I believe in this govt abeg.

2. haruna Kefas daniel

1. No be small money ooo
      Odinu egwu really
      Ok ooooo
      Let's c what happens next
      Linda dont take note!

# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

3. i hope this will not just die out...angelmakiz@yahoo.com

4. Corruption continues while the poor's continue dying,life is un fair to some.

5. Lol.
    No Chills at All.
    Hang all em corrupt mofos whichever way.

6. Them dey fuck up oh!
    Them for increase him prison sentence

7. Lol.
    No Chills at All.
    Hang all em corrupt mofos whichever way it pleases thee.

8. Na wa o! Na d ppl wey dey spoil 9ja be diz...pls o, is there any way they can increase the money to be paid for the bail? Cuz dis is not enough o

9. chisos.... na only pdp this efcc dey see
    Linda take note!!!

10. Hmmmmm...okay o

11. U stole 300million and u are asked to pay 600million bail. That's twice the number u stole. May God continue to punish the looters and give the government the strength to prosecute all of u. Fmr. Chairman Haliru, dnt worry, u r still going to jail even after paying that money.

12. They will neva go to jail. Useless country

13. #600 mill for #300 mill...very good..unlike before...
    #sips oriJin#

14. Ok enjoy ur freedom y it lasts

My view not urs!!!!

15. D amount judges re granting bail ehnn...sum1 is charged for stealing 300m and u grant him bail of 600m with 2 sureties who says govt won't recover back d stolen fund

1. Nobody asked them to pay any money. The bail granted would only be paid by the surety only when the accused jumps bail. That's why it is stated that the surety must own property valued at firstsale of 300 million. If the accuse jumps bail, and the surety fails to produce him in court, the surety will be asked to pay the said sum of 300m or go to jail.

16. 600m...wow! Hope they pay oooo. .if not na to sleep in jail be dat

17. When Money speaks, Shit walks! That remains the situation of my dear Nation. A poor man can't see the light of the day with things like these happening.

I'm not a robot!
    Je ne suis pas un Robot!
    Abughi m Igwe obula!
    Nye manyi robot debu!
    Mi O yi Sé Irin!

!!!!!!!

18. What a country, N600m bail for N300m offence. Rubbish

19. Oya na. Say no to Corruption

20. How can a civil servant or public servant owns a landed property worth 300m?

21. Na wah oh..

If you need a website check this out

http://www.dejijohnson.com/2015/12/you-need-a-website/

22. na wa oh,, so case don die be that.. see the man even smiling sef

23. The courts want to strip these thieves of all stolen money via bail and bonds. 600 Million naira? Anyway, they should recover our monies and prosecute the guilty criminals.

#GLORY2GLORY#

24. The courts want to strip these thieves of all stolen money via bail and bonds. 600 Million naira? Anyway, they should recover our monies and prosecute the guilty criminals.

#GLORY2GLORY#

25. An offence of N300 million naira got you to pay a bail of N600 million naira?? Lol

26. Na wah oh...

If you need a website, check

http://www.dejijohnson.com/2015/12/you-need-a-website/

27. This is encouraging, they will think twice before stealing... Double your hustle

28. This is hilarious, they stole from us. Now your son will learn from the government since you didn't deem it fit to train him not to steal.

29. SO distressing that after all their lot, they get bail...naija nawa!!

30. Corruption won't end @ all. Jisie nu ike. #LindaNgwanu#

31. Nigeria got the worst judicial system in the world: you steal billions from public treasure, you get arraigned, use part of the stolen funds to secure your bail and life goes on.. CASE CLOSED... God will judge all of you.

32. I pray den jail dem 20yrs 4 jail. Monkeys

33. Hehehhe 300 for 600 na wa oh...if that's d case stealing won't be interesting again...politician how market

GeoGRAPHICal error

~Make I go drink on bottle of beer~

34. Hehehhe steal 300 pay 600 as bail.. na wa oh...if that's d case stealing won't be interesting again...politician how market

~Make I go drink on bottle of beer~

35. plenty plenty ego...chai

MISSVEE

36. 600 gini?

37. Our judiciary is Disney world....

38. Thanks baba go slow. I like you sha