Basketball legend Shaquille O'Neal surprises the kids who were reported for playing ball in a Gainesville neighborhood | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 24 January 2016

Basketball legend Shaquille O'Neal surprises the kids who were reported for playing ball in a Gainesville neighborhood

Remember the viral video of Officer Bobby White of Gainesville, Florida who was called to the scene of a 'noisy kids' complaint, found some teens innocently playing basketball during the daytime and instead of scolding them, joined them to play?

Video of the cop's good-hearted community policing which went viral with over four million views, attracted retired Basketball legend, Shaquille O'Neal. Shaq first came to the police station to surprise the police officer - and then they and several other officers headed for the neighborhood where the kids were playing.

Surprising the kids, O'Neal played with them for awhile and then promised $100 to whoever could make a free throw. Each of the kids managed to get the ball in on the first try, except for one kid, who got it in on the second try. He kept to his promise, gifted them and also advised them, saying,
'Here's the secret that will change your life. Know how much money I made? $700million. I did it by listening to my peers, my mommy and daddy, and focusing on school. I grew up just like this and you could grow up to be whatever you want to be.'
O'Neal then told the boys he was proud of them for staying out of trouble and urged them to keep playing ball. He also had them repeat after him: 'I will become whatever I want to be; I will be a leader and not a follower; I will respect my peers and my elders and especially my parents.'

69 comments:

1. Good one.....happy sunday

2. Whew! Dude is gigantic

3. Wat better way to treat ur community ppl dan ds.

4. The fun continues.Abi linda!

5. Awwww, dis is a good one. Linda take note!

6. Not with Nigerian Police, they don't smile at all, soildiers smiles much better than them... Nice one, keep the spirit of love going.

7. Nice one thumps up

Linda will you marry me

8. Ds is how to make an impact.

#Linda'spal

2. Replies
    1. Mehn! Dis man is big! Love his stature

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

3. Enter your comment...I. Love him

4. Awesome!
    #DavidKingEze

5. Woow that is nice

PEPSI ADDICT

6. The joke is on whoever called. Nice of him

7. oh God, see macho..... biko I cannot handle

Don~ jazzycrush

8. Now that's a true Role model there.. These kids would never forget this guy in years to come.

Linda I hv arrived, post my comment.

9. Somewhere in the middle east they would have shot them 13 years old or not boy or girl

10. Way to go!they're kids having fun,yes the noise can be annoying but then again, why call the cops,smh.

11. D person dat made dat call wuld jst wanna own up rit nw

12. THIS IS WHAT I CALL A REAL ROLE MODEL SOME ONE THAT WILL INSPIRE OTHERS TO BE GREAT. NOT ALL DIS OUR BUNCH OF CELEBRITY WE HAVE HEAR,ALL THEY ARE GOOD AT IS DISPLAY THEIR WEALTH ON SOCIAL MEDIA. THANKS BIG SHARK MY THE ALMIGHTY GOD BLESS YOU. OMALICHA LI

13. THIS IS WHAT I CALL A REAL ROLE MODEL SOME ONE THAT WILL INSPIRE OTHERS TO BE GREAT. NOT ALL DIS OUR BUNCH OF CELEBRITY WE HAVE HEAR,ALL THEY ARE GOOD AT IS DISPLAY THEIR WEALTH ON SOCIAL MEDIA. THANKS BIG SHARK MY THE ALMIGHTY GOD BLESS YOU. OMALICHA LI

14. Awww

15. I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS GUY. MODEL. HE JUST CHANGED THOSE KIDS LIVES BY SIMPLY SUPPORTING WHAT THEY DO.

16. Okoo...he don try..#LindaConfirm

17. Now that's a proper country.

18. Well said Shaq, iconic advice...now these kids will never forget this in a hurry.

19. Listenin 2 'Strait Playin' by Shaquille O'Neal rite now.

20. Very good thing to do bro, much respect and love

21. Straight from TMZ

22. Great of him, this is the love we are preaching about. With this, those kids we do well in life, that is just the magic,

23. Wow wow! I love dat, great role model.

I hope our celebrities ar learning

24. I'm so loving the way this story's turning out... all thanks to an 'aproko' white lady who refused to mind her business! A quiet neighbourhood now internationally known, once quiet kids, now superstars! #Cool

25. Love the way they were corrected #wisdom

26. Thanks shaq!! You such a role model

27. That's lovely Well done Shaquille

28. That's nice if nah for here police go arrest una saying una dey smoke hemp.

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
    Direct from Delsu.

29. owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin)24 January 2016 at 21:05

very encourage n nice!

30. Sweeet...

31. Love unites, hate divides. The caller is likely to be pissed with all this, who cares? #Shaq#Rolemodel

32. Coolest thing ever!!!

33. So touching.God bless the cop for not shooting the innocent.

34. Honestly speaking my mind, the neighbour that called the police needs to be given a hundred dollars too for having made this kids famous. Lol!

35. If na naija now this boyz for dey sanko since yesterday