MTN takes Nigerian Government to court over fine | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 17 December 2015

MTN takes Nigerian Government to court over fine

Below is the communique sent to MTN staff and share holders.
Herewith a further update on the fine imposed on MTN Nigeria and renewal of cautionary announcement: Further to the SENS announcement issued by the Company on 4 December 2015, shareholders are advised that all factors having a bearing on the matter have been thoroughly and carefully considered including a review of the circumstances leading to the fine and the subsequent letters received from the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC).
MTN Nigeria acting on legal advice has resolved that the manner of the imposition of the fine and the quantum thereof is not in accordance with the NCC’s powers under the Nigerian Communications Act and therefore there are valid grounds upon which to challenge the fine.
Accordingly MTN has followed due process and has instructed its lawyers to proceed with an action in the Federal High Court in Lagos seeking the appropriate reliefs. MTN is advised that in the current circumstances in line with the lis pendens rule (pending legal action) the parties are enjoined to restrain from taking further action until the matter is finally determined.This is consistent with previous judicial decisions in Nigeria.
Notwithstanding this action, the Company will continue to engage with the Nigerian Authorities to try and ensure an amicable resolution in the best interests of the Company, its stakeholders and the Nigerian Authorities Shareholders are therefore advised to continue to exercise caution when dealing in the Company’s securities until a further announcement is made. As advised previously, we will keep you updated as the matter unfolds. I encourage you to continue focusing on our customers and strive to keep our promise to provide the bold, new Digital World to them.
Regards, Phuthuma

75 comments:

APC is from the devil said...

so they have the guts to take us to court?? mumu people we dey help! If they ain't happy, they can go back to SA!

The fine is too muchhh serusly,MTN is even helping dis our country to provide employmnt to d youth,so fg try do smtin abt it.

Their headache mbok.

MTN wahala

so who will win d case... they will still settle it jor.. dese pple r funny

Thinking of making some good income daily from your mobile phone? Click here and see how .

mtn sef.. na wa o.. it is well

Thinking of making some good income daily from your mobile phone? Click here and see how .

I siddon dey look

SANDRA said...

This one na big people trouble

kemikane said...

Watching this movie. Orisirisi

Native Doctor said...

Ghen ghen!!!!
Let the war begin. MTN must go!!

Sincerelt speaking the mind of Amadioha

Easy mtn

MTN pay the dawned fine stop being cheap. You have ripped off Nigerians for years and cannot pay up this chump change. Pay up man

Imagine the guts. Ndi ala people. Linda take note!

*in linda's voice* ghen ghen

Imagine the guts. Ndi ala people. Linda take note!

Mtn.. Criminals

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Gbam!

Yet another court drama!
Let watch and see how dis goes and MTN wil surely pay dis fine if they lik it or not.

Ndi MTN jee kwuo ugwo unu ji

#iT wiLL onLy gEt beTTer
#iT mUsT enD iN prAise

Ok Linda ur 5 consistent commenters for this year are

1. Juliet Iwuno
2. Davido's Driver
3. Royal Priesthood
4. Aboki da warri dude
5. Lwkmd.
These are the consistent ones.
But when it comes to those commenting reasonably, think of these people
1. Bonita Bislam
2. Christie Benjamin
3. Amaka Ngenegbo
4. Ngene Olivia
5. Igwe Adaobi
They have been commenting well but their issue is they aint desparate, that's why u will always see their comment just once in a post, and its also the reason why they weren't noticed. They dont comment 20times in a post like the ppl I mentioned earlier.

Then the only person keeping lib vibrant and fun is one and only Wiheminna Moses, even when she left due to reasons best known to her, so many ppl felt her absence,

Then the retards here are
Nnenna Gorge
And Stern. These two are just pretenders. They pretend so much like they don't want this lib giveaway, it was very surprising to see Nnenne George nominating herself when she's been calling Juliet and others hungry ppl.
Just know how u will share ur money so u'd compensate them all. This is nothing but the truth

kudos said...

Okey....next

That's the best thing to do bc the money they charged dem was much.

Very funny.... They just dey waste their tym no doubt.....

FREE LANCING FREEMAN KEEGALEE said...

Mtn infact yu guyz need to pay lke 10 billion,cos they keep cheatin on we

buddy said...

Una must pay that money...yeye dey smell.

Greedy government

Mtn when you're done with federal government, u better wait for me. I have registered my line more than 2times and yet u guys sold it to another user just because I've been away for few years. You guys should wait for me coz am gonna sue your sorry ass..

Eiya, its obvious they cnt pay dat moni, nigeria govt pls pardon dz pipo

that is called,back hand/slap,thinking they can postpone the evil day,MTN is filling charges,and at the same time exploring negotiation

Ncc shud leave mtn alone biko

mikkyjanec said...

Hmmmm. Taking govt to court? They better pay the fine. I actually registered 6 times always they will send me message of disconnecting my line. Unserious people

Godsend said...

Ok I wish them good luck

Hehehe mtn the earlier u guys pay that money the better because all these delay strategy you guys are applying won't work.

This is how it is in a Banana Republic like ours. Were are our balls hanging from?

Common sue there ass.

Stupid mtn make dem go find beta seat

The worst network ever liveth

I like that drag them.to the mud if possible.selfish government they are only intrested in their stomach why their citizen die of hunger.

Good news NCC na thief .what have they done for nigeria.what reasonable decision have they done for citizen .this money they are fighting for is for selfish intrest.I support MTN

I pray MTN WINS.
MUMU APC HORRIBLE GOVERNMENT.
GOVERNMENT OF HATE

Wandaful!!!

Well nne should pardon mtn and warn dem never to allow that happened again

Ncc

Are they just waking up..I expected them to b in court over the issue since..after all that's the trend in 9ja..everything now na court..guilty or not guilty....

~make I go take one bottle of beer~

People that don't listen! When I was advising NCC not to reduce dat fine they said I was wicked and hv no pity. Now that they hv reduced it by 25%, MTN now has every strength to sue them. That reduction has no legal basis although NCC was only trying to help them. NCC shud hv stuck with the initial fine which they can defend in court. Well, dem doohhh

MTN have bitten more than theycan chew. Its high time they face the mucis and dance to d beat of the drums dey created!! #truetalk GOD HELP ME

Afi Phuthuma na!

Oh please! MTN are fuckers! They should pay that fine.

***LIBER FINEST***

Dele said...

The NCC fine of N1 trillion imposed on MTN is extremely absurd and unrealistic! NCC must have a hidden agenda

Lol. But dat fine is too much na

Princess Chinasa Ukaegbu said...

Now you guys are behaving like humans and not like monkeys and baboons in that zoo. Sue there sorry ass. If possible take them to the world trade court

Mtn pay your fine.

nunulicious said...

lol. nigeria government is going to loose. hahahahaha. noise makers and media trial that will end in nothing. what a messed up country.

"Notwithstanding this action, the Company will continue to engage with the Nigerian Authorities to try and ensure an amicable resolution in the best interests of the Company".
Dumb Fucks.

Hmm

Hmm

Rubbish

D fine is too much for dem..#rep 9ja

Mark my words, they will lose this case and asked to pay the fine in the end. They are just trying to stall while they steal our credit one by one till they have enough to pay up. Smh

See these south African company that didnt abide to the law of the land...

They should pay the fine.

lami said...

This foreigners have seen how weak the Nigerian govt is and cannot take decisive step, what a shame.

MTN has the best CSR in this country! People like dangote just and end up taking many lives thru accidents. Is mtn the only service providers? They should fine all of them accordingly. They singled mtn out cos they don't do PR (bribe). Nigeria we hail thee.

gengennnnnnnnnnn!!!

Alamin Muhammed Kolobe said...

Put about gce waec dat was just out check my blog "www.alaminkolobe.blogspot.com"

Alamin Muhammed Kolobe said...

Put about gce waec dat was just out check my blog "www.alaminkolobe.blogspot.com"

Its a bold but risky step taken by mtn

JUSTICE SHALL ALWAYS PREVAIL...

@THEBEAT999FREAK

Fuck off! They need us as badly as we need dem. do u know how much MTN nigeria generates to mtn group ? We should stop playing all these employment card. Nigeria is a destination ground, if they decide to leave, u will see many jostling for a license to operate here.
As far as am concerned, they deserve the fine..
All these South Africa companies like Dstv are messing with our govt, u dare not try this rubbish in SA and ur operating lincence will be revoked

Blinks does said...

The deserve it

BILL GATES PA said...

MTN SHOULD PAY THE FINE. AT LEAST NIGERIAN GOVT WILL KNOW HOW MUCH REVENUE THEY HAVE GENERATED FROM DAT END. Na me tell dem make dem act contrary to NNC working laws. Their act is fraudulent. Failing to disconnect a number of unregistered customers.

Good, this is what they should have done before sacking their CEO... Double your hustle

MTN is providing employment to the youth with one hand and reaping us off with another hand. Providing emploment to the youth indeed. MTN my foot

Enter your comment...so is this why your network was soo terrible yesterday. Whether you like it or not you will pay the fine