America's most hated man, Martin Shkreli, who raised the price of AIDS drugs arrested | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 18 December 2015

America's most hated man, Martin Shkreli, who raised the price of AIDS drugs arrested

Turing Pharmaceuticals CEO Martin Shkreli who earned the title 'America's most hated man in September', when he jacked up the price of the anti-parasitic drug Daraprim, that benefits AIDS patients, pregnant women and cancer patients from $13.50 to $750 has been arrested.It is alleged he illegally used stock from the biotechnology firm  he owned, Retrophin Inc. to pay off debts related to his struggling hedge fund and to pay back angry investors.
He is being charged with seven counts of fraud for running what United States Attorney Robert L. Capers of the Eastern District of New York is calling a Ponzi scheme.
Shkreli, 32, pleaded not guilty to these allegations and was released on a $5million bond after being arraigned in federal court in Brooklyn Thursday afternoo
He faces a maximum sentence of 20 years in prison if convicted.

The United States Attorney's office in a statement said:
"I would think that members of his legal team and the communication team would advise him not to do the things that he has done, particularly in light of an ongoing criminal investigation," said Judy Smith, a PR crisis management expert who represented President Bill Clinton's former mistress Monica Lewinsky.
"Most people that are aware they are under a criminal investigation would not behave in such a public way," said Smith, whose career inspired the hit ABC series "Scandal." "The risk of it is that it attracts and invites attention, review and investigation of ongoing business practices in a very public way, quite frankly."
Last week, it was revealed that Shkreli bought a single-copy album of the hip-hop group Wu-Tang Clan for $2 million. He then said he didn't plan on listening to it anytime soon.
On Thursday, the Securities and Exchange Commission unsealed a civil case against Shkreli, accusing him of orchestrating "widespread fraudulent conduct" from 2009 through 2014.

Source: CNBC

68 comments:

1. HEALTH IS WEALTH...MAKE SURE TO ALWAYS GET CHECKED AND LIVE A GOOD LIFESTYLE...

@THEBEAT999FREAK

2. Hei..a copy of cd for $2Million? Seen

3. Continue to update the latest news yes, I really like your writing style :)

4. If he actually did all this things he is been accused of, he will definitely pay for his crime, the law of karma will not let him go free.

5. For classical news,gistz,gossips,sports,relationship mattaz etc please visit www.gideonike.blogspot.com

i will also tell u d secrets of linda's fortune for those who care to know

6. Gud morning linda. I no fit sleep jor

7. He should be sent to 50 YEARS IMPRISONMENT ...Lol...that man face on the last pic tho *OMG*

8. This man take style wicked o

#iT wiLL oNLy gET beTTer
    #iT mUst eNd iN praise

9. Don't hv time 4 long story dis early mrnin jor...

10. The dude want's to hit a billion dollar net worth by all means.

1. Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com)18 December 2015 at 10:49

Kai!

D money is more important to him than people lives!

2. I pray his found guilty, I wish 4 d authority 2 find more skeleton in his dirty cupboard

11. The Feds juz want this guy behind bars & I see him going to prison for a long time

12. Greedy Scum!!!! serves him right!! I hope they don't release him!!

13. Na wa oh.Criminal minds everywhere

14. I honestly dunno if I shud say good for him

15. America most hated man, No wonder he's having all this problems.

16. Let him carry his cross.

Aunty Linda publish

17. Lindaikeji I have been consistence in dis blog for so many years an I have not get any thing in return it will not be fair if u left people like me who started dis ur blog since from day 1 an u favour dose dat did not even know de genesis of dis blog

18. I don't understand and I don't care either. Linda take note!

19. I don't understand and I don't care either. Linda take note!

20. What's all these harassment,if he owns the stuff den he has to right to increase the price of his product bcos that's the law of economics #freeshkreli

21. That's wht happens to u when u r america's most hated

22. The police man on d last pix isn't just smiling at all

23. This isn't justice,this is personal.
    Its his business he can increase d price if he wants. I mean there's no law against that.
    People sha

24. I don't even understand his crime

Ubanagum

25. Ha! bail of $20 mil? dey don collect all d money frm him na. good for him. selfish American

26. I jst like dis pple d way they take immediate action concerning any criminal act. Hmm bt my naija I hail thee

27. Wicked psycho...

28. I guess the Americans will really pray for him to be found guilty.

29. I guess the Americans will really pray for him to be found guilty.

30. Abeg he is wicked and guilty.

31. Very good, am sure Americans are happy about it... Double your hustle

32. Na wa o odiegwuuuuuuuuuu oooo

33. EWU!

~URHOBO PIKIN.~ (Med lab scientist)

34. Mr martins u see your life??...thank God its in d state..shits like this happen in 9ja no one give a f**k!!!

~make I go take one bottle of beer~

35. Good riddance I guess? Karma abi Yuessay a bit#ch! Don't joke with Amerigos.

36. Eeyah guess they are still angry with him and want to bring him down!!!

37. I like this man....

#ONE OF A DOPE

38. Make them give am all the melecine to chew.Mad man

39. Make them give am all the melecine to chew.Mad man

40. since he raised the price of dat drug and everybody even US politician and elite complaint about it and called him out...I have always know that there is fire on the mountain for him.. haaa U.S.

41. He is too greedy...that price hike was way too much

42. This is clearly a disturb man, a single album for 2m, he is cray-cray

43. HIV and cancer drug. Not drugs. And not AIDS. Linda educate yourself. There's more to life than fashion

44. HIV and cancer drug. Not drugs. And not AIDS. Linda educate yourself. There's more to life than fashion

45. HIV and cancer drug. Not drugs. And not AIDS. Linda educate yourself. There's more to life than fashion

46. So nor b only Naija dis kind things dey happen.