Tragedy as 9-year-old girl is mauled to death by a pit bull | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 9 November 2015

Tragedy as 9-year-old girl is mauled to death by a pit bull

Police say nine-year-old girl was visiting a home on Holland Avenue in Elmont around 10.30am Sunday for a playdate with two girls when she was attacked by a pit bull. Witnesses say the dog latched onto her neck, and head, and shook her like a rag doll.

"An Angel on Earth" - that is how family and friends will remember the 9-year-old girl who was mauled to death by a pit bull in the backyard of a home in Elmont on Sunday. "I wish I could turn back time - too sweet to go," says family friend Stacie Case.
"A woman in the house attempted to pull the pit bull off of her. She could not, and called 911," said Detective Michael Bitsko of the Nassau County Police Department.
"She tried with a broom - too weak, too scared," said neighbor Novelette Wilson.
By the time police arrived, Eyewitness News is told that two officers ran to the back, while one went through the house to the rear door.
"The pit bull got distracted and charge at the officer," adds Detective Bisko.
The officer fired, killing the dog, giving the other officers time to get to the girl.
The victim was rushed to Franklin Hospital/LIJ, but surgeons could not mend what the dog had done. She was pronounced dead a few hours later.
"It's so hard, I'm taking it so hard," says Case.
Meanwhile, the dog's owner, 29-year-old Carlyle Arnold was arrested at the scene, on a separate charge of violating an order of protection.
Officials do not believe he was home at the time of the attack. It's not clear if he could have pulled the dog off in time.

Authorities have not yet released the name of the child, or released an explanation as to why the dog turned so violent.

Source: ABC

34 comments:

1. Eeeeeeeeyah! May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

2. Eeeeeeeeyah! May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

3. Rip girl,talking about dog attack, what about that Nigerian kid that got his scalp eaten? What happened to him finally? Did the surgery happen?

1. Yeah it did,;Helping hands Foundation sponsored the surgery in India

4. Geeez...this is a painful death..may her soul rest in peace

Glowyshoe blog

5. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    So why are they arresting that black man then....

6. Chai, quite a pity

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
    #IT mUsT eNd in PrAisE

7. That is just god damn awful! The owner would be held responsible for not securing his animal!

8. As much as I Love dogs, I have my fear for this pitbull breeds. Na die. RIP to the dead
    #emdossupernova

9. See why I hate dogs? In Calabar we don't spare them.

10. Why do idiots never learn? You can't allow dogs like pitbulls, rotweillers and even german shepherds to run around when strangers are visiting. These beasts are territorial and do not always accommodate strangers. The owners must be responsible for failing to secure their monster pets..

11. This is so disheartening. I thought they were fighting for equal animal rights

12. Shet. What a sad news. This happened in Nigeria too luckily the boy didn't die and nobody killed the stupid dogs.

13. Is not about having dog......Secure it from hurting others

Also Check www.vabadon.com

14. Rip lil one....hrt breaking

MISSVEE

15. I never liked pit bulls. May her soul rest in peace amen and may God comfort her family.

16. Poor girl, R.I.P. I don't get why people keep aggressive dogs as pets.

17. RIP

18. The owner of the dog should be charged with manslaughter

19. RIP little angel.

People shouldn't be allowed to keep Pitbulls as pets, the number of horror stories I've read concerning them

20. sad. May her soul rest in peace.

21. RIP little one. So sad.

22. Pitbull is a deadly dog shouldn't be unleashed.

23. RIP to the little girl. But I think they should free the owner. Dogs has mind of they own

24. The dog is never to blame,cus d dog ws only being an animal n ws protecting it's territory.der is no bad dog just bad owners. RIP 2d gal