President Buhari seeks Senate approval to borrow N2.10 trillion | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 November 2015

President Buhari seeks Senate approval to borrow N2.10 trillion

President Buhari has sent a letter to the senate asking for permission to borrow N2.10 trillion to finance the 2015 budget. In the letter which was read at the senate's plenary session today November 18th, the president stated that the N882 billion loan earlier proposed by the past government to finance the budget had to be raised to N2.10trillion due to the dwindling oil price and other economic realities. The source of the loan, according to the president, would be from both local and foreign.

92 comments:

1. You haven't started.. The type of debt that will hit Nigeria is still doing press up. Sai Buhari. Thank God am moving to Biafra soon. The land of the free. Not this zoo called Nigeria where's we have clowns as president

2. Jesu, dis country is plunging into eternal doom. Biafra where at thou?!!

2. OMG! That's an outrageous sum. How would we pay back?

1. Buhari, dont dont, dont try it. Do u wanna kill us. How r we going to pay back

2. Loooool. Igbos chaaaaai . Una don hold country for balls now true true . The war never stopped. Biafra fought economically and became the most successful Nigerians. Smh chaiiii the blood of our ancestors will not go in vain. Biafra won loooool chaai the muda fukas won Nigeria after all

3. Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaa... N2.10trillion?
    This man is here to loot this country dry

1. He hasn't started. He is still warming up.. Sai Buhari

4. Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaa... N2.10trillion?
    This man is here to loot this country dry

1. Abeg borrow jare make we use am repair borono n your state wey our boko boys destroy .

5. Hmmmmm. 2015 never finish?

#It wiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
    #iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

6. BUHARI, inventing new method of embezzlement. Well, let's see how that works for you.

7. Yeah, is only wise for us to borrow to finance our capital project, that way we wont worsen our inflationary rate.

1. A big fool u are.borrow money to finance capital project.is anything guaranteed in this life?if this "capital project" fails can u imagine the hardship nigeria will face?terrible hardshipp?can u?if u can't I urge u to try to.people like u forming smartness..Moron shok.....linlin how far na;) abeg post am ohhh

2. Guy, this your economics get as it be o, the thing no make sense.

The dude is putting us in debt. Offering higher interest rates to make Nigerian debt more attractive. You know we've got to pay that debt back at sometime right... at those interest rates - no debt relief again my brother.

Besides, over 50% of Nigeria's budget goes to recurrent expenditure (Sanusi). So more than half is already set aside for 'Owambe' (sic) and Aristo.

As for the remaining, you know now... 5% here, 3% there adds up. Plus this new money will increase the money supply thus raising the price level by some.

My brother, I don tire, poor man like me no go see that money... Or those capital projects.

8. Buhari leads Nigeria back into debt. Back into slavery. How did we get to this point. Imagine the increase this man is asking for? 1.3 trillion additional? Heiiiiii.

1. Yes o!!!!! Na so we asked for it now we have it!!!!!
      Sai buhari!!!!!
      Change!!!!!!!!!

Idiots

9. Well said , the new Nigeria needs funding. Well done PMB

1. Fool-egha...blind people like u are the problem of society.always was and always will be.how is this a new nigeria unless u mean we have had 3 new nigeria since 1999 along.Looting is now funding or are u suddenly blind?........linlin how far na;) abeg poost am oh

10. Buhari how can you ask for a 1.3 trillion Naira increase? Kai!!! What is going on in Nigeria???

11. Welcome to inflation nigeria. He's wil continue from where IBB stopped during the Structural Adjustment Programme. Now, monies wil b more available, and the price of everything go up in the near. Where is the change???

12. OMG!

We r just in November and d year hav almost come to an end. So wht d heck is dis borrowing to run d country.

Wht a shame!

1. I don't understand why you prefer showing your stupidity here...didn't you read it's for 2016 budget or you just like to be this dull.

2. Pyramid top u r d biggest fool and more stupid. Are u blind? Abi u didn't see 2015 budget? Previous administration wntd 882billion bt dey wnt 2.10trillion,imagine d difference.i dnt knw if i'l say All u APC supporter r dumb or somtin. Cos u'l see d truth bt jst wnt 2 act like u dnt c it. We r watchin

13. Daddy sir! Plz don't put this nation in debt o don't we av enough money in this country ni

1. Pls tell him ooo Christmas don reach we need money

14. Haha.. Abeg who be the thief who be the goat? This government hmmm... We r watching

15. This man is a thief jare.what is this money earmarked for.he will just borrow then u will never hear of this again
    Lol.stupid people.enriching himself and his family then shouting jonathan is a theif.ode man.........linlin abeg post am jorr

16. Change is here.. Sai Buhari. What a disgrace!!!. Even GEJ who was tagged the worst president didn't even borrow a penny. Crazy people!!!

17. Meet MTN to pay d 1.4 trillion dey owe u, den add 1trillion. Shikina!!!

18. Tell MTN to pay d 1.04 trillion dey owe u, den add anoda 1trillion. Shikinah.....

1. In Mr Ibu's voice and facial expression....."you are a fool".

19. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Oky go ahead....

20. Too early for all dis mostly when d year is almost over. Lord hav mercy!

21. hey baba president easy ooooooh

22. I laugh in ikwerre language. Chanji my foot.they are all the same. He is now coming out to show his true colour. I pity people that voted for this aturu hausa because they have started regretting. Loot!loot!loot. Criminals!!!

23. I laugh in Efik o! Shebi una say GEJ na thief? Ok na....so it ok for baba to borrow cos he will work but GEJ can't bc he will steal......I beg I dey find icons for laugh scatter yansh to add here I no see Linda if you see help me add am abeg hehehehehehehehehe

24. It means there is nothing wrong with the GEJ govt. if PMB needs 1.3trn for just 43 days. I can feel the CHANGE.

25. While I can understand the level of poverty in this country is crazy, if this man is allowed to borrow this money to do N5,000 hand-out, we are going to be in deep shit in the future. Look at the mess of subsidy of fuel that was introduced in his time as minister of petroleum. Naija just pray that this is not allowed other wise your children's children will not be able to pay this money back oh or get out of the madness he is proposing.

26. 2.WHAAT?!!! Hell NO!!!

Sparkles!

27. 2.WHAAT?!!! Hell NO!!!

Sparkles!

28. ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha, we are back to the dark days of money debt.

29. Jeez we are almost doomed. Trillion for 2015 budget one month to the end of the year. WTF. What happens to 2016.

30. Yepaaa mogbee Buhari wan send us back to slave trade by the time he is done with naija 1 dollar will equal 1000 naira.., dem don trick is with change slogan abeg make una bring GEJ back.. Abeg senator make una no approve am oh I beg

31. Linda, is it 2015 or 2016 budget??????

32. With this whole Change stuff, Nigerians expect to see the immediate and direct impact of all these policies. SURE-P,etc. Now its borrowing this amt. Buhari and Apc, help us oooo. Av halt my plans to travel abroad coz of these security issues there now. So I expect Nigeria to be a beta terrestrial habitat. Bikonu *crying*

33. I thought they said jonathan was clueless, that money is huge baba; diversify please....no light, no fuel

34. Is dis d change we re voted for? What a Nigeria

35. Aaah!!!!!! Na so e de take start ooo

36. Is dis the change we voted for? What a Nigeria. Lolzzzzzzzzzzzz

37. This man na IMF/world bank agent and his plan is to ground nigeria's economy the way he did in the 80's. The gods are still awake sha

38. Mmmm.... 1.3trillion to run December, 2015! "NEGATIVE CHANGE"

39. Are we really dat broke??? Linda take note!

40. Ralph you will make a good financial adviser. Indeed this will lead to sustained rapid increase in prices. #God bless Nigeria

41. Una nerve see anythn, the music don change now , chop i chop hahaha

42. Oluwa o, GOD will judge you buhari. You lied to us.

43. Wahala dey o! 2015 budget? As in this 2015 wen done end fa? I knew I should have paid more attention in economics and GST classes fa. Its so sad that a nation like ours has to borrow so much money fa.

44. #210 trillion, of course with the sum he forgot in the office in the 80's and it's also the great change Nigerians should expect

45. #210 trillion, of course with the sum he forgot in the office in the 80's and it's also the great change Nigerians should expect

46. #210 trillion, of course with the sum he forgot in the office in the 80's and it's also the great change Nigerians should expect

47. Juliet,

2015 budget was done based on crude oil price of $130 a barrel. Crude oil has been fluctuating around the $45 price for about a year now. Do the maths. Nigeria is really broke and we'll have to borrow again and again.

It's a pity that Buhari is unlucky again.

48. When Buhari was invited to a debate so that he will tell us how he intends to actualize his gargantuan campaign promises, he ran away! Now he is beginning to show us that he doesn't even have any roadmap or plan while he was shouting change! change! Mtcheeew! Please someone should wake me up when you start seeing any little change!!!

49. Our Dear Goodluck Jonathan, I write on behalf of
    all Nigerians to tender an unreserved apology to
    you for unknowingly voting you out of office as the
    President of ‘once upon a time’ Giant of Africa,
    Nigeria.
    I know many will shy away from accepting this
    fact, especially, those from the Agrived People
    Caucus who are comonly known for boasting of
    what they cannot or will never do.
    Before your exit, we Nigerians used to buy fuel at
    N87.00 per liter. Who knows, by now may be you
    would have brought it down to N22.00 per liter.
    Your Excellency Sir, believe me, we have all learnt
    a lesson and we promise, never to repeat such
    blunder.
    It may interest you to know that we have finally
    come to term that PMB’s primary ambition was to
    be a Petroleum Minister but was tricked by the
    known scammers to divert from his ambition to
    Presidency for reasons not yet made public.
    In view of this discovery, we are currently on a
    round-table negotiation with PMB to accept your
    unconditional return to Presidency and rather
    concentrate on the Ministry of Petroleum which he
    presently occupies till further notice.
    Accept the assurance of the fact that once the ‘Old-
    Soldier’ sign the MoU, we will communicate same
    to you.
    While re-emphazising our regret for your exit, we
    are hopeful that you are currently on the drawing
    board to re-strategize and do what you know how
    to do best ahead.
    Pls accept our sincere apology.

Sir I-man

Yours truly!

50. Abeg Bonario Nnag or what is he called travel? abi him phone don dabaru? Its time to talk about change and he is no where to be found commenting. Bonario abeg commentoooooo.

51. Well,this is frm the messiah the nigerian choose.sure he is still warming up

52. Less than 45 days and u need more than 2 trillion? Why not write your budget for 2016.it is not fair.

53. It's very disheartening that none of you can figure out the fact that these are still the aftermath of GEJ's recklessness. You somehow think the fiscal problem disappeared when Jonathan left - either because you still haven't settled to the fact that your beloved Jonathan was a crook or you're pretending to not know how this works. It really doesn't matter at the end of the day. The mess has to be cleaned up regardless.

54. yes,,, he needs to borrow because the past administrators have left our treasuring account empty, so we need more money to finance the 2016 budget, even US government are owing trillions of dollars. @juzzayofficial

1. A fool like u.empty?u remember when pdp accused them of spending over 2 billion on usa trip alone.the presidency denied but refused to give the actual number.Dude wake up.the empty treasury stuff was rpoven to be a lie a month after buhari got in.so he has been travelling on empty treasures and so has the vp?get wise I don't know why jona never bothered to dignify this government lies with an answer.......lin how far na;) abeg post am ohhh

2. Welcome Bonairo!

55. yes,,, he needs to borrow because the past administrators have left our treasuring account empty, so we need more money to finance the 2016 budget, even US government are owing trillions of dollars. @juzzayofficial

56. Anon 11:48.....are u sure?u really think if jona had continued in power things would have dropped like this?u need a new head.so its buhari that's noit a crook right or u stull haven't accepted fact he's a billionaire in dollars?did u see the comepany he had shares in?or u think its 30 nthousand naira shares he had in those company?u just wanna be stupid.there was a reason why under jona it was fastest growing economy and under aboki its a declining one.both are crooks but one is just stupid.what do u expect from someone who can't speak english............linlin how far na;) abeg post am ohhhh

57. GMB claimed to have blocked loophole and wastages in system,that corruption officials has being returning money secretly,TSA has recovered hidden govt monies,Americans has started buying our crude oil and yet he was to brought to financial next years budget... I don't get the economics sense in borrowing to finance our budget rather we should be cutting cost and secondly how do we intend to by back as nation...

58. See dem, go 2schl, na lie. Dey don't even understand wat dey read, all dey understand dere isd huge sum. Ask dem d need of d money now, dey wil be stammering, nd dey want result 4rm d new Admin.

59. Legend of the seeker

60. What is with this Hausa pple and borrowing? We managed to pay bk the one babangida borrow and now this aboki wants to put us in debt again! Mtchhhew

61. Nameless person talking rubbish.where you not here when they still came out and said the past administration left money again after they said no money? I don't know why some idiot will find fault in some people and never see fault in their own. Time will tell

62. where is the billions our custome is making every day? and our refinery so we don't have kobo again in our account ? well i told my wife everything going on in nigeria is change...people need to slim down now and is good for health.sai baba

63. Jajajajajajajajajajajajajja # I laf in Spanish. All na. Part of d change na.