Photos: Man builds a plane using tutorial videos & aircraft manuals | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 30 November 2015

Photos: Man builds a plane using tutorial videos & aircraft manuals

An Ethiopian man, Asmelash Zeferu has built a plane with tutorial videos on YouTube. 35-year-old Zeferu's childhood dream was to become a pilot but he was rejected by the Ethiopian Airlines Aviation Academy and since he couldn't realize his dream, he decided to build a plane. 

"I decided to build my own aircraft if I couldn't be a pilot," he told CNN. "Then I'd be able to fly high in the sky."

For 10 years, Zeferu worked on his dream, salvaging spare parts from second-hand markets and handcrafting certain parts like the airplane’s wings. He then upgraded the 48 horsepower Volkswagen Beetle engine to 78 for his two-seater aircraft and settled for the wheelbase of a Suzuki motorcycle as his landing gear. 

According to CNN, he did this with the help of some aviation experts, aircraft manuals and YouTube tutorials. He encountered some technical problems during the process. However, it didn’t deter the ambitious pilot from pursuing his goal. Five months later, he is ready to take off, again.
      "My dream is to become an aerospace engineer at NASA," he told CNN. "And I will be"

35 comments:

1. Very nice, more powers to ur Elbow

2. Whoa! The man tried. This further proves that nothing is impossible if you set your mind to it. But I would love to have seen a video of him flying the plane.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

3. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    If that plane mistakenly crash na die that nigga dey shah..... #NowPlaying>> peperempe: klever j...

4. Hmmm...dreams do come true if u put ur mind to it!

5. Like serious Linda?

6. GUD 1 HOPE he will enjoy DE RIDE..TOmMJErRYSWIT

7. Wow! This is truly awesome

#it wiLL oNly gEt beTTer
    #iT mUst eNd iN prAise

8. Creative

9. Wow!

Dis is superb and lovely!
    Thumbs up and more power to his elbows.

10. Woooooow! Well done brother. Linda take note!

11. Woooooow! Well done brother. Linda take note!

12. That's great...
    10years on one Project!

13. He almost look like Jose Mourihno. Congrat bro

14. Linlin mi sees notin wrong with it
    Just a twitt na, u better ask that ur friend denrele to come out too, hehe.

Linda's last son

15. Linlin mi sees notin wrong with it
    Just a twitt na, u better ask that ur friend denrele to come out too, hehe.

Linda's last son

16. Linlin mi mbok can u postpone that ur end of the month giveaway today? Don't want this place to be littered with emails n short short msg like'congrats, OK n all that'. Encourage all this people to go and work biko. U don hear madam?

Linda's last son

17. Linlin mi mbok can u postpone that ur end of the month giveaway today? Don't want this place to be littered with emails n short short msg like'congrats, OK n all that'. Encourage all this people to go and work biko. U don hear madam?

Linda's last son

18. So much love diz...
    #People_i_have_the_same_dream_with
    #ChisomPhilz

19. Did Did it ever take off or leave that ground???

20. This guy should be sponsored he is way too talented #first time commenting

21. It is better to try than not to try at all! As a man thinketh so is he. He said he can and he can. www.theotherwomaninmarriage.blogspot.com

22. I love his spirit. May God help him to achieve all he desires

23. Wonderful! More grace dear!

24. This is quite an inspirational story! Wow!!

25. oya make him fly inside am first reach Nigeria.

26. Somebody needs to warn him ooo. That yeye contraption he put together will not even withstand the wind over river Benue not to mention the Atlantic ocean.