Photos: Irate fans attack match officials, beat camera man to a pulp in Akure | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 1 November 2015

Photos: Irate fans attack match officials, beat camera man to a pulp in Akure

A match between home clubs, Sunshine Stars and Lobi Stars ended up inconclusive in Akure in Ondo state today after football enthusiasts alleged to be loyal to Sunshine Stars, stormed the football field and attacked the referee and other football officials for failing to award their preferred team two penalty kicks which they believed they deserved. Some others allege that the irate fans were of Lobi stars.

During the fracas which occurred in the field, the official camera man of Lobi stars was attacked, beaten to a pulp and his camera destroyed. He was immediately rushed to the hospital. Lobi stars in its twitter handle accused the fans of Sunshine star of attacking them.

31 comments:

1. Haha! So much violence in d land

2. Wen will we stop behaving like savages... Africans nawa o

3. Nna na wa o! Illiteracy of the highest order. Sorry my brother. Linda take note!

2. Chineke! They wan kill d man? Na wa o

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
    #iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

3. Chineke! They wan kill d man? Na wa o

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
    #iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

4. Hummmmmm..this isn't nice at all. Both teams should be made to pay fines, and the guilty club (after investigation) should suspended till further notice.

1. You are getting me confused. Both teams should pay fine at the same time, there should be an investigation into which club should be held responsible?
      It definitely sunshine stars. They were home and most likely lobi had to scamper for their lives or defend themselves.

2. You are getting me confused. Both teams should pay fine at the same time, there should be an investigation into which club should be held responsible?
      It definitely sunshine stars. They were home and most likely lobi had to scamper for their lives or defend themselves.

5. SMH! this is one of the reasons even Nigerians don't regard our league, the home team can never stand defeat, the defeat of the home team never ends well.
    I hope sunshine fans are punished for thus beastly act.

1. You are wrong! How many of the games have u watched or witness live? Many home teams av lost this season without fracas.. Rangers, Kano Pillars, Abia warriors, dolphins even 3sc av all lost with ease and fans had to commend the away side...

2. Somethn similar happened in ibadan stadium a few months ago. It was on lindaikeji.

6. Tout is too much at Akure, that is the level of what our man has caused them, idiat Mimiko. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

1. Sadly, this is still happening in the 21st century in my Nigeria.

7. What! This is bad. Where are the security officers that are suppose to guide them when the match is going on now? They should arrest all the fans that did this.

8. Lord ve mercy.. onuohachidinma2@gmail.com

9. Hmmmmm Nawa oooo.. onuohachidinma2@gmail.com

10. Naija football for u...up enyimba shaa...

11. These types of violence need to be stamped out of Nigerian football, I wonder if fans attacked refs in the EPL, if there would be any match to watch?

12. Sorry Man! I Thought We Have Passed This Football Hooliganism! http://www.bummyla.com

13. No proper security measures to safeguard life...too bad for Nigerian football at diz level

14. Boys ain't smiling wen d results is against dem. Run next time cameraman. Sorry

15. Sad but why are nigerian like this?some lib readers are like this thing only happen africa?......it also happen in south america..and also in europe.....it happen recently in a europe qualifying....I bet ya don't no anything about that right?..so people just derive pleasure when it comes to say ill things about africa..it a system.....we will get develop as time goes on....

16. Its sad to know the level of backwardness that exist in our society.