MTN Group CEO to resign over NCC $5.2billion fine | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 9 November 2015

MTN Group CEO to resign over NCC $5.2billion fine

The Group CEO of MTN, Sifiso Dabengwa, is expected to resign over the recent $5.4billion fine by Nigerian Communication Commission for failing to cut off customers with unregistered SIM cards. 

The telecoms company said in a statement today that Dabengwa will resign immediately and will be replaced by non-executive chairman Phuthuma Nhleko as the company continues to dialogue with the Nigerian government over the fine.

42 comments:

Wish him luck

naijaflo said...

Just sad. A good lesson for them. I am sure they thought they will get away with it since its naija. He'll be ok.
naijaflo.com

Uzo ego si abata emechiela for him be that o

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#IT mUsT eNd in PrAisE

Hmmmm. See gobe!! Anyway, no be this kind people dey lose their job make e be wahala. He'll move on quickly.

Haba! Dats too much na

Biko spare us dis dialogue and resignation and pay up ur fine. Since they can't tak care. of their call centre agents then they should enrich d treasury of Nigeria.

good one also wish the OANDO CEO can also resign after making a lost of N175B year ending 2014.

Ehyaaa!! Very sad,but the law must be obeyed,and not doing so u face the sad consequences...

Peace nwadire said...

Na wao, jus like that?

HmmmmmmMm pls dey shld 4give dem nah....

Ehen! Na waha o. Nigeria is getting serious o

Does that mean I'm also my line is also amongst the ones supposed to be cut off? Coz they've been sending me that message to register my line again & I refused.
If its so,thanks CEO.#shinesteeth

Dats his drum of tea besides what other dialogue are dey talking about, dey should pay up biko. The money dey have made in naija no be small. Linda take note!

Baddest Puta said...

They should all resign from the country sef. Their nonsense is too much. Homemade GLO is way better.

Hummmmmmmmm.....okay seen.

Wack network.... Aitel the wackest network in naija...

Kk

the man fear ni.....that whopping sum is much...

5.2 billion..wow dats much

Admin said...

Karma.... When they were busy collecting my airtime Shey them think say my prayer not go work

Hope they won't wittingly raise the money from their poor customers.

CERTIFIED GENTLEMAN said...

Eyah, the man is being Nice...That's Sad.

That is a sh*t load of money, I would be surprised if they let it go at that!

MIDASCNN said...

That fine is really giving him sleepless night, it's good they are suffering what other Nigerian business is suffering in far away South their country.

Make money online at job4living.com/?ref=273173
see for yourself

Whatever!

What of the Nigerian CEO?

Any way, Nigerians don't resign. They would rather run the company to the ground than fess up and let someone else take over the business

I no fit laugh... 5.2 isn't much compared to their wayoo. thief network

What's he waiting for? He'd still leave anyway.

We want MTN and DSTV out of Naija. They are both crooks, they have sabotaged indigenous cable network in Nigeria so they remain relevant. DSTV won their court case during GEJ cos they bribed their way through. This administration will reopen their case and chase them out of Naija. Thief! They charge us what they can't try in South Africa, they milk our economy cos some greedy Nigerians are collection egunje from them. DSTV, u are next!

Seen/Heard/Whatever/Next pls.

Hmmmm...

Is it by asking him to resign that the problem will be solved? Smtchew

These dayz numbers are either switched off or not reachable. MTN need to re-strategize on how to maintain customers and good service delivery

Aunty Linda, can i take that man's position?...pls, help me make enquiry....i will patiently await ur reply o

Maybe the company wouldn't pay because he knows how fraudulent and corrupt Nigerians are. Very soon they will hv gist of how $5.4 billion grew wings and disappeared from the NCC treasury.

Claire said...

Expected that to happen because in most multinationals somebody has to take the fall for any major lapses. But i still don't see where retiring him pays the Fine. MTN can come up with a better solution

Spend less than usual on transportation Daily

ebony said...

Who told u they are enriching Nigeria?
They are so selfish to d teeth,they'll pay d fine from subscribers money thru all this frivolous Vas charges in their lines. They are criminals.
Linda make sure u post my comment

The question is more than the fine.. The fine means nothing, and it is still incredible how that law of N200,000 per SIM was agreed upon by the stakeholders in that industry.

For something that colossal to have happened, gross act of negligence, ineptitude and collusion must have occurred. There must be a reason and the logical thing will be to investigate down to the reason, determine if it is a system issue or a people issue and deal with whoever is responsible for that issue.

All these fines will not change anything