List of 18 countries where women need their husbands' permission to work | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 19 November 2015

List of 18 countries where women need their husbands' permission to work

According to the Wold Economic Forum, married women in these countries must take permission from their husbands to work. Even in 2015. Full list after the cut...

91 comments:

1. For real? Lol.. naija no dey ever dey dis kind list!

2. Hmmmmmmmmmm anyway dat's submission

3. Mainly Islamic countries. Nobody send anybody message for here. Linda take note!

4. Was surprised not to see Nigeria on this list.

5. Mainly Islamic countries. Nobody send anybody message for here. Linda take note!

6. Even in Cameroon? I'm surprised. They seem more enlightened to be left in the stone age

1. Hw is asking ur husband permission 'stone age'? The man is d head of the family,his consent is needed.

2. U r very stupid. Which kind permission?

7. UAE?
    #needanalibitojoinmetastethenewgeishasardine

8. Cameroon????? Are these pple sure?

9. Nigeria should have been among... all these our men/husbands that can feel like a demi god.

10. We are so poor in Nigeria that our women dont need permission

1. @lwkmd-_naija Best comment ever. In this bad economy, if women dont work to assist their husbands, how can they pay their children's school fees, rent and bills? The man must be extremly rich for his wife not to work

2. @lwkmd-_naija Best comment ever. In this bad economy, if women dont work to assist their husbands, how can they pay their children's school fees, rent and bills? The man must be extremly rich for his wife not to work

3. @Anonymous 9:11 PM the bible also says; "A man that cannot take care of his wife and children is worse than an infidel". So there is nothing wrong with your wife assisting you in paying some bills in this harsh economic situation that we are in.

4. I agree that wives should submit to their husbands but what happens when the husband cannot put food on the table or provide for his family? Because thesame bible says: "A man that cannot take care of his wife and family is worse than a infidel". Should the woman continue submitting and die of hunger if the man cannot provide for his family? Shouldnt the woman dust her certificate and look for a job to save the family from hunger? It is only a foolish and arrogant man that will still be refusing his wife to work and expect her to obey by submitting to him when the family is dying of hunger.

5. I agree that wives should submit to their husbands but what happens when the husband cannot put food on the table or provide for his family? Because thesame bible says: "A man that cannot take care of his wife and family is worse than a infidel". Should the woman continue submitting and die of hunger if the man cannot provide for his family? Shouldnt the woman dust her certificate and look for a job to save the family from hunger? It is only a foolish and arrogant man that will still be refusing his wife to work and expect her to obey by submitting to him when the family is dying of hunger.

6. The truth is that most men feel threatened when their wives work especially if their wives earn more than them. Then they start quoting bible verses that soothes them like wives submitting to husbands. The fact that your wife is working doesnt mean she will not submit to you. She is only trying to assist you with bills and also because she doesnt want to get bored sitting at home idle. They say an idle mind is the devil's workshop. If u dont want her to work, then open a shop for her so that she can have something occupying her instead of just sitting at home idle before another man will help u keep her company. Just saying....

11. 9ja can never dey, cos women even hustle more than the men most times

12. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Anything that suits them though...

13. What abt our own country Nigeria?

14. Thank God naija is not included.

15. Ofcourse! All d arab countries.

16. I was expecting to find Nigeria or rather Northern Nigeria in the list.

17. Majorly Islamic countries

18. PARENTAL ADVISORY

Rubbish wheris is Nigeria

19. Nigeria should be on this list. Biko. In fact no. 1 to be precise.

20. Not surprised that most of dem are muslim countries.

21. I am from Niger and I never needed my husband's permission to work. I don't know where these people get their info from. It aggravates me so much to see intox information like this!

22. Nigeria no dey ? D list is not complete

23. Linda get lost. What do you mean by in 2015.
    You dont know what marriage means then. Go and marry jor. Aunty gwes

24. What do these countries have in common?

25. Even in Nigeria...closet terrorists. Killing and traumatizing women's emotions since 1900

26. For window blinds, wallpaper and curtain please call 08160856785.

27. So is it a crime to ask your husband permission before you work..**this is no news**

..JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

28. Finally a list Nigeria is not on #whew

29. What do all these have in common. Majority are Muslims

30. And Saudi is not there? please this list is not accurate

31. well, to be honest there's nothing primitive about this, it's not gender inequality, neither is it feminine oppression, it's the way God designed it to be, 'wives submit to ur husbands', the bible even stated that there's no need paying a vow ur husband doesnt approve of it(Num 30): Doesn't suggest that men should take advantage or try to boss their wives(in fact it states that a man should be ready to die for his wife), only states the law of power under authority and there's no level of civilization that can overrule God's word; His word is a higher law than time.....
    Submission is the highest expression of strength.....
    I really don't mean to start an argument, just an opinion....
    Diolutobe@yahoo.com

1. Mr. Man. This same bible says "Love your wife in the same way Christ loves the church and gave himself up for her" that is to say lay your life down for her. I doubt if half u lazy men can do that. Yet ur used to quoting bible verses all to justify how u want her to pound yam and slave for you with little support and fidelity. The same bible also says "love your wife as you love yourself" yes!! The same self centered self that will want a girl to stay home and not work and make useless her education. U Naija men need to start thinking before you speak. Sorry to burst ur bubble but marriage is not just about the man alone. There r two involved united as equals under God. So SIT down!! Stop masturbating over porn and start taking God seriously. Stop using his word to justify your backward ways.

2. How can men who cannot submit to God first of all demand submission at all? How do men know Word of God for women but not for themselves as men? That's why they keep using manipulations and force...*pls, take note that God is NOT A MANIPULATOR like mere men*

3. Anonymous 11:43, submitting to your husband doesn't mean he takes advantage of you..In marrige the man remains the head, not as an oppressor or an autoritative figure but as the primary and ordained decision maker. If a woman can't handle that, then why get married? As a woman needs her husband's permission, so does the man need his wife's opinion. It's a union bae not monopoly

4. @Anonymous 9:11 PM the bible also says; "A man that cannot take care of his wife and children is worse than an infidel". So there is nothing wrong with your wife assisting you in paying some bills in this harsh economic situation that we are in.

5. @Anonymous 9:11 PM I agree that wives should submit to their husbands but what happens when the husband cannot put food on the table or provide for his family? Because thesame bible says: "A man that cannot take care of his wife and family is worse than a infidel". Should the woman continue submitting and die of hunger if the man cannot provide for his family? Shouldnt the woman dust her certificate and look for a job to save the family from hunger? It is only a foolish and arrogant man that will still be refusing his wife to work and expect her to obey by submitting to him when the family is dying of hunger.

6. Anonymous 9:11 PM The truth is that most men feel threatened when their wives work especially if their wives earn more than them. Then they start quoting bible verses that soothes them like wives submitting to husbands. The fact that your wife is working doesnt mean she will not submit to you. She is only trying to assist you with bills and also because she doesnt want to get bored sitting at home idle. They say an idle mind is the devil's workshop. If u dont want her to work, then open a shop for her so that she can have something occupying her instead of just sitting at home idle before another man will help u keep her company. Just saying....

32. How come "Bolivia, Cameroun, Democratic republic of Congo, Gabon and Guinea" are on this list when Islam isn't the dominant religion in these countries

1. Linda to be very frank, there is nothing bad with it. Atleast they wont tell you who to marry. And you wont marry who wont let you work except he is a billionaire.

33. African country are many in this list o . TIMILEYIN BLESSING

34. i swear i thought i was going to see nigeria there, cos na negative thing we dey always see us thrive.

35. Inaccurate list. I'm from Cameroon and it's not like that. Women are independent and powerful everywhere.

36. Wow....I am shocked Nigeria isn't among the countries listed.......and to think that most women in Nigeria seek for permission from their husbands before they can work.

37. Hummm, Linda this isn't try about Cameroon.
    Am cameroonian and I have never heard such a thing. Am married, was working before I got married and I continued working. Never at some point did I have to take permission from my husband to work

38. Hiss!

All dis local and mushroom's countries...

39. Hiss! All dis mushrooms countries...

40. Muslim countries. Dis pple re really primitive.

41. Well.
    Feel some need 2 subject future Boo to some 18 ish.

42. Where is Saudi Arabia?

43. Some of these comments from Nigerians are ridiculous. Some of you fools just believe the garbage you watch in Nollywood movies... no single real life experience to get your example from. In spite of the garbage you watch in movies, most Nigerian women do not first get permission from their husband to work. Most Nigerian men don't stop you from working. If you look at the countries mentioned, they are predominantly muslim countries. The only reason a Nigerian man will refuse to let you work is if he's insecure. And majority of them aren't. Y'all need to grow up and stop taking your facts from Nollywood movies. mumu dem!

44. Smhhhhhh in this time and age, utter rubbish

45. Smhhhhhh in this time and age, utter rubbish

46. Rubbish! Who have their time, they should continue posting vague.

47. So wrong about Cameroon. Never heard and never seen this so how come a foreigner cud know about something that doesn't exist. Cameroonian parents don't even choose a partner for their kid unlike Nigerians. every one has a lot of free will in Cameroon. We are not a Muslim country too.

48. Hey Linda wat do u mean? Is it bad to get ur husband's consent and permission bfor getn a job? I see u as a potential unsubmissive woman.

49. Hey Linda wat do u mean? Is it bad to get ur husband's consent and permission bfor getn a job? I see u as a potential unsubmissive woman.

50. Nigeria can never be there because women in Nigeria are now educated, wiser and exposed. It is only an uncivilised man that will stop his wife from working.

51. I am surprised that people are saying that they are surprised that Nigeria is not there? With all the successful career women and celebrities we see around everyday in Nigeria, you still open your mouth to say u are surprised Nigeria is not there. Smtchew

52. A lot of women hold positions in government in Nigeria and we have a lot of female Managing Directors yet some people on this blog feel Nigeria should be on the list. You must have your brains examined.

53. Nigeria can never be on that list because the bad economy in Nigeria will make women work without their husbands stressing them. If you interview most men in Nigeria today, 99% will say they want to marry working-class woman.

54. Nigeria is civilised and cannot be on that list. It is only men that live in the village in Nigeria that will tell their wives not to work or educated men that still have village mentality in them

55. Nigeria is civilised and cannot be on that list. It is only men that live in the village in Nigeria that will tell their wives not to work or educated men that still have village mentality in them

56. Am so surprise dat Nigeria is not in d list.

57. When man see hardship and poverty, he wont bother whether the woman ask for his permission or not

58. How can a woman ask for a man's permission to work and assist in putting food on the table? Did the man not meet her working before he married her? I dont get it

59. Husbands should not be the main ones responsible to support. Both should equally try to earn and do housechores/childcare. GENDER-NEUTRAL!