Idris Elba talks about the time he almost died on set | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 28 November 2015

Idris Elba talks about the time he almost died on set

43-year-old actor and father of two recounted the time he nearly died while filming Beasts Of No Nation on location in Africa. Appearing on the Jonathan Ross Show, he spoke of how he slipped six feet down a waterfall.

He explained: 'We decided to do this waterfall scene where all these child soldiers were walking behind this massive waterfall. In Hollywood you would have just filmed a bit of water coming down and just shot people’s closeups but Cary Fukunaga, the director, decided to shoot it for real.'

The Luther star admitted he was quite relaxed at the top of the waterfall, falsely believing he was safe as he waited for the crew to set up for the scene. 

He said: 'The stunt co-ordinator says, "Listen everyone this is a waterfall, that’s a 90, 100 foot drop down there and the ground is very slippery, just be careful!"

'I put my foot on this rock just to hang out and chill out while they were setting up and as I’m doing that it’s slippery, obviously. I slip [and think] I’ll be alright, I put my hand on this tree... it’s not a tree it’s a branch!

'It snaps and I go literally about six feet before I go bang over and I got caught by the security guy!'
After Jonathan declared he could have fallen to his death, Idris joked: 'Yes! Today’s news, Idris Elba dies by a waterfall.'

He also revealed the director caught malaria during the shoot but thankfully, he survived.

46 comments:

Well! Thank God FOR God......

aproko manager said...

Na God na save am... end time actor

Hmm

pics\video of a slim Warri babe in hot sexcapade with 3 guys

Read

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

FINNY aka SWEET TROUBLE said...

U sh0uld be grateful is 0nly malaria wat if it was ch0lera huh?

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Thank God he is alive to tell d story!

Lol! I can't laff

Thank goddess it's now history.

Thank God for his life

edDREAMZ said...

So naso person for just die for nothing... Thank God for ur life shah....

Thank God for your life

survived malaria?? nigga it's not aids...

I love Idris Elba.
Juliet too many for this blog.
meanwhile am looking for one Juliet,we met in Abia State.

Kayode Odusanya said...

Hmm! Like how Brandon Lee died on set from a gun that was meant to have been cleaned out. A couple of actors have unfortunately died onset.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

Bummyla said...

Thank GOD You Are Alive! http://www.bummyla.com

Hmm, Thank God.

Darrel tom said...

So all this stupid negative Tins are been said cus it was in africa, ba? Una Don suffer African, thank God am not from here, hehe. I havnt even watch any of his movies before*covers face in shame*. Will try n see his movies one of this days. Linlin Where is wihlemena moses na, hope she is OK ooo. Wili hope u r OK, Abi u don jam Google proof if u r not a robot nonsense, that stuff is irritating, Linda try n do something about it mbok. OK bye na.

Linda's last son

Darrel tom said...

So all this stupid negative Tins are been said cus it was in africa, ba? Una Don suffer African, thank God am not from here, hehe. I havnt even watch any of his movies before*covers face in shame*. Will try n see his movies one of this days. Linlin Where is wihlemena moses na, hope she is OK ooo. Wili hope u r OK, Abi u don jam Google proof if u r not a robot nonsense, that stuff is irritating, Linda try n do something about it mbok. OK bye na.

Linda's last son

Thank God for him....

That was really close.

Thank God 4 him.....

Darrel tom said...

Israel David u r now a full time commenter on lib, OK na, Continue diaaa is Darrel, Una go hear am. Wen did u even discover there is lib? Let alone commenting on every post. Ok,Don't wana sound harsh tnxs for visiting this blog, see u fully by January. can u Plz crawl back? And crawl out by Jan? Thank u.. .

Linda's last son

etochi21 said...

He cheated death......great actor

All for the money.... .. Plus . Malaria no be new tin na...

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

I praise d Lord for his life!

My secret crush! Linda take note!

Ngozin said...

Thank God ! Linda ifu kwalu package nwoke m aa 😋😋😋😋😋he be packing for years lol!

I HAVE SEEN THE MOVIE. REALLY NICE

Caught malaria? Lol... very funny at least not ebola

This guy was fantastic... really loved the movie

Good job by the way. . . . . . .

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available Nationwide .

FilmLife

OKORO UPGRADED

Julie said...

I saw this on olisa.tv... next pls

Thank God for your life, may God continue to protect us. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

sugarwhip said...

Thank God my mcm did not die. Allhamdulilaih

You better uncrush now bcos he is my crush too.

Now u are sounding stupid

And who are u to question people on the blog? And even tell them when to appear and disappear? Smh
This is how people try to intimidate one another over someone else's labour. Mtcheeeew!!!

This Darrel how sick r u? Gosh! U r bare irritating! R u d LIB police or what? Mannerless goat. *screaming*

Hmmmmmm thank God he dint die, all that hotness would have wasted

Thank God for his life. Btw Idriss dies by waterfall would have been a far better caption than "Idriss dies by EBOLA while shooting in Africa"

Seen the film . You peeps can watch it on Netflix... It is banging. The sweetest boy there is called AGU.

I've always crushed on this guy like forever!

Darrel tom said...

*scream back, even louder than tat ur blues like scream*anon5:52 u r an Idiat Idiat # Now run along.

Linda's last son

That poorly put together movie was good?? I beg to differ. After the nostalgia of seeing that it was shot in West Africa, I found most of the story line predictable.
The little kid did a great job tho

Kaiser Sose said...