FG bans importation of "I better pass my neighbor" generators | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 November 2015

FG bans importation of "I better pass my neighbor" generators

The Federal government has banned the importation a very common brand of generator locally called "I better pas my neighbor". The Controller, Federation Operations Unit Zone A, Lagos of the Nigeria Customs Service (NCS), Madugu Sanni Jubrin, made this known to newsmen yesterday Nov. 17th.
“The smaller generators have been banned by the Federal Government because it is causing air pollution and destruction of our lungs and breathing system.
That is why they have banned it but people are still interested in smuggling them in, that is why we intercepted them. If you go to the market, you still see them because people have imported them before the ban. So it is the leftover they had before the ban that they are selling because the law did not backdate the ban and it is not an absolute prohibition. It is prohibition by trade which means you cannot bring it in large quantity and sell to the public. That is the type of prohibition we have on this but if you buy one piece, Customs will not seize it.

107 comments:

1. Dis is y in Nigeria, d poor get poorer while d rich get richer. Wht a shame!

2. If power improves dey should ban every type of generator. Linda take note!

3. Royal...You always sound deeply stupid...as if they always force you to just type something...

4. Useless people why dont you ban break in power transmission first. Let light be stable first b4 u talk bout pollution. Would anyone buy generators if light was constant?????

Mumu govt policy

2. Thats nice in order to pave the way for constant electricity. Fashola is working.

1. In my opinion, they should first provide us with steady electricity before banning the one we are managing. Our leaders sef

2. Fashola is working!!? No so you stupid reach?

3. It's quite understandable but I don't think they can stop the importation of it.

4. But why????#shining teeth#

5. Rubbish... Clueless government

6. Nigerian government is sooooo stupid.

Constant electricity they can not provide.
    The one we manage they take away.from us.

Very soon they go ban production of garri

1. Soon,u will understand what global warming is..the real one...
      Environmentalists worldwide are praising this bold step and this is what u feel?...that FG is stupid?

7. Nice one, I hope it comes with steady power supply, because that generator is the only hope of the common man to have light in his house.

1. Just look @ how contradictory your response was

8. So what do they want people that can afford a bigger generator to buy?

9. ooooo but the vehicles on the road that produce a whole lot carbon monoxide is not harmful to our health #logic?
    This shouldn't even be something to tackle now Face the unworthy road vehicles first before banning the sale of affordable products please that are aiding the poor to have light due to the lack of poor mangaemnt

1. How many poor people have cars? Compare with dat tiger gen..
      Go to orile,face me i face u with 10 tenants,all then may have and all then will not have cars! The pollution by way of fumes,noise ,etc...
      This is actually the only gen that people risk putting inside their house running overnight & get themselves killed by CO.
      Look ,it is a good step....cars are worldwide problems so far,work is in progress for better fossil fuel types and emissions...Most reasonable countries in the world dont tolerate our kind of pollution from small gens...they dont even use gens cos they have power.....buh please , it is a good step ,lauded by the UN....

10. Provide constant power and watch it ban it self, how do you expect up coming entrepreneurs with little capital (a barber) to survive???????

11. They're mad ni did give us light ni

12. Na them sabi

#It wiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
    #iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

13. Nawa ooooo shey na I pass my neighbour wey poor ppl dey manage na en dem dey banned.....na En Be D Fake products wey dem 4 banned...

14. The rich have their huge gens...so it's the poor man's issue.

15. Hmmmmmmmm anyway it's okay dat smallie gene can cause wahala too much....

16. Nawa,,,if dey wana ban t,,den dey shud provide constant light nah

***odikwa risky nd tyt***

17. I don't think this will work at all at all. If una won BAN am make una BAN am finish pata pata cos giving chance to does who buy one self will soon abuse it. We don't even want the GEN in this country self.

18. Onoooooooooooo! They should improve electricity... we don't want to use generator @ all in Nigeria....

19. Most of the decisions govt makes don't favour the masses.

Ubanagum

20. Hope there'll be stable power supply?

21. They should work on our power sector and permanently ban the importation of ALL generators! It is achievable.

22. Abeg make them go sleeps, if our light was very good, would anyone even think of buying a generator?

23. They should work on our power sector and permanently ban the importation of ALL generators! It is achievable.

24. As usual, the poor are always at the receiving end. Did they electricity for them before initiating this wicked plan? Can the poor afford standard generators? African leaders sha....

25. For me,CO2 can still be inhaled in big generator. When PHCN is not functioning properly what do u expect of the masses? They should stay without light? While government enjoys it? There are so many air pollution. Though not good for our health but that's what average masses can get to sustain dem selves. I think every compound that use gen should hv a generator house or portion so that all gens can be far from them. If u really want to ban, their should be alternative.... constant electricity.

26. SERIOUSLY???????

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB....

27. The word is "CHANGE"........ Ka anyi n'enene anya

#sucre

28. The word is "CHANGE"........ Ka anyi n'enene anya

#sucre

29. what is wrong with this apc led administration,is this the change we asked for?

30. In as much as the reasons they gave is right, but this is one of the wars being waged against the Nigerian poor masses. Why not give everyone constant light before making such a ban?

31. I thought Oga Jonathan did ban these generators before now
    How come these guys are doing it yet again?

32. Agreed, but FG shld give us steady power supply.

1. They can all afford sound proof generators. Poor man don suffer for dis country.

33. Una don ban poor man size nah..... wicked ppl.

34. lol,nothing man no go hear for Naija so i pass my neighbor gen dey do pollution while the big ones govt dey buy keep for their offices no dey pollute?Give Nigerians light abeg mr govt.hahahahh!

35. you don't to bound the importation,once there is constant light,nobody will use it again and the importers slowly will be out of market.so let do the first thing first.All generators cause air pollution,the bigger ones are the worst.

36. Nigeria is the only country I know that bans without making any alternative options for the citizens that will be affected by the bans. Our only prayer now is that this power failure and epileptic power supply will soon be a thing of the past in another four to six years time.

37. Nigeria is the only country I know that bans without making any alternative options for the citizens that will be affected by the bans. Our only prayer now is that this power failure and epileptic power supply will soon be a thing of the past in another four to six years time.

38. Hm so how will those managing their lives survive in a country like dis where we don't have steady power supply.

Well our health matters

God help Nigeria

That vuvuzela P guy

39. True. The thing brings out different kind of smoke/emission than the bigger ones. Whenever my neighbor puts his own, i must close the windows. Even at that the smoke still comes in.

40. That's not acceptable,is our light good? It is not everybody that can afford big generator. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

41. Haaaaaa....how will people in the local area cope. We don't have light and we can't buy gel...na wan pursue us away from this country.

Click: Good reasons why some men Cheat In Relationship

Click: If you do any of these, marriage is not for you

42. what? when I neva buy my own, I jst hv to quickly rush to d market 4 mine, b4 dem inflate d price again.

43. finally and at last. make we hear word

44. This ain't good news at all. The price will rise very soon.

45. Nawah dt is d saviour of a common man, what are we going to be using now to solve this light issue in this country.....

46. after banning, i hope they give us steady light

it is well

47. Nigerian govt before putting bans on certain things put things in place, not everyone in naija can afford bigger generators, if there is steady power supply in d country there won't be need for "I pass my nebor" When there is steady power u can put a ban on it + its not like the govt wil provide bigger generators for its citizens, mtchw

48. lol,nothing man no go hear for Naija so i pass my neighbor gen dey do pollution while the big ones govt dey buy keep for their offices no dey pollute?Give Nigerians light abeg mr govt.hahahahh!

49. chai wetin mekunu go do for this Country!! Light we nor get!!

50. Why the ban and what have they done about the light issue?. Am not in support at all. FG always thinking through their anus......Nepa give us light or stop the ban. period!!!

51. rubbish.this govt no get work o0h.the government dont need to ban that Gen ,what they need to do is to provide steady power in Nigeria and the case of that Gen will be over..it will ban itself.natural death

52. Nigeria which way, all these banning is like what OBJ did to stop the shine of Igbo traders. They have started again.

Is this not very simple, fix the power and their will be no need for I better pass my neighbour. This rule is against the poor masses who can't afford to buy the big generator.

Again, simply fix the power problem and the generator on its own will go into extinction.

Changemyfoot #Commonsense#

53. before you ban something work on the electricity first, now what do u expect people to do now more power to police and bullies... sorry poor masses.

54. Hmm...Dis small generators as been so helpful to many people I don't think they made a good decision.

55. What a stupid government, how will you banned the importation of that type of generator set without stabilizing electricity... they think electrical power is permanent everywhere just like in aso rock??? please we voted for positive change and not otherwise!!!

56. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    That gene is wild purchased in naija more any other gene yu can think of.... Fucked up country....

57. WTF? Thats like putting the cart before the horse!
    I mean, how are d average income earners going to survive with such epileptic power supply? Instead of the government to 1st improve the power generation before placing the ban, they prefer to punish the average income earners and students with this policy.

Sha sha.. am not suprised, anything to punish the "5% tribe" of Nigeria is acceptable by PMB.
    #SadIndeed

1. When the bling is leading the blind unimaginable things will never cease to happen.

When a Brainless man and his community is Leading a so-called Nation things like these are inevitable.

Look at the name of the Custom man, he is an Hausa/Fulani cattle herder. They don't have any reasoning faculty.

58. This is trash......FG should ensure 24/7 light then

1. Ok noted. Nd FG should work on Nepal so that average Nigerian will not continue to feel the heat as it is before FG place banned on the gen.

59. What an arrant nonsense.. When there's no light in the country? U can't ban something except u have already given them a plan B. So it's now the FG are just knowing of air pollution?... So how about a poor man who can't afford the massive generator. Rubbish!!!

60. Pls post my comment anty lili

61. I'v been reading dis blog 4 years but dn't really know how and why Anty lili dn't want to post my comment

62. I'v been reading dis blog 4 years but dn't really know how and why Anty lili dn't want to post my comment

63. I'v been reading dis blog 4 years but dn't really know how and why Anty lili dn't want to post my comment

64. I'v been reading dis blog 4 years but dn't really know how and why Anty lili dn't want to post my comment

65. Hiss!

Wht sort of govt ban sth dat is relevant 2d common man when they r millions of second hand vehicles on our roads dat cause worse than air pollution.

Rubbish!

66. Another way of trod-ding down the poor masses, They should ban the Big Commercial ones that gives them the rich, light. so that they will be forced to confront the problems of PHCN or NEPA since that will affect them

67. Another way of trod-ding down the poor masses, They should ban the Big Commercial ones that gives them the rich, light. so that they will be forced to confront the problems of PHCN or NEPA since that will affect them

68. Another way of trod-ding down the poor masses, They should ban the Big Commercial ones that gives them the rich, light. so that they will be forced to confront the problems of PHCN or NEPA since that will affect them

69. Hmmmm... And they haven't improved on electricity matters o. What about those that can't afford d bigger sized generators. It's well.

70. That part of the change we voted for!

71. If u can not give a lazy man cloth, don't take the one on him.

72. How come all the reforms made to better this country only favor the rich at the detriment of the common man?!

73. This Buhari Government that promised us standby light was a fraud because I still u stand by generator...sad

74. They want to impose more suffering on already distressed masses. How do barbers operate without small generators? Likewise other small scale businesses that depend on them. Buying a generator set of #30000 and above will be too much for them. If FG is serious, they should ban all form of generator set let's see how this country will operate

75. It is well....
    U give them ur Mandate and they suddenly become Almighty, not regarding the needs of the common man.…

76. Next in the pipeline of items to be banned are saloon cars because of the pollution from the exhaust pipes. Only SUV/Jeep cars will be allowed on the Nigerian roads.Nigeria, we hail thee.

77. Pls friends, kindly help me click this link. I need it to generate traffic for a particular promotional promo. Thanks for your help!- http://PayRefe.net/index.php?ref=326722

78. If there is steady light. Ppl for dey use Gen sef? Rubbish. Ppl dat cant afford big Gen nko? Na only small Gen dey cause air pollution? FG do reasonable things.

79. Now that the Federal Government has banned importation of 'I pass my neighbour,' importation of Tokumbo cars, and fairly used cloths popularly known as 'Okirika cloth'. Can they balance the equation by banning the importation of fairly used air crafts?

80. If they are serious let them ban all generating set of all size. Why didn't they ban the lister they use

81. Naija no go kill persin with nick name
    i better pass my neighbour what if both neighbour fit afford am e go be i equal my neighbour Lol.

82. Naija no go kill persin with nick name
    i better pass my neighbour what if both neighbour fit afford am e go be i equal my neighbour Lol.

83. I beg to differ. Do you see the magnitude of smoke the big gens produce compared to the small ones?? They should just ban all generators and improve power supply

84. Because that's the ones the poor buys. Why not ban importation of all generators if you are serious, hypocrites.