Eww! 2 women on their period go without sanitary towels to protest Tampon tax (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 9 November 2015

Eww! 2 women on their period go without sanitary towels to protest Tampon tax (photos)

Charlie Edge shared pics of her & friend standing outside the UK House of Parliament on Saturday, holding placards in protest of the "luxury" tax on tampons, on her Facebook page. According to The Independent, she timed the action to coincide with her period and went without sanitary towels and tampons, instead letting her menstrual blood seep into the fabric of her white trousers. Ewww!
Edge wrote:
Today i am forgoing tampons and pads outside the houses of parliament to show how 'luxury' tampons really are. We are also raising money to buy tampons for homeless shelters, womens shelters and the refugee crisis.
We're getting lots of dirty looks and someone just shouted at us to get a job.
But everyone keeps saying "haha omg how quickly would we get free tampons if everyone stopped wearing them?!"
So, I'm giving it a go.
Taxes are necessary, i get it.
So are tampons/ pads.
They're not luxury items, anymore than jaffa cakes, edible cake decorations, exotic meats or any other number of things currently not taxed as luxury items.
Maternity pads are taxed, but incontinence pads arent.
We've had enough. Maybe bleeding on their doorstep will get the tories to do something about this?
please share and spread this around.
I wanna get on buzzfeed.
byeeeeee xxx

83 comments:

1. Akuko! How u take believe say that tin na real stain.... Na paint joor! I mean who can do DAT? Can u stay without pad for 5 mins. Shuu?

1. Madam sabi sabi, you read Wetin she write. You look only the pisho and commenting rubbish

2. Ewwwwwww! But it's for a good cause so I commend them. Linda take note!

3. Ewwwwwww! But it's for a good cause so I commend them. Linda take note!

4. Ewwwwwww! But it's for a good cause so I commend them. Linda take note!

5. Linda i am a female and i don't support this rubbish abeg.

22921F1C Pin leak..add up

1. Did you just look at the pix without reading what she wrote? Am sure you did only the former

6. Linda i am a female and i don't support this rubbish abeg.

22921F1C Pin leak..add up

7. F*cking white people, WTF this is just disgusting!! I have seen this type of sh*t before; a protest of some kind! Who told them this was okay?! Doesn't this fall under indecent exposure?!

8. They make sense but come on!!and why eww? I remember u supported that girl that posted hers on Instagram then..ummmm

9. so gross

MISSVEE

10. Lolz @linda why are doin ewww??pls is not bad 4 d eye to behold abeg,it's gud let dem continue,infact we need to do ours here #sanitarypad do dey increase anyhow..

11. Wats this na
    Linda I was eating before opening this bizarre pix
    Mbok madam always put graphic warning wen it has to do stuffs like this, I know it's ur blog mbok. #sighs. This one they behaves like Yoruba ladies.
    Not interested abit mbok

Linda's last son

12. Wats this na
    Linda I was eating before opening this bizarre pix
    Mbok madam always put graphic warning wen it has to do stuffs like this, I know it's ur blog mbok. #sighs. This one they behaves like Yoruba ladies.
    Not interested abit mbok

Linda's last son

13. Which kind shoe be this na?

14. Nawa oh, but that's an eye sore

15. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    I nearly throw up though..... Seriously if yu are tired of being a woman pls go and kill urself...... Nonsense...

16. Linda which one be ewww like say men no dey give head to women no be there the blood dey come out from, even d discharges dey com out from there. urine dey come out from there yet men go dey lick the place during oral sex wen d guy is giving u a head do u saay eww abeg jor make we hear word this ladies did nothing wrong. Linda but wetein be tampon na d same thing with pad bcos u guys keep on saying tampons i dont get it na only pads we sabi o

17. Speechless. What... What is dis?

18. thank God they are not africans!!

19. STRANGE

www.phaljamesresources.com is the digital marketing agency everyone has been talking about for Online Advertising,Email Marketing,SMS advertising, Web Designing, Bulk SMS( www.smsphaljames.com) Call us on 07066525921

20. ewwwwwwwwwwwwwww. not a good sight.

21. Tueh! these pix just spoilt my day, what sort of irritating stuff is this, this is the most stupid way to go about championing a cause.

22. Add Up Jenny! BBM: 33290429

Follow. @sexfactsng

23. Me like her shoe lol. Ping for ballet costume pls 2643CFDB

24. Just Imagine the level people of the liberal 21st century can go just to create attention and yes we keep giving it to them. At this rate, I think it is proper to say we are slowly regressing from civilization back to barbarism.

25. What's so "eww" about that linda....have u ever wonder how women coped b4 tampons and pads came to being?... why dem go tax tampons??? abeg drip a little in dem lawmakers tea

26. All for display in d name of...
    Lord hav mercy and see usthru thereof.

27. THAT'S VERY DISGUSTING

AUNTY LINDA....

28. This is not great at all...I think this generation is going crazy, people now protest naked to be heard, they go naked to create awareness, and now these ones think they are sending a message, they don't know it's a ridicule to womanhood...SYK, there are 101 ways to protest or create awareness without being raunchy or weird

29. It doesn't mean you should irritate people.

30. i guess women have their issues

See maggot coming out from a man's penis
    if there is one thing you must read, it is the You can: series .....read and share

31. These whites always come up with crazy ideas all the time. This is totally disgusting.

32. Ewwww!These white folks....a lot of them are really mad. But unfortunately, they don't know.

33. Ewww...not enough. Ewwwwwwwwww!!

34. Linda you should have censored this one. If na that oda one now u will..

35. How can anyone in their right senses classify tampons and sanitary pads as luxury goods? These women's actions may be unsightly but it's justified as far as I'm concerned. #nototampontax

36. It's a pity.

37. Dis women stupid shaa! Is that a better way to protest

38. Ndi ocha ndi ara! So disgusting

39. How nasty is that but to put tax on pads/tampons and call it luxury is absurd. It is a necessity for all woman and it should be affordable for all regardless of your social economic status. Well done to these girls for standing up and being brave to go outside leaking like that.

40. I dislike the period stain on my cloth not to talk of not wearing any pad, one word "irritating". They should wash off abeg.

41. Yuk! So disgusting 🙈

42. This is arrant nonsense. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

43. But Wth nau...what a way to make a point..

44. These deluded fucks are jst tryna express their pigginess, hence the filthy display of squalidness.

45. This is nasty. Some oyibo people dey do anyhow.

46. This is DIRTY!!! What kind of rubbish is this?

47. What a shame! Just embarrassing themselves. They are disgrace to womanhood

48. Whatever d reason, this is absolutely disgusting! And that horrible period smell? Eww!

49. Hehehe! Okay ooo! I said it that the world will soon come to an end. Hmmm! When people don't have the fear of God or shame anymore . Bringing toilet matters to the public.

50. Tampons are NOT luxury items. They should be very cheap cause all ladies use it. It's just like calling tissue a luxury item. I support these women's protest even though their making their statement in a very weird and radical way.

51. I don't think they are actually on their period, they blood colour seems a bit too pink, they just painted their pants.

52. Linda u should be ashamed of yourself. You are a woman and you are publishing this nonsense. Where is your dignity? Have you lost it?

53. Linda u should be ashamed of yourself. You are a woman and you are publishing this nonsense. Where is your dignity? Have you lost it?