Pastor arraigned for defrauding church members in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 2 October 2015

Pastor arraigned for defrauding church members in Lagos

The Lagos State Police Command has arraigned Pastor David Oladele before an Ebute-Meta Magistrate’s Court for allegedly defrauding his members of millions of Naira in car deals.

The pastor, along with others at large, allegedly defrauded six people by failing to remit profits from selling their cars, and issuing them fake cheques.

The vehicles, one Toyota Highlander, one Toyota pickup van, one Honda Odyssey, one Nissan Muraino and one Acura 3.2. were obtained allegedly under false pretences and were given to the accused to sell and remit to the dealers but he instead diverted the money into his personal accounts after the vehicles were sold.
Oladele is also accused of allegedly issuing dud cheques to two people.
The defendant was arraigned on nine counts of stealing.
The charges read in part:
“That you, Pastor David Oladele, and others now at large, between October 2014 and January 2015, at Ipaja, Lagos, in the Lagos Magisterial District, did conspire among yourselves to commit felony to wit; obtaining money under false pretences and stealing, and thereby committed an offence punishable under Section 409 of the Criminal Law of Lagos State of Nigeria, 2011.”
He pleaded not guilty to all the charges and his defence counsel requested for bail.
The magistrate, N. A. Layeni, granted the defendant bail in the sum of N1m with two sureties in like sum.
The magistrate said one of the sureties must be a blood relation, one must be a landed property owner, and both must have evidence of tax payments.
The case was adjourned till October 7, 2015.
Source: Vanguard

30 comments:

1. Kikikiki I never trust all this so called men of God! Nigerians are so shallow minded that they even believe more in pastors than the God they serve! It's wa!

1. Dnt jump in2 conclusion yet, bcos it cud be a false accusation. Pastors face a lot of trouble and temptations, I pray God sees him tru

2. Dis case should b properly investigated and if found guilty he should b punished accordingly so dat dis wil serve as deterrent to others.

3. FRAUDSTER PASTOR.GOAT IN SHEEP CLOTHNG...TOMJERRYSWIT

4. This is just one of them. There are so many out there... God will continue to put these fraudsters to shame.

5. Dis world don kpafuka finish. Linda take note!

6. Dis world don kpafuka finish. Linda take note!

7. Can somebody shout a bigger Alleluuu!
    who is fooling who, this war on corruption won't be complete without beaming the torchlight on our various churches/business.
    That pastor must face the law.

8. So many fake pastors we have in 9ja

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
    #it MUST end IN praise

9. Lord Jesus pastor? Sign that the world is coming to an end. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

10. He should remain in jail forever #lindaobserve

11. Fake pastors everywhr..I don't blame them anyways,I blame d gullible nigerians who fall prey to their deceit.

12. Speechless for now.all i can say is that,this are imams in the name of pastors.
    Every were in nigeria is church making noise why evil,killing,fornication,rape,terrorism and occultism are order of the day.
    I advice the nigeria police force to deal with him mercilessly cause his suppose to be an example to people not a fraudter.

13. Why don't I pity the victims?
    GULLIBLE FELLOWS.

14. Yoruba pastors are scammers... They are fake.
    They will never leave their oduduwa alone and face the living Almighty God

15. There are many of his sort in Nigeria today!

16. pastor, pastor,pastor . ho many times did i called you?

17. http://jobrize.com/index.php?ref=413990

18. Here in USA, Nigerian pastors here have finished us, they are worst than naija based pastors.

19. This reminds me of one pastor I bought a car from several years ago at a car shop, Agidingbi, Ikeja!They call him pastor but his behavior is diametrically opposite of what he is called! He gave me the vehicles particulars except the customs import papers! After I have constantly pestered him, he went and forged a custom papers and handed to me! I was dumbfounded that a pastor could do that! Even the forgery he couldn't do it well because the discrepancies were to obvious! He refused to refund my purchase money, when I requested! I guess I was anxious to buy my first car, that was why I didn't check properly before paying him!!!