Meet woman who is obsessed with tearing out her own hair | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 17 October 2015

Meet woman who is obsessed with tearing out her own hair

A 32 year old woman, Wendy Clark, was left almost bald after a 20-year battle with a condition which makes her tear out her own hair.
She has tried to cover her head with wigs and 
hair bands over the years but it got so bad 
at the beginning of this year that she had lost 90 per cent of her hair.

She feels she’s turned a corner on the road to recovery after having an Intralace System fitted at specialist salon,the Daily Record reported .

Wendy felt shocked and emotional seeing her reflection with a full head of hair.

But her treatment at Lucinda Ellery in Edinburgh has given her a much-needed confidence boost and has also helped her cut back on her hair-pulling obsession.

Wendy, who works in HR, developed trichotillomania – known as TTM – when she was aged around 11.

She said: “I didn’t know what it was at the time and wasn’t really aware I was doing it. 
For me it was just kind of a habit that started, there wasn’t a reason behind it.
“Over the next couple of years, it gradually got worse until it was hard for me to hide it. 
I wasn’t sure why I started pulling, I had a happy, healthy childhood, it seemed to be 
a bad habit I had developed somehow. I wasn’t aware of it early on enough to stop it. The longer you do it, the harder it becomes to stop.
“It was probably in my late teens when I discovered that there was a recognised condition for what I had. I found this out through internet research but never had the confidence to admit or seek help as I always told myself I would deal with it myself. I only told my closest friends and family and we never talked about it as I always got too upset.
“People must have noticed but no one talked about it. For most of my teenage years and into my early 20s, I was able to cover up any bad areas by wearing my hair up, hoping no one would notice.
“I moved to Edinburgh for university at 17, spent a year in Australia, travelled around the world living a full and active life and although I presented a happy, outgoing exterior and people never mentioned it to me, I was constantly conscious of my TTM and anxious under the surface.
“When I was 24, I settled in Glasgow and I started wearing wigs. I thought it would be a barrier to my pulling and 
did make me feel a lot more confident. Unfortunately 
it allowed the TTM to get much worse as I could pull without having to hide the patches with my own hair and it got to the stage where I had virtually no hair left.”
At 26, Wendy finally plucked up the courage to see her GP and tried cognitive behaviour therapy (CBT) and hypnotherapy.

She believes conditions like TTM are widespread and she’s keen to get rid of 
stigma and offer people hope.

She said: “There’s no known cure to date 
and the science behind it all is that there are 100 million people with it worldwide.”

According to Lucinda, many people feel isolated but are now discovering they are not alone. She says it’s a genetically predisposed condition and predominantly feminine. It 
also mostly starts at around the age of 11 or 12.

Daily Mail

87 comments:

1. Lol, u wicked ooo Davidos goat. You don see small money buy credit abi na MEG for phone you come dey misyarn.
      EWU

2. @lindaikeji, why did you remove that post of CythianMorgan????? Pls bring it back........are you trying to save Caroline Danjuma?? When she just got the attention she invited upon herself......

3. Wow so i am not alone with this issue of hair pulling. I pull mine while sucking my tongue. Now i know it has a name. Let me Google

4. She needs Jesus...

5. I have TTM too. Started pulling at age 11 and have pulled for about 13 years. This condition is not a joke. You totally loose your self confidence. I rely on wigs too and bonded short hairs. I really do wish I can have my own hair....but then, it's just a wish.

2. @lindaikeji: Sometimes God delays these things to bless other aspects of your life.I'm ready when He's ready! Having said that,who wants to marry me? :-)

Yes!! I will marry you bae

1. Lol. Davido Driver? Lmao!!!!!!!! Stupid boy u nor well @ all. That girl need deliverance I pray God heal her.

3. Eeeeeeyah! Na wa o! Linda take note!

4. Eeeeeeyah! Na wa o! Linda take note!

5. Eeeeeeyah! Na wa o! Linda take note!

6. That's her business....... Jor oh

7. Lol, lekwanu nsogbu

it is well

8. Lol, lekwanu nsogbu

it is well

9. Can u imagine? Shes sick...nne if your hair isn't enuf, biko bido na aji ikpu gi. Mtchew

10. Lord Jesus heal her from that disease

I almost get myself killed today when learning how to drive a bike,I even thought am dead but to Gods glory,I sustain no injury. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

1. Timileyin Blessing, Eyaah! So sorry oh. Not even car, go for check-up oh.

11. I'm really proud of her. She's doing well.

12. Hian! Obsession plenty for dis life fa

13. Mutants are amongst us...

14. Nawao! there is nothing we won't hear, look at how it has left her looking like a widow in her mourning period.

15. Madness of the highest order.

16. That's strange

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
    #iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

17. Now this is new and didn't happen in india too!surprising

18. 100 million people pulling hair around d world? Kinda who went round to count and come up with such a figure? Any way let me pull my beards first

19. 100 million people pulling hair around d world? Kinda who went round to count and come up with such a figure? Any way let me pull my beards first

20. Linda where u go since? Wakawaka

#onlymewakacome

21. It's when she have hair. If she don't have she will no how to praise god.

22. Hmmmmm, those girls that are obsessed with clothes, shoes and bags should go see a therapist. It's a disease oo. Don't die in silence.

23. Hian nothing we will not see hmmm, thank God she is better now!!!

24. Its well wit her soul and I wish her all d best.
    God heal her inside out IJN.

25. Its well wit her soul and I wish her all d best.
    God heal her inside out IJN.

26. Nawa Wettin person no go hear?

27. I used to do this as a child. At that time I was living in a high stressed household full of violence, I now believe it was a coping mechanism.

28. This is weird! Na wa o.

29. Huuu nawa o, God will see u thru.

30. And he was called the "Dispenser of invisible slap". The Brutal Entity.

31. .....he kept marching on, to the Glory of God Almighty.

32. She needs medical attention or some kinda therapist...

33. looking at your crib mehn you fucking made,fuck those musician are they are learner,go check out linda crib,mehn you really inspire youth of this day,go girl you rock,massive shout out mehn

34. Good for her, @davido`s Driver Ain't you supposed to be on duty? I'll report you to my Boyfriend @I am Davido, You're busy disturbing Libers here

35. Omg! Very weird. Sorry. #That igbochick

36. Now Whileminna Moses, ur seriously something else #rotfl

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
    #iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

37. Introduce her to d original igbo gal.. mk she donate d hair

38. Introduce her to d original igbo gal.. mk she donate d hair

39. Linda this is real as a matter of fact I'm or rather I used to be a victim of this very shameful and embarrassing disorder. It's a compulsive disorder that makes u jst want to pull out your hair and for pleasure at least 2 hours at a stretch. But after the whole episode when u look at ur self u jst feel pity and sad then u realize the damage done. Mine started at about 12 yrs of age n I'm now in my late 20's I just thank God I've been able to put it behind me. It's not something you can really control it takes just the grace of God to overcome it. That's why I used to wear wigs 99.9 percent of the time. Thanks be to God for saving me from trich!♡♡♡

1. Sorry, I need your assistance, I have this problem for 28yrs now, I have tried everything possible to stop but it's just getting worse, how did you do it? How can one stop this disgusting behaviour. We have a lot of people around us going through Trish n suffering in silence, I need help on how to stop.

40. I av a friend that do it, especially while reading. Not as much as this tho......

41. Linda this is real as a matter of fact I'm or rather I used to be a victim of this very shameful and embarrassing disorder. It's a compulsive disorder that makes u jst want to pull out your hair and for pleasure at least 2 hours at a stretch. But after the whole episode when u look at ur self u jst feel pity and sad then u realize the damage done. Mine started at about 12 yrs of age n I'm now in my late 20's I just thank God I've been able to put it behind me. It's not something you can really control it takes just the grace of God to overcome it. That's why I used to wear wigs 99.9 percent of the time. Thanks be to God for saving me from trich!♡♡♡

42. I even plan to open an organization to help ppl leaving with trich overcome the disorder. It's really a bad thing trust me. Only God can save one.

43. I even plan to open an organization to help ppl leaving with trich overcome the disorder. It's really a bad thing trust me. Only God can save one.

44. I really need to get d hair so i can sell to Nigerian girls....

45. Such a pity. God can heal her if there is no medical help.

46. Mtchewwww th babe needs Deliverance by flogging, Cele style ASAP

47. Mtchewwww th babe needs Deliverance by flogging, Cele style ASAP

48. Its an obsession which she managed to realize.

49. For you guys commenting saying negative things ,d disorder is real and u wouldn't wish to have it. Kindly Google ":trichotillomania" and understand it. I am your regular Nigerian girl and I have a chronic one ,worse than what you are seeing in this post. So my dear people make una calm and seek knowledge.xoxo