'You are beautiful' A pregnant woman's response after being told she looked like "a sausage in casing and "disgusting" | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 24 August 2015

'You are beautiful' A pregnant woman's response after being told she looked like "a sausage in casing and "disgusting"

Katie Fehlinger, a CBS weather presenter who is expecting twins took to Facebook on Wednesday, August 19 to address haters and at the same time encourage other pregnant women being shamed because of the changes their bodies are undergoing. A woman said she looked like a 'sausage in casing'. Another told her that “sticking your pregnant abdomen out like that is disgusting”

See the message she shared on her Facebook in response to the hate after the cut...

Hey guys! Once more, I have to get something off my chest. So, the nature of my job makes me an easy target for criticism. I will always understand that, and I will most typically just ignore it. However, after someone blatantly called me a "sausage in casing" and another declared that "sticking your pregnant abdomen out like that is disgusting", I felt a need to draw a line and speak up. 
Everyone's right to their opinion is important, but so are manners. And while rude comments like these will never make me feel the need to change anything about myself, I find a bigger underlying issue here. These particular nasty-grams were directed at a pregnant woman. 
So this little manifesto of sorts is dedicated to every mother out there - other pregnant moms-to-be, moms reading this while their toddlers play on the swing set, moms whose kids have long since gone off to college...You are beautiful. 
Even during the most uncomfortable -and let's face it, less than glamorous -symptoms of pregnancy, what women go through to bring their precious children into the world is, simply put, AMAZING and you should be lauded. Frankly, I don't care how "terrible" or "inappropriate" anyone thinks I look. I will gladly gain 50 pounds & suffer sleepless, uncomfortable nights if it means upping my chances to deliver 2 healthy baby girls. 
Now it's about more than aesthetics. I want these babies to have the best start possible. And that hopefully means my belly that "looks like it's about to explode!" will continue to grow the next few weeks. I say let's raise a Shirley Temple to swollen feet, stretch marks, nausea, all the extra pounds and the dark circles! 
They're badges of motherhood. And for those of you who think that's "disgusting", remember a woman went through the very same thing to bring YOU into the world. In the meantime, let's all remember the lesson Mom taught us - if you have nothing nice to say, say nothing at all.
Source: Facebook/Katie Fehlinger

69 comments:

1. You look amazing dear, don't pay attention to dem fools displaying stupidity. Linda take note!

2. You look amazing dear, don't pay attention to dem fools displaying stupidity. Linda take note!

3. You look amazing dear, don't pay attention to dem fools displaying stupidity. Linda take note!

4. I've not had kids yet, but I've got mad respect for moms and moms-to-be 'cause we know it ain't easy. Whoever said that bullcrap is retarded and blind. This woman is really looking good for a pregnant woman. Well said dear.

5. So, I'm guessing whoever made those comments was thrown down from d sky and has no Mom? Pathetic!

2. And someone that was actually born by a woman said this? Irritating...

1. Onyx you just took the words out of my mouth! Wth?

3. Dis white pple hv no chill at all

4. Who said you look awful? Let that dude com and kiss my black hairy ass. you look fabulous my dear.May God Bless all the Pregnant women.

1. Exactly my tots wen I saw d pix b4 even readingg d post...White peeps though!

5. I love this part. "let's raise a Shirley Temple to swollen feet, stretch marks, nausea, all the extra pounds and the dark circles! They're badges of motherhood."

6. I thank God each day for making me a woman.
    I understand perfectly how she feels.
    I would gladly get pregnant over and over again to have my 3 wonderful God given children.
    They are worth all of the pregnancy woes and painful labour! ♥♥♥

7. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Very sensible statement.... God bless all pregnant mothers though....

8. Oh! That's a KO. . . And absolutely spot on too.

9. Wao good! Don't mind some mannerless brats

10. Yeah really nice. I'm one of them expectant mommas, this is really encouraging.

11. I guess those women do not know what it means to be pregnant or how it feels, the joy it brings to families, it's very sad.

12. I still don't get it, how can someone think a pregnant woman is disgusting? Can baby be delivered by post? I have this natural affection+respect for pregnant women whenever I see one.

13. Expectant mums out there, this one is for you. YOU ROCK!!!!! AND YOU'RE BEAUTIFUL!!!
    Let the haters eat their hearts out. They haven't got what you've got, so they're jealous, they may not accept that though.
    Don't pay attention to those who mock the changes your bodies are going thru.
    They don't know what it means to bring another human being into the world, and... they may never know.
    They've forgotten someone went through these same changes to give them life.
    They're worried about not losing their "shape" or "figure". They'll never be able to figure out the manner those figures will collapse when age catches up on them and it might have been too late to start having babies.
    Once again, expectant mums, YOU ROCK!!!!
    YOU'RE GORGEOUS!!! PREGNANCY MAKES YOU SPECIAL!!!
    YOU'VE GOT THE UNCOMMON ABILITY TO GIVE LIFE TO ANOTHER!!!
    MWUAAAAAH!!!

14. Her response is simply spot on, some people think they fell from the sky. A woman had to go through all of this to bring them in to the world in case they forgot. Appreciate women, Pregnant women, mothers...

15. Funny and clown's every were.

16. Wow,the best reply anyone could possibly give to haters, thumbs up to her

17. Lindiwe, ke kwanu d like button ehn? Spot on o Jare i feel u. I will gladly carry my stretch marks and winnie the poh pouch as marks of victory that i brot my son into the world (thank God).

Onye iwe n'ewe ya biko sugbuo ya!

18. I love u mam! Nice one!! Haters should die already! Mo-1

19. You go girl#thumbs up don't mind them haters

20. She couldn't have put it any better! KUDOS!

21. Y will u say such nasty tins to a pregnant woman! Som1 carry life in her! Dats crazy! + she is even beautiful!

22. gbam!!!, she said it all, nothing more to add. and honestly speaking she looks good.

23. SO ON POINT! She couldn't have said it better.. Why are some people just so mean...?

24. Nice thoughts, why do people always say negative things to pregnant women..

DON'T HOPE FRIEND, DECIDE 

25. Apart from Kim I never see pregnant woman wey fine without pimples...... even tiwa sef

26. Gbam!! If you have nothing nice to say, shut it!!

27. Pple can talk anymore Wats their business they should undastand that's what comes with pregnancy I mean d body changes.

28. Great response! She should. Get an Award for it! So real and straight. I love YOU babes! Proud to be a mother!

29. Its only a stupid moron that will abuse a pregnant woman because of changes in her body!!!

30. Wow! She spoke well and I wish her safe delivery in advance. Most of us r just hater's which shows nagativity@all levels.

God bless her for dis words of wisdom mostly dis "Everyone's right to their opinion is important, but so are manners".

31. Kudos to you, shame on haters

32. Ride on dearie....u dont even look anyfin close wat dey said about you. Love yourself more! Super mum to be. And to think at its actually women raining abuses on dere fellow woman. Una no go carry una own pikin in Jeseus name! AMEN!!!!!

33. I admire this honesty, and humble post of this woman, This is worthy of emulation to every human being, don't reply evil with evil and pay not evil with evil.

34. Thanks for reminding them that a woman gave birth to them all, if they decide not to give birth it's their loss cuz they will never know wot it's like to be a mother.

35. People who make such comments are mentally unstable.

36. Why would someone say she looks like a sausage in a casing? She's really beautiful....

37. Go Girl!!! I couldn't have said it better myself. It's a pity the people making those snide comments are women themselves. It's sad that women are their own worst enemies!!!

38. Nice one there dear. U hit them bad.

39. madam you are beautiful live jealous people make dey talk

40. Attacking a pregnant woman, cus of d changes her body is goin tru is sick... Knwin dat the pipo behind d attack r even woman dem sefs is even more heart breaking. Smh. Doe women needs to get der heads examined

41. Exactly! Y wud u say dat to a pregnant woman as if sm1 didn't have to go tru al dat to bring u into the world.

42. nice response

43. Go Girl!!! I couldn't have said it better myself. It's a pity the people making those snide comments are women themselves. It's sad that women are their own worst enemies!!!

44. Don't mind them u're beautiful d way u are...f**k dem!!

45. You have spoken well. Pregnancy is something a woman should be proud of, no matter how you look like during the process. By the time you hold your bundle of joy you will forget all the negative reactions.

46. Pregnancy is not a diseases, these are all physiological changes that will disappear immediately after delivery.

47. Pregnancy is not a diseases, these are all physiological changes that will disappear immediately after delivery.

48. Oyibo people Na wa oooo, what is wrong with pregnant woman? It is fun and I'm so happy we expecting our 1st babies.

49. Expectant mums out there, this one is for you. YOU ROCK!!!!! AND YOU'RE BEAUTIFUL!!!
    Let the haters eat their hearts out. They haven't got what you've got, so they're jealous, they may not accept that though.
    Don't pay attention to those who mock the changes your bodies are going thru.
    They don't know what it means to bring another human being into the world, and... they may never know.
    They've forgotten someone went through these same changes to give them life.
    They're worried about not losing their "shape" or "figure". They'll never be able to figure out the manner those shapes will collapse when age catches up on them and it might have been too late to start having babies.
    Once again, expectant mums, YOU ROCK!!!!
    YOU'RE GORGEOUS!!! PREGNANCY MAKES YOU SPECIAL!!!
    YOU'VE GOT THE UNCOMMON ABILITY TO GIVE LIFE TO ANOTHER!!!
    MWUAAAAAH!!!

50. Most of these oyibo people get sick mind and they do not know it. may be jealousy of some sort. This woman is more beautiful than many unpragnant women. Such a beauty.Me I ready to marry am with the pragnancy. Haba mana

51. I don't think pregnant women are disgusting. I think the public just gets grossed out when they see inappropriately dressed pregnant women. wear free/loose clothing. Stop wearing body con dresses, with your belly button protruding in people;s faces as though it' about to explode. I think the tight clothing is why people get irritated.

52. Go Katie; go!!! You got all the wonderful mums, expectant mums, kids-loving pops, women-respecting pops, women-appreciating pops throughout the world behind you. Most importantly, the Almighty God's got your back!!!

53. Go Katie; go!!! You got all the wonderful mums, expectant mums, kids-loving pops, women-respecting pops, women-appreciating pops throughout the world behind you. Most importantly, the Almighty God's got your back!!!

54. Don't mind the haters, u re so beautiful