Thai man sentenced to 30yrs in prison for Facebook posts insulting monarchy | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 7 August 2015

Thai man sentenced to 30yrs in prison for Facebook posts insulting monarchy

A 48-year-old man named Pongsak Sriboonpeng was today Friday August 7th handed the lengthy prison sentence by the military court, having been prosecuted under Thailand’s royal defamation law.

His lawyer Sasinan Thamnithinan told AFP that his sentence was 60 years - a decade for each six Facebook posts he made but this was halved as he had pleaded guilty.

"It's broken the record," she said about the severe jail term. She further added that because Pongsak was arrested while Thailand was still under martial law there was no right to appeal the sentence passed by the military court.

Under Section 112 of the Criminal Code, anyone convicted of insulting the king, queen, heir or regent faces up to 15 years in prison on each count.

(Photo of Thailand's King Bhumibol Adulyadej and Queen Sirikit)

43 comments:

1. Its not the king, its the law, the young man new this yet he was still being stupid, am sure he can handle his consequences well......Henry Eze

2. Its not the king, its the law, the young man new this yet he was still being stupid, am sure he can handle his consequences well......Henry Eze

3. No be small thing oooo, for Naija we fit carry d insult reach d highest authority self, insulting d president is our daily meal, fit tell am any word 4 fb, twitter even send am straight 2 his mail, Hehehehe and dats democracy 4 u, unlike some countries dat is been owned by some certain group of person or persons where u der not speak ur mind. Seriously 30 yrs is no more punishment but wickedness of its peak.

4. Do you have a problem understanding English? Didn't you read the part where Linda wrote, the country is under military Rule? Did she say it was a monarchical rule?

2. Na wa o!
    Thank God am from naija

1. I thank God for life too, cos .....

3. Can we read the insults? If men were God...tufia!

4. Like seriously!!! The guy has also passed his boundary but justice should be tempered with mercy

5. Like seriously!!! The guy has also passed his boundary but justice should be tempered with mercy

6. Ehn! Dis one na "one chance" motor o! No freedom of speech for there??? Linda take note!

7. Ehn! Dis one na "one chance" motor o! No freedom of speech for there??? Linda take note!

8. Ehn! Dis one na "one chance" motor o! No freedom of speech for there??? Linda take note!

9. 30yrs for just insulting monarchy? What kinda world are we living in!!

1. Err it's not the world. It's in Thailand

10. Madness,no freedom of speech

11. What?!?! 30yrs? For fb posts? Nawah!

12. I hope we can say what we want here. Lol
    ...Mama J...

13. We in Nigeria ought to be thankful we can post and say anything about the government and go scotfree because we are under a Democratic umbrella. Some people are not that fortunate. They have even given PMB a new nick name "BuuBuu". SMH....

14. If this were to happen in Nigerian, 90% of our youths will definately go to jail. But I think the purnishment is too severe though. Law is law anyway.

1. 90%...If am in such country i for they serve life sentence by now......Just imagined how many it would be if the USA is used a case study Henry Eze

15. We in Nigeria ought to be thankful we can post and say anything about the government and go scotfree because we are under a Democratic umbrella. Some people are not that fortunate so sad.

16. this should be omojuwas fate if not for saner times and benevolence

17. We dey flex for Nigeria oh! We dey yah anybody

18. Nonsense law, thank God am a najia

19. no matter the title you give yourself, every human must go to the toilet and what comes out stinks whether rich or poor.

20. Serious Gbege

21. Haba! This is uncalled for....