Sen. Saraki reaches out to former Gov Bola Tinubu | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 23 August 2015

Sen. Saraki reaches out to former Gov Bola Tinubu

Multiple sources say that despite his public show of defiance, the Senate President, Bukola Saraki, has started reaching out to some of the aggrieved leaders of the APC.
Saraki is one of the gladiators in the clash of egos and wills that followed the Senate leadership election on June 9 and subsequent appointment of principal officers.

The Senate President had earlier visited former President Olusegun Obasanjo to help him beg President Muhammadu Buhari. He also reportedly met with the Emir of Kano and Lamido Sanusi, on the same thing.
Last week, he sent Senate Leader Ali Ndume, Senator Kabiru Gaya, Senator Adamu Aliero, Senator Danjuma Goje, and Senator Abdullahi Adamu, on his behalf Saraki who all met with President Buhari and sought forgiveness on behalf of the Senate President for acting contrary to the dictates of the party.

A report in a national daily on Saturday also said the emissaries apologised to the President for the individual roles they played in the crisis.

ADVERTISEMENT
However, sources in the party said on Saturday that the emissaries also had a brief meeting with the party’s national leader and former Governor of Lagos State, Senator Bola Tinubu.

Many within the party see the crisis as a battle of wills with Buhari, Tinubu and some party leaders on one side of the ring and the Senate President and his backers on the other side. One of the prominent APC leaders that is believed to have backed Saraki is former Vice President Atiku Abubakar.
But sources told our correspondent that Saraki, of recent, had made strenuous efforts to meet and appeal to Tinubu to sheathe his sword.
Saraki’s olive branch to Tinubu may mark a turning point in the crisis as the Senate President, before now, had insisted that he would not ‘beg’ the APC leader.

But the sources added that Saraki might have changed his position when all his efforts to get President Buhari to forgive him for his defiance to the party and move on.

It has been widely reported that Buhari has refused all entreaties to host the Senate President at the Presidential Villa since the controversial election in the senate. The President had also said the leadership of the senate should tow the party line.

Two APC officials yesterday shed light on Saraki’s last two attempts to reach out to the APC national leader. They said that one attempt occurred three weeks ago while the other took place on Thursday in Abuja.
“Three weeks ago he tried to get across to Tinubu through one of his aides. Of course, the aide couldn’t have arranged the meeting. Tinubu’s disposition to the matter is well known,” the source said.
The APC national leader, sources said, had told some of Saraki’s emissaries in the past that the senate leadership should toe the party line.

Another source said the last attempt took place during the week when the APC senators, who met with the President at the behest of Saraki, also tried to get across to Tinubu. A source close to Tinubu said while the former Lagos governor was aware of the move, his position on the matter had not changed.

The source stated that Saraki needed a long-term strategy to pacify the aggrieved party leaders, adding that the Senate President’s is perceived as haughty by some of these leaders.
“It is a surprise that he is reaching out to Tinubu. Saraki has no respect for Tinubu. He is contemptuous of him. During meetings he refers to him contemptuously as “Bola”. In fact there was a time that Tinubu wanted to explain a point to him and he shut him up,” the source said.
“Tinubu’s take is that the senate should toe the party line. It is not a personal problem at all. If it were a personal problem, the President won’t be reacting the same way.”
The National Publicity Secretary of the APC, Mr. Lai Mohammed said on Saturday that the APC believes in party supremacy.

Punch

39 comments:

1. Mr Lai Mhammed, has said it all and that is all. Apprentice can not no more than his master @ all.

2. PARENTAL ADVISORY

I see

3. That's good. He now knows that they are people you shouldn't be enemies with in the course of one's political career.

1. And how is that good for democracy? You people baffle me when you sacrifice the future of Nigeria for politicians. Why do you think the constitution provides for separation of power between all 3 arms of the government? You all screamed change, change came and now it's wrong because it offends tinubu and buhari. Is the Senate there for the interest of the party and president or for the country? The same things we complained about during GEJ is repeating itself and you foolishly go along. It is well. May God open your eyes to see what you are doing to your children future. Amen

4. Who else would send in a fake report like this but the ofenmanu Punch Newspapers? Mtcheeew

1. Exactly,ask saraki now he will say he did nothing as such

2. Raciest mofo like u na put dis nation where e dey so....smh

5. Saraki has no respect for anybody. He lacks d simplest respect one can ever think of. He should be made to face d consequences

6. Replies
    1. Sorry for you.it will be your cup of zobo later.you better start praying for your country and make it your business too.

7. You want to tell me that this ones are leader,funny indeed.

8. You want to tell me that this ones are leader,funny indeed.

9. Apc people don come again abeg we r tired of hearing dis old story

10. Party decision should be supreme. If he is not over ambitious and not a party man, y will he allow an opposition member be the deputy which PDP will never allow to happen. He should vacate d seat and allow peace to reign.

11. Hmmmmmmmm, Saraki still v a vry long way 2 go o.

12. Hmmmmmmmm, Saraki still v a vry long way 2 go o.

13. At the end of the day - Yoruba man go always settle with Yoruba man (our own na our own). Just watch your back if you are allying with a Yoruba man to fight his "brother" because you'll end up with 2 pieces of thin sharp metal, sunk deep to the handle in your sirloin.

1. No! I don't even ally with a Yoruba man at all irrespective of the conditions. You'd always be burnt either way.

2. Your parents will be embarrassed of your comments here thats if they can read. Or the only other analogy is that you were raised by illiterates village people.

3. Lol

Stupid Ibo people!

14. Saraki should be careful with the way he does things. I know he has presidential ambition and that is y he is desperate to maintain his leadership of the senate. He should not forget that the party is supreme and when u loose ur credibility within the party, then u r one step liable to political destruction. Even Buhari is angry at him, he is almost finished.

15. lol , "Bola" . that funny tho

16. Jagaban of nigeria" I trust you, those who u opposed get virus and those who hv ur backup get Anti-virus, saraki is feeling the heat. You can only run faster than an old man by running but u can't surpass him in knowledge. Laugh!!!!

1. Please, are you on drugs?

2. Hahahahahaha my taughts exactly which kind lame ass proverb are u trying to form

17. "JAGABAN BOGU" I trust u, those who u opposite get virus but those who hv ur back up get anti-virus, saraki is feeling the heat. Tell them u re the founder but they re just an opportunist with previous influence. "idi baba Lomo ba oko". Laugh!!!

18. Saraki should just enjoy his position as SP while it last, obviously most people in APC r very unhappy with him, the deed as been done, no need to beg, he should continue as SP as wait for what FATE awaits him, PMB n BAT r principled, so he should quit wasting his time

1. "..as been done"! Idiot! Dirty Yoruba faggot!

19. Punch speculative report

20. No honour amongst thieves. They are different sides of the same bad coin.

21. Saraki is just a baby in Politics to Jagaban...You don't mess with Jagaban !!!

22. He should leave 'em and face his job...they are not demi gods

23. Al ds politicians tho

24. When you lift articles from another website, kindly have a hyperlink to the original article.

You've been in this blogging business for years and I'm sure you've grown a lot.

Writing the name of the article is not just enough Ms Linda.

25. Apc and their unending drama, it's been drama ever since they took over