'Fugitive radical cleric al-Assir got his visa through normal application' - Garba Shehu | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 August 2015

'Fugitive radical cleric al-Assir got his visa through normal application' - Garba Shehu

Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Alhaji Garba Shehu, on Wednesday revealed that preliminary investigations indicate that wanted radical preacher Ahmed al-Assir got his Nigerian visa through a normal application.

The fugitive radical Sunni preacher who is linked with the terrorist group ISIS was arrested at the Beirut’s Rafik Hariri International Airport while trying to leave Lebanon to Nigerian through Cairo using fake Palestinian travel documents. Read here

In a statement made to the Daily Times, Shehu Garba said,
 "Any claim linking the man to the Nigerian government must be regarded as born out of mischief. Our missions attend to all applications. Once an application meets the basic conditions, there is very little that the visa issuing officials can do, especially since he was using a false identity."
"The government is awaiting the report of the investigation, but preliminary reports show that the applicant’s manifest documents raised no suspicion. There was nothing extra-ordinary about the application. If he had applied as a tourist or as an investor, there would be little for the visa officials to suspect that the applicant was a terrorist." he said

65 comments:

1. Whats funny?

2. Are you an illeterate,stupid or both?

3. Perhaps he was coming to chair boko haram.. Thank God he couldn't get in

4. Hmmmm.when they get d final report of d investigation they should let us know.
      Thank u!

5. Thank God he ws arrested

6. The loool u just wrote means what. If u don't av a comment or u don't understand a story it's not compulsory dat u should comment. Olodo.

7. This Sani of a man is bold to tell Nigerians this trash. that the immigration officials. can do little or nothing to stop such thing. It there means the government has no mechanisims to detect this sort of thing. A country, where its visa is hand written any wonder this is the case?

8. Only the ruling government should answer this question, how this terrorist got nigerian visa.

9. All those involved in the issuance of the Visa should be dismissed, dis is gross incompetence. Linda take note!

10. All those involved in the issuance of the Visa should be dismissed, dis is gross incompetence. Linda take note!

11. Do we do a proper background check on ppl trying to get visas? This comes as no surprise. We don't have the policies in place to avoid stuff like this happening so leave the poor immigration officers alone.

2. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Dude should have gotten a Niger visa and pass through the unsecured border freely bcos he will never be caught as usual, just as this Niger that cause trouble come to Nigeria any hw they sure pls......

1. PARENTAL ADVISORY

U must really think u made sense

2. There was no need for the comment yet except u are guilty. I see it as an attempt to preempt the result of the investigation. This press release at this point is highly suspicious.

Chyke
      City: Unknown.

3. If it was US, they would have found something wrong with the application. There psychologists would have seen it that somethings not right! But alas, Nigeria still has about 10000 years to get there!! Mo-1

1. Anoymous you be big fool.

2. Oh please how then do we still have terrorist finding their way into the US, people over exalt the US they also have their flaws, their system is not that perfect too it's just that they know how to hide things like this from the public. I am not saying what happened was excusable but people should stop this constant comparison of Nigeria to the US, their civilization is hundreds of years apart.

3. U can like to shut up. The same US that didn't 'psychologically' detect the Nigerian boy that flew on their plane and tried to detonate a bomb on American soil, or checked in all the 9/11 terrorists with valid visas?

4. Please am sick and I need your prayers

1. God heal you

2. Ask Adam away state government to include ur petition in the 200million they giving out to Men of God

5. What da hell is wrong with 9ja... u r dealin wit boko-haram and dey don't care about compiling a terror watch list dat also covers ISIS (dia deadlier evil twin)... 9ja, use ur head o

6. i hope they killed him though

7. Nanya what's funny?
    That's d eye of d devil himself, thank God he didn't make it to Nigeria...

8. A very naive and arrogant response. This is the type of thing you get where the only qualification for appointment is the tribe of the applicant. But Nigeria survive survive all of you.

9. Story for the gods.gani and his fellow muslim's people have cooked up story hahahahaahahahahahah nigerian's are you guy's blind or what.
    Buhari you can deceive nigeria but you can't deceive me because nigeria blood is not in my vein.
    Buhari is a terrorist,thats why he send his fellow hausa people there to investigate.plan work indeed.

10. Story for the gods.gani and his fellow muslim's people have cooked up story hahahahaahahahahahah nigerian's are you guy's blind or what.
    Buhari you can deceive nigeria but you can't deceive me because nigeria blood is not in my vein.
    Buhari is a terrorist,thats why he send his fellow hausa people there to investigate.plan work indeed.

11. when i commented first on this report, i said they allowed their brother to visit his brothers here in Nigeria. now i am right with what Shehu Garuba just said, that he got the visa through normal process. tell me if you want to enter your brother's house are you going to come in through the window?

12. This goes to show you the decadence our security lies in and that there is little or no liaison/relationship between our security forces and their foreign counterparts. If not there would have being red flags the instant they keyed this man's name into the computer, a civilized society red flags common criminals and here is the Nigerian government ushering in a known terrorist into our country. It is either our security is incompetent or the government is involved in the insecurity situation in this country. Thank you Lebanon for averting another ebole-esque disaster.

13. The statement by Mr. Garba Shehu is, at best incoherent and does not make any meaning to the ongoing investigation of visa issuance to this wanted fugitive.

Does Shehu mean to tell me that intelligence agencies have no support role to play when it comes to visa processes especially from such radical hotbeds as the middle east.

One only hopes he has not passed this kind of fiendish perception to PMB cos Nigerians want to feel safe knowing that the fight against terror is also being confronted on the tables of our Embassies abroad by checking and keeping away unwanted visitors.

14. God save us.

I Want To Cheat On My Husband

Out of anger & the feeling of rejection from him I often think about sleeping with other men to make myself feel better. I've never in my life had a hard time getting sex. I've always had a better than ...

CONTINUE READING ON TRUE ANONYMOUS CONFESSION BLOG

15. God will continue to expose the Terrorist elect in power.

16. he applied with fake identity and thats what u guys shd have detected. so if i apply with fake identity i wd come into naija. and the guy was saying his application was as a tourist or an investor and theres no way it can be known dat he is a terrorist... haba u want him to apply as a terrorist before u know he is one. nigerian officials and their level of intelligence. mediocar officials and the intelligent guys dey find work

17. I thought they denied it at first saying the visa was fake

18. And they feel proud saying there was little they could do.. It was their duty to detect he was using a fake ID. thanks for letting us know anyone with a fake ID and neat application can just walk into Nigeria.

19. Imagine, kai at such moments am embarrassed to say am a Nigerian

20. Would he have applied as a terrorist?

21. Yeye dey smell. Do we really have intelligence data in Nigeria. These maroons have been compromised. Thank God it is a new regime. If it was the government of Dumbo and Sambo the guy will be in N9ja causing havoc already....

1. Well thank God for Lebanese govt cos ur new regime willingly gave him a visa. Now sit down and shut up

22. Nigeria been careless since 1960.

23. Our system and security is porous. This has been a major reason why Boko Haram has gained dominance. Its high time we take the security, lives and properties of our nation to the next level. ISIS is something we don't want within our shores.

24. I guess an aboki gave him an invitation...

25. I wonder why the Lebanese govt is still keeping a dangerous man like this alive, they should inject raw acid into his useless brain he is using to think evil mtewwwwww!!!

26. I wonder why the Lebanese govt is still keeping a dangerous man like this alive, they should inject raw acid into his useless brain he is using to think evil mtewwwwww!!!

27. a very strong tail and I hope the authorities in Nigeria are wise enough to follow the trail of such countries that appear to sponsor terrorism in Nigeria.

It's real, don't ever be deceived.

28. Don't they listen to the news?

29. Hummmmm! Obviously, the Nigerian Government and its missions have to be on their toes. if he had successfully gotten into Nigeria, we have no imagination of what his mission could be. lives would have been lost. not even with the recent Boko Haram pledging Allegiance to ISIS. God help us. we cant even detect a fake passport. too bad. im sure some people will be trying to protect their jobs in our consulate now. they would never be mindful of the implication if that terrorist had gotten in.

30. Thank God o, cos he would have arrived Nigeria and we would have given him police escort to be driving him around

31. With respect Mr Garba,
    There's nothing "normal" about granting a wanted terrorist a visa. Just saying

32. I hope this will serve as a lesson to them next time before issuing a visa.

33. So they don't use thump print in Nigeria?

34. the person that gave him a visa is sick and so are those that said the application is genuine. Nigeria grow up the world is in danger and so are we if we let stupid things like this continue to happen.

35. This goes to show how porous our security systems are. We've really got a lot to do, a lot if we hope to stop terrorism in our country.

36. This goes to show how porous our security systems are. We've really got a lot to do, a lot if we hope to stop terrorism in our country.

37. So our embassy does not check the status of there applicant before issuing visa.na wa ooo

38. Chai! God has exposed GEJ n cohorts plan to destabilize d country while they continue their looting. dis would have been an epic news headline during GEJs tenure by the APC. But now its a major achievement for GMBs government.... SMH Nigerians are indeed not of this world... Wonderful people we are...

39. This Garba Shehu is either a fool or a moron. Or both.

40. What an arrogant and disgraceful report. If it were the past administration, all hell would have broken loose. Are you telling us that being in the embassy of volatile middle-east countries, you don't have intelligence reports, no networking, no biometrics. Obviously, the man got his visa by proxy. Instead of telling us that you will up your security situation, you are telling us you cannot be blamed. Such arrogant and incorrigible speech. So, you expect Osama bin Laden and his fugitives to use their real names? Or is it when they have bombed the country before you realise? The terrorists in your country has been said to be affiliated with ISIS and you're still not on the look out? When will you learn?

41. If you all have ever gone through the embassies for visa, you'll know it's due process, if you pass the screening, you'll get your visa, weather is naija embassy or Yankee embassy. i"ve seen normal guys dey use fake document collect visa enter yankee many times, i've also seen people using another person's visa to enter Yankee and Europe. shit happens, people at the embassy are human, human error happens, they judge you by the document you bring, not by the food you chop for house before coming or the girl wey you rape for backyard before heading to the embassy. No majic peoples, shit fucking happens. So everybody should just shut their freaking buccal.
    The guy na terrorist, them catch am. kudos

42. "If he had applied as a tourist or as an investor, there would be little for the visa officials to suspect that the applicant was a terrorist." he said
    So you expect the man to apply as a terrorist.For Shehu Garba to make excuses for the Nigerian Embassy in Lebanon even before the so-call investigation is out leaves a lot of pile in the mouth.