Senior civil servants demand a minimum wage of N46, 000 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 16 July 2015

Senior civil servants demand a minimum wage of N46, 000

The Association of Senior Civil Servants demanded a minimum wage of N46,000 for workers.
The union’s Secretary-General, Mr. Bashir Lawal, in Lagos State, on Wednesday, said that the existing N18,000 minimum wage was too little to meet the socio-economic demands of workers.

According to him, they arrived at a minimum wage of N46,000 per month after the union met with the National Public Service Joint Negotiating Council.
He said,
“In the past one year, we presented a proposal for salary review to the Federal Government but the government said that the price of crude had fallen. “We argued that if the price of crude is 30 dollars per barrel and the resources of the country are well managed, money will be enough to pay workers decent salaries.
“From the memo we submitted to the NPSJNC, we computed what it will take for an average worker to survive and we arrive at N66,000. “So, we took 75 per cent of that and we arrived at N46,000 minimum wage.
 Lawal said that the new minimum wage demand will not cause crisis in the economic sector, he said:
“If the government believes that the amount will create crisis, we will tell them what to do to ensure that everybody will be carried along.”

38 comments:

1. N Nigeria is going 4rm bad 2 worst in terms of economy

2. So 75% of 66,000 is 46,000? Olodos, who will take these ones serious?

2. What will it take this useless government to give these civil servants this peanuts they are asking for? Even the 46k is small to feed a family. They deserve something better. Government do something.

3. I hope the govt listen to these ppl. 18k? what could that possibly buy?

4. Its not as if d r requesting for too much fa..

5. Its not as if d r requesting for too much fa..

6. How can N18,000 feed a man plus wife an kids.. That's so not fair.. The rich gets richer and the poor worse

7. They r right u know.. cos in d state we r right now in naija, 18k can't not feed a family for a month not to talk of a week. Before even we start to mention paying of house rent.. govt should do something for them abeg

8. The same Nigerian workers who want senators to slash their salaries are seeking pay rise in the face of crashing crude prices. If these Nigerians knew the mess our country is in, they wouldn't be demanding a pay rise. Smh

9. 46,000 for an oil producing state?! That is too small we should be talking at least 65,000

10. Biko they shld review and increase salary, civil servants are suffering, meanwhile somebody working in other parastatals and agencies are earning well. Is it not same school we all went to and same market we go to.

11. Replies
    1. What's the essence of this waste of space? Receive sense

12. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    That why business sure pass i swear....

13. I support that their salaries be increased because they do most of the work not all these lazy and good for nothing politicians

14. Good for u guys because you all voted for CHANGE.

1. Mumu.
      Is it PMB dat fixed the minimum wage @ 18000 or GEJ?
      Ignoramus buffoon.

2. Chibuike....ur IQ is unfathomable...kai!!! Too low!! U still bring this ur tribalism here again...??

15. Dem never see the #18,000 collect, shey na #46,000 dem go come see! Abeg dey should shelve dat thought for now. Linda take note!

1. They???
      U r stupid....do u know what some families go through.? No be ur fault...selfish idiot.

16. Dem never see the #18,000 collect, shey na #46,000 dem go come see! Abeg dey should shelve dat thought for now. Linda take note!

17. I second. Engr Emy

18. Civil service please keep their demands for now,we all need to tighten our belt for now, an increase in minimum wage across board was the main reason we had this problem in the first instance.

1. Huh??????
      What happened to extreme corruption and bad governance

19. Hmmmmm. When some state's can not pay salaries here they r crying out for increase minimum wage. Is dis height of b insensitive or wht? All d same,

if I am PMB dis wil b good time for me to use dis opportunity to bargain dat fuel subsidy b remove in order to foot dis new minimum wage.

20. Gbam!!! i support that abeg. Man no go dey suffer for nothing..... Ann said

21. Nigeria is so corrupt that even kids now talk about it! And what can 46k do for a family man? When the so called politrickers are looting billions for naira away to foreign land and you guys are clamouring for 46k that's so absurd.

Bonario attacker! So bonario wht do you have to say here? Now let me make it know to you, only Biafra can save this impending doom hovering over Nigeria

22. Even Lagos State cannot pay 18k and these people are calling for 46k

1. I know federal pays doctors more than lagos state????....whats ur point?

23. Like really? 18k per month for a civil servant!!! No wonder there's so much corruption at all level of Government!

It's about time government do a salary review... 46K in Nigeria recent economy is nothing to sustain families