Nigerian man writes bounced cheque to his client, then kills her in LA after she complains | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 27 July 2015

Nigerian man writes bounced cheque to his client, then kills her in LA after she complains

A man has been arrested on suspicion of murder in the death of a Hollywood production assistant and police say the killing had to do with a dispute over money.

Ezeoma Obioha, 31, was arrested on Friday night and remains in jail where he is being held on a $1million bail.

Obioha and Carrie Jean Melvin knew each other and had a financial dispute. 30 year old Melvin was walking with her boyfriend in Hollywood, California, earlier this month when a Obioha walked up behind them, aimed a shotgun at her head and pulled the trigger.

After he shot her,he jumped into a black sedan and drove off. Melvin died at the scene.

Melvin’s father called his daughter’s death “incredibly senseless.” Bernie Melvin said she had studied film at UC Santa Cruz and moved to Hollywood about four years ago to break into the entertainment industry. Like many young Angelenos, he said, Carrie Melvin worked several jobs, waitressing, bartending, while pursuing that dream.

Her father, Bernie, said he knew about the incident involving his daughter and a client who wrote a check that bounced.

“She was really kind of spreading her wings,” he said at the time. “It’s an extreme loss to us. She had a lot to give, and her life was cut short.”

For those that may be confused, Americans spell Cheque as Check.

Source: LA Times

72 comments:

1. Mans inhumanity to man.......

2. eh ya!....

Why pay for Posters & Billboards, when you can do it FOR FREE today at fursconproperties.com?
    FOR SALE, RENT & LEASE.

3. Why must it be an Igbo man #smh#

1. Go n take a back seat. ..hopeless wanna be..

4. Some folks r really desperate o

5. Sad day...Bobbi Kristina is dead.

6. Why must it be an Igbo man #smh#

7. Pple are runing mad oooo, see wickedness abeg. So he killed the woman for wanting what she hard wrked for and earned. I pray d bastard dies a miserable death in jail

8. Pple are runing mad oooo, see wickedness abeg. So he killed the woman for wanting what she hard wrked for and earned. I pray d bastard dies a miserable death in jail

9. Wicked people everywhere. God will protect us from them.

10. My fellow igbo brother you don fuck up.. o bu n'ihi na ego i na- gburu ya? And $1 million bail is a whole lot...so i'm sorry for you man!

11. But Linda try to dey sleep o.

12. It was said that money is the root of all evil.....things dey happen shall!!!

13. Hey... Dude, seriously? Thank God there is no mention of "Nigerian origin" in this news.

14. Stupid boy, u will be in America n be doing security job. What happened to all d medical degrees, how wont u get frustrated. Stupid low life.

15. Total wickedness.. Eleniaideyan95@gmail.com

16. The evil men do!

17. Igbo people and Muslims should stop bringing disgrace to Nigeria

18. I hope this Obioha is not a Nigerian... I just hope he's not one of us.. Because he's a disgrace to us..😭

19. Check abi cheque

20. Cheque or check?

21. Replies
    1. So out of the whole story, its the spelling that got your attention. Well in America, it's spelled check so yeah Linda is right.

22. Jesu! #theseboysain'tloyal

A.K.A LIB'ier
    mercycruise@yahoo.com

23. Love of money.And Nigerians with their user mentality.

24. Why kill her for God's sake!! Na wa ooo

25. Why kill her for God's sake!! Na wa ooo

26. Ezeoma obioha sounds nigerian. He should rot in jail

27. Nigerian in name only. He shouldn't have resulted into murder. There's more to the story. Overall it's sad.

28. All I see is death....I am going mad...Please help me. My name is seyi ishmael

29. Aww... Ds is so sad. I pray almighty God grant her family d fortitude to bear d loss. ds dude is so mean mehn!

30. People jst take life without thinking twice..mtcheww

31. Yeye people, may her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

32. WTF?! And he is a bloody Nigerian and an Igbo man for that matter?! Why the violence?!

33. Yeye people, may her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

34. Yeye people, may her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

35. Yeye people, may her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

36. Lol there is nothing we wont hear on the media hahaa

37. 1 million bail asin how...? If he can afford dt he is free...I no grab

38. Another Igbo bro at it again....😁

39. D hearts of men r indeed very wicked. He should b punished accordingly so dat it wil serve as deterrent to others.

40. too bad for him so you wrote a bad cheque for someone yet it wasn't enough for you until you have to take their own life????I trust Americans jail is where his sorry ass belobgs

41. are you looking for a sugar mummy or daddy please call this line 09050085168 please be matured<<<<<<<<<

42. 1 million dollars bail? Mehn dats serious

43. the mother-fucker deserves to die by hanging!

44. nobody was ever confused. no be only you go school. metcheewww

45. Nigerians always involved in one terrible thing outside the shores of this country.so bad

46. Nawa ooo

udieblessing@yahoo.com

47. omo yibo. lol. Im sure hes bn braggin to those bk home abt his businesses & hollywood connects.

All d while doing crime and hustling to employ a hustling waitress to promote his online shop. He thought he cld biafraudulize d chick wt fake cheque. He ended up killing her. Enjoy ur 25 to life.
    Thank god 4 lindaikeji , at least his parents will now know why hes not bn picking his calls.

48. Killing everywhere. The heart of men eh...RIP

49. Linda Dear, that correction about spelling Cheque was uncalled for. This is already enough of a sad tale for spellings to matter.
    There is probably more behind this.
    The pity side is that one more Nigerian will go to jail in a foreign land.
    Look Naija, wherever you are, know that we are a collective that need to improve our lives and act as good examples for each other. That way we can live and progress without a Stigma. See how Obama is making Kenyans and all Africans proud. Are we aware that way back to about 1944, a 24 year old Nigerian had been received twice at the White House by President Roosevelt and the First Lady? This brilliant young lad had written a masterpiece on imperialism that eventually led to his honor and eventually the decolonization of many nations. The book that led to this honour was by title "Without Bitterness". The young author later joined Nnamdi Azikiwe in the struggle for Nigeria's independence. To read the book written by a 24 year old Nwafor Orizu was like reading a masterpiece on modern globalization. He later became the first Senate President of Nigeria. Who knows where his genius would have led him had he stayed back in America!!
    There must be several Nigerian children like young Obama that their Nigerian student daddies had fathered and abandoned abroad. But because of our bad reputation such Nigerian Americans would never have been allowed to rise to where young Obama has risen today. Biko, Ejoor, Mbok, let us improve our character home and abroad. As the saying goes: Out of every four Black Persons one must likely be a Nigerian. We can excel if we try. This poor Nigerian felon has soiled our name and it is a big loss after all his personal struggles to succeed abroad.
    Our heart goes out to the families that are left with grief. Nigerians please rise and help each other to avoid crime and grief. Support each other when in need. Stay away from drugs and violence. Aspire to be the best and be

50. Let him rot in jail 4 life.....

51. Some people are heartless sha haba!!!

52. @July 27, 2015 at 10:23 AM, YOU ARE SUCH A DUMB ASS, THAT IS HOW AMERICAN WRITE THEIR OWN CHEQUE. UK = QHEQUE...... AMERICANS = CHECK. Ode!What is uncall for?

53. Jezzzz pple die like flies dese dayz.

54. A typical exam where capital punishment should still hold.

55. This is sad! May her soul rest in peace....