DSS explains why it raided Dasuki’s homes, says it impounded 12 cars, assault riffles | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 19 July 2015

DSS explains why it raided Dasuki’s homes, says it impounded 12 cars, assault riffles

The Department of State Security Service, has explained why it raided the home of former National Security Adviser, Sambo Dasuki, and why he was also detained. Below is a statement they released, signed by Tony Opuiyo, explaining their side of things.
"On 16th July, 2015, about 1650 hours, based on credible intelligence linking the immediate past NSA, Mohammed Sambo Dasuki (Col Rtd) with alleged plans to commit treasonable felony against the Nigerian State, operatives of the Department of State Services (DSS) conducted a search on the properties belonging to the former NSA, Mohammed Sambo DASUKI (Col Rtd). The properties are on Nos. 13, John Khadya Street, Nos. 46, Nelson Mandela Street, both at Asokoro, Abuja, and Nos. 3 Sabon Birni Road, Gwiwa Area, Sokoto, Sokoto State.
“The search operations was planned to be simultaneously conducted, but DASUKI, refused the operatives entry into his main residence located at No. 13 John Khadya Street, Asokoro, despite being presented with a genuine and duly signed search warrant. Consequently, what was to last not more than two (2) hours, lasted more than ten (10) hours, up till the early hours of 17th July, 2015.

Indeed if not for the sense of maturity and professionalism of the officers and men assigned this task and the very good understanding and timely intervention of the new Chief of Army Staff, Tsukur Y. BURATAI (Maj Gen), there would have been a clash between the Army operatives guarding the house and Service operatives, as SAMBO directed the soldiers on duty not to allow any movement into his house, despite the subsisting court order. SAMBO thereafter raised a false alarm to the military authorities to come to his aid as he failed to correctly tell the military that his property was about to be legitimately searched.

“Gentlemen, please recall that SAMBO retired from the Army as a Colonel, and therefore not entitled to have military guards, if not for the fact he was NSA. Even as NSA, such guards should have been withdrawn after his removal as NSA since he would not have been entitled.

“The search was thoroughly conducted, and several items recovered, among which were some incriminating items. These include seven (7) high caliber rifles, (high assault weapons), several magazines and military related gears.

“The team also recovered twelve (12) new vehicles, out of which five (5) were bullet proofs. These vehicles which are all exotic vehicles were retrieved from SAMBO’s residence having failed to produce evidence of ownership. For instance, what could he be doing with five (5) bullet proof cars as a retired NSA?. These cars which from all available evidence were purchased with tax payers money, were being kept for possible sinister enterprise.

“The Service would want to state categorically that this search operation is not a witch hunt. The Service decided to move at this time in line with current management resolve to be proactive and pre-empt individuals with penchant for impunity and lawlessness from putting back the nation to the dark days. The Service is also aware that the lethal arms and the vehicles recovered were not reflected in SAMBO’s handover notes or what could a former NSA be doing with destructive weapons and bullet proof cars which put together could disrupt the peace of any city in Nigeria for a while.

“On the search of his three (3) properties, including the Sokoto residence, the Service is aware that in his capacity and given his antecedents, he might decide to use any of his residences for such diabolical plans, rather than his main residence.

“Gentlemen of the press, the Service Management would want to assure members of the public that it would not trample on the freedom of individuals or groups as guaranteed by the Nigerian Constitution and emphasized by the current administration’s position on transparency, and probity underlined by justice and equity for all Nigerians. This is the driving force for all DSS operations.

However, the Service would not hesitate to go after any person or group of persons, no matter how highly placed once such individual (s) breach or attempt to breach the laws of the Federation. The days for impunity and indecisiveness in the face of unpatriotic acts by individuals operating against the State are over.

The Service hereby appeal to all Nigerians to be law abiding and partner with it in ensuring a peaceful and secured nation. In the same vein, those that are bent on breaking the rules governing our peaceful co-existence due to either the huge ill gotten wealth they have acquired or imaginary hold they think they have on our nation’s survival, are being warned to rethink. The DSS will use all constitutional means as defined by its mandate to deal decisively with such unpatriotic individuals.

“The Management want to seize this opportunity to appreciate Nigerians for the tremendous acts of goodwill that is being extended to the new dispensation. The Management also wish to assure Nigerians that the gesture and confidence being expressed will be reciprocated with more dedication and service to our dear country Nigeria.

“Happy Eid-el-Fitri to you and indeed, all Nigerians.
“Thank you.
“Signed: Tony OPUIYO.”

87 comments:

1. When buhari got to tinubus house he asked if he sell cars same with okorocha, now what has the dss done about that? What of ameachi arigbeshola and the rest. This is a width hunt. And Nigeria will resist it. We will go to war with this adminitration

2. hen buhari got to tinubus house he asked if he sell cars same with okorocha, now what has the dss done about that? What of ameachi arigbeshola and the rest. This is a width hunt. And Nigeria will resist it. We will go to war with this adminitration

3. Anon 3:40 you're gullible obviously cos even cnn didn't report such news, one ode just formulated that story and una go spread am like butter on bread without concrete evidence, sorry for your parents...

4. They should get outt, what did they expect? That a former NSA wouldn't have guns? As for d cars are they not all thieves??? Idiots. Buhari is a big thief too

5. True story! This is selective witch hunt. Rochas is robbing Imo state blind, Amechi has cleaned out Rivers treasury to support Buhari, what of Tinubu? Nonsense!

2. If you fools like make una kill una self all of you are looters the same hausa idiot.

3. The time has come, where no one is above the law.

4. This is utter rubbish and it's obviously witch hunting...........Whay haven't they visited Tinubu or Amaechi's residence........These folks are full of pig crap......

1. So dasuki is now your father!? Y r these ibo people so bitter? Let buhari treat his brother how he wants. You can shout if he does this to an ibo but right now, u r just trolling.

5. Rubbish! Bunch of idiots! Please they should leave him alone.

6. The guy need to go to jail.He refused to include those property in his hand over note.where does it get the Dolla from?Barawo

7. There is no iota of truth to what have just been written here,It was a plain witch hunt,How can he use 5 caliber weapons to make Nigeria Ungovernable?What about the Anti Air BH are using?The Machine Guns that cross the Boarder everyday,the DSS Cant arrest such people?Well to me i think those are the people making Nigeria Ungovernable tho,This particular one is just a witch hunt,For now Buhari is a dictator i stopped to address him as a president,The Manner in which he is running Nigeria Gives us the mindset that Military Dictatorship is back and running,and its not gonna ogur well!

8. Well written ... asari and Tompolo should be next.

9. Wow no matter how highly placed ur are, we will hunt you down. Love nigeria right s

10. I pledge to nigeria my country to fight and destroy corruption. Love nigeria right now.

11. I'm loving the new look of DSS. Their head is valid. Deal with them all

12. Ok.

I appreciate the detailed response.this is better than Mrs Marilyn Ogah gave us.This doesn't mean its not a witch hunt but I like the fact that they at least saw it necessary to explain,And I also applaud them following the rule of law by securing a search warrant.

A Reuters journalist and another journalist of Aftican descent once asked that Col Sambo be questioned.This was about two years ago.He's rumored to be one of the clogs in the fight against BH.We wait

13. Hv u searched past APC leaders home? Why not get a search warrant to enter boko haram's camp and search for chibok girls. Awon eleregbe... dee

14. Keep exposing yourselves. Corrupt and evil politicians. Mtewwwww. Wetin concern agbero and overlaod

15. Lies. All of ya all are the same. Criminals. Engr Emy

16. Na dem sabi biko, wetin concern Agbero with overload??? Linda take note!

17. Na dem sabi biko, wetin concern Agbero with overload??? Linda take note!

18. Greed kills.Vanity upon vanity...

19. U see d man is a thief. 12 brand new cars 4 a retired colonel. Kudos to SSS pls fish out d criminals

20. Nice one DSS. Go after all of dem corrupt leaders

21. Wow! Well spoken, and all b said accordigly. I am short of words concerning dis post. All d same, let justice prevail since they hav stated dat they r not on mission of witch hunting.

22. If that OLD COW Buhari will use this same witch hunt tactics on Boko Haram by now Boko Haram. Would have been history. Instead he's more concerned with intimidating those he perceive as enemies. FOOLISH CLUELESS DAURA COW!

23. Am still waiting for the turn of Amechi,Tinubu and co #fingerscrossed#

24. Nice approach. I also urge theem to pursue other corrupt past governors and officials.

25. Pls carry on, arrest and imprison any thief u catch

26. Lengthy but worth reading. Dasuki has case to answer: what's he doing with 5 bullet proof cars? Why did he refuse the search warrant to his properties even though its been signed? And the guns, what the hell for?So many things don't add up. He should be thoroughly investigated.

27. hrm paul ojeih19 July 2015 at 11:08

Well said very articulated I nevr liked dis Sambo guy bloody thief the dss has explained their mission a rtd col has no right to arms and guards even after leaving office it should av bin withdrawn.gej was so scared of dis man he ran d entire security outfit as if he was commander in chief buhari should probe him very well God don catch dem thieves and looters

28. Former NSA does not require security abi? This whole mess is a witch hunt. Buhari will ruin democracy.

29. Treasonable felony.....LOL this new DSS spokesman is quite a joker!

30. stupid people. Very obvious it's a witch hunt. Have u searched tinubu's hse? N d guns r d nt registered? BUHARI is obviously on an agenda. STILL A DICTATOR to me. RUBBISH.

31. This is for d gullible nigerians not me. U that gave d order, don't u hv similar items u recovered from his house in Ur own houses? Just like my pastor said this morning, 'u Wil give amajiris things and they Wil gang up n use those things u gave them against u'
    it's pure witch hunt!
    Nigerians don't b deceived.

32. Hmmn......its becoming clear now. GEJ was surrounded wit thieves,i bet he is comn for tinubu and co

33. Hmmmmm, this is watch hunting

34. Hey what about d $40,000 met in his house,why are u not saying anything about it?

35. This is a rather poor work.

36. Then some Daft IDIOTs will come here and be shouting "witch Hunt". Dasuki did not even own a house in Abuja when he became NSA. In 3 years he managed to buy not 1 but 2 houses in Asokoro worth over a billion each, buy 13 cars with 5 of them bullet proof. I wish I could just slap people that come here to talk rubbish. DASUKI is a criminal and he must go down. Over a trillion Naira was budgeted to his office and he was using to do lifestyle. GOD NO DEY SLEEP!!! everybody's nyash must be opened o!

37. This is witch hunting at d highest order. Opposition na opposition period.

38. We dey wait. Cox many more is to come........

39. Ok dss av u also raided tinibu house cox dix statement is rubbish and is also witch hunt where u expecting a former nsa not 2 av a bulletproof car wen even commissioner av bulletproof cars write something else pls

40. Good job from DG of DSS. Please continue to arrest all fomer PDP criminals, including Olisa Metuh.

41. Good job from DG of DSS. Please continue to arrest all fomer PDP criminals, including Olisa Metuh.

42. EX GOVERNOR AMAECHI IS SMONG THE PRESIDENT ENTOURAGE TO NEW YORK, SHOULD HE NOT BE ARRESTED BY DSS FIR ALL THE MONEY EMBEZZELLED. LEASE STOP DECEIVING NIGERIANS WE ARE VERY SMART AND AWARE NOW

43. EX GOVERNOR AMAECHI IS SMONG THE PRESIDENT ENTOURAGE TO NEW YORK, SHOULD HE NOT BE ARRESTED BY DSS FIR ALL THE MONEY EMBEZZELLED. LEASE STOP DECEIVING NIGERIANS WE ARE VERY SMART AND AWARE NOW

44. Yep, that says it all : Witch hunt.

45. "given his antecedents"
    WHAT ANTECEDENTS?

46. nigerians up there are simply after their pocket alone

47. Ahmed....Kaduna19 July 2015 at 13:28

Since when is it a crime to own expensive cars in dis country??

Is his garage or building any different from any of our past and present political office holders and appointees??

What exactly is the reason for the DSS laying siege to his family home in sokoto and his resident in Abuja.

Since when is the DSS in charge of making corruption related arrests??

These and many more are questions the DSS should answer sincerely if they are sure there are no ulterior motives to dis show of shame.

why do we have anti corruption agencies? DSS IS a national Disgrace....

48. Since when is it a crime to own expensive cars in dis country??

Is his garage or building any different from any of our past and present political office holders and appointees??

What exactly is the reason for the DSS laying siege to his family home in sokoto and his resident in Abuja.

These and many more are questions the DSS should answer sincerely if they are sure there are no ulterior motives to dis show of shame.

49. Ahmad...Kaduna19 July 2015 at 13:29

50. Ahmed....Kaduna19 July 2015 at 13:29

51. Wow!!! Oturugbeke!!!!
    More to come...omo GEJ go dey shake like this o..eeya!!! Sai baba!!
    Whether na witch hunt or not once u r guilty u r guilty..there population should be reduced either way!

52. Job well done SIR,May our good God give U guys d grace and courage to do ur work.criminal SAMBO.I think its better for us to hear frm the oda side b4 concluding LIBERs.now U can see.

53. Thumbs up for the job well done.

54. God bless our DSS keep doing the good work.

55. Well done government of change. No more impunity or above the. Good governance is coming back to our great nation. We must get ride of all corrupt leaders. Nigeria must get it right.

56. Buhari will never witch-hunt anyone or group, but one thing is 4 sure, Buhari hates corruption deeply, he can even jail his mom 4 corruption. The DSS has all it takes to restore our lost confidence in the Nigerian state, dats what Buhari reps., He's our Nehemiah, he's here 2 rebuild the walls, we shall not be given to any false cry of foul or cheap sentiments. Gaskiya!! Let's go get them Sai Baba!

1. hen buhari got to tinubus house he asked if he sell cars same with okorocha, now what has the dss done about that? What of ameachi arigbeshola and the rest. This is a width hunt. And Nigeria will resist it. We will go to war with this adminitration

57. Na wa oo..who will I believe nau..I tink I will go wit DSS..

58. Una dey mad.please come and search any home in Niger Delta.

59. I guess the man was busy acquiring wealth for himself illegally when his kinsmen are being slaughtered by those animals called boko harm... So much for Nigeria and her corrupt leadership

60. Sambo and likes used dia power when in office to abuse other...he deserves it

61. This narrative is changing o.. 1st we heard 9cars, now it's 12. From 3rifles now it's 7. Na wa o...

Make our president publicly declare im asset so we we go know weda na 1 car wey e get.....mtcheeeew

62. Enough of this propaganda, Apc face ur administration instead of sniffing all over the place, stop wasteing the time of Nigerians, how can u call pple corrupt wen yall are d most corrupt

63. Hey, what about d $40,000 found in his house? Why don't u say anything about it? You can't fool all d people all the time.

64. OK

Bulk shoes, bags and accessories for ladies for sale.
    email shoewarehousenigeria@gmail.com for further inquiries.

65. @ Anonynous 12.11pm u are very on point, 2 buildings at Asokoro in Abuja, worth a billion naira each, 12 cars, 5 bullet proof at a 100million each that's 2.5billion of Nigerias' money with one man and people are screaming witch hunting, pple try open ur minds and head and stop being sentimental, and in response to the dude asking when it has become a crime to own 12 cars, its not a problem until you cannot confirm u used your money, not the country's. When no be say Im papa or brother na Aliko. Wetin?? Monkey dey work, baboon dey chop

66. God dey.the rich also cry

67. Buhari's anti corruption campaign is baseless. When he came to power on the back of corruption-he should ask Tinubu, Amaechi, Oshiomohole etc where the money for the APC campaign came from. He should probe all the Governors that he just bailed out financially why they needed the bailout.
    Buhari is accusing someone of treason when he is the number 1 coup plotter.

68. Buhari's anti corruption campaign is baseless. When he came to power on the back of corruption-he should ask Tinubu, Amaechi, Oshiomohole etc where the money for the APC campaign came from. He should probe all the Governors that he just bailed out financially why they needed the bailout.
    Buhari is accusing someone of treason when he is the number 1 coup plotter.

69. This administration is rather mad or stupid, is this the patience they've been asking for. Bunch of misdirected and confused people. Nigeria needs more attention than Dasuki. NONSENSE.